Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Rudolf Erwin Cohn

Stolperstein für Rudolf Erwin Cohn. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Vionvillestr. 21

DISTRICT
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Steglitz
STONE WAS LAID
12/01/2005

BORN
03/15/1892 in Berlin
OCCUPATION
Steuer- und Organisationsberater
DEPORTATION
on the 6th of March 1943 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Rudolf Erwin Cohn was the second son of Benno Cohn and his wife Anna. He became a textile merchant, like his father. In 1923 he married Eva Margarete Brasch with whom he had a daughter, Frieda-Lore. From 1925 the family lived at Vionville Strasse 21 in Steglitz.
Rudolf Cohn left his textile business to his younger brother and became a tax and organization adviser. He gave classes in bookkeeping, became treasurer of the “Jewish children’s aid” and was responsible for the accounts of the B’nai B’Brith home for the elderly.
From 1933, Rudolf Erwin Cohn helped organize the emigration of German Jews, including his younger brother Erich, who went to Ecuador. His daughter Frieda-Lore was able to leave for Palestine in 1938 with the Youth Aliyah organization. Here, she participated in founding the Gesher kibbutz.
In the same year, Rudolf Cohn’s sister Irma moved in with him and his wife in Vionville Strasse. Irma’s three children had also managed to leave the country and eventually arrive in Palestine.
Rudolf and Grete Cohn’s plans to emigrate were hindered by the outbreak of World War II. Apparently they finally received emigration permits and tickets for a crossing to Palestine in 1939 but gave them to a couple from Vienna who could not find any accommodation in Berlin. They hoped to be able to travel with the next ship but this was no longer possible after the war had started. Later, their daughter met the Viennese couple in Israel.
From July 1941, the Cohns lived together with Irma Cohn at Knesebeck Strasse 70/71, a so-called “Jew house”. Rudolf Cohn performed forced labour, at first in the armaments industry and later at the river port Westhafen. His sister Irma was deported to Auschwitz in late 1942.
In the last message Rudolf and Grete Cohn sent to their daughter via the International Red Cross Committee on 4 March 1943, they wrote of their imminent deportation: “We are following Irmi today. Stay calm, even if you don’t hear anything for a long time. You were nothing but joy to us. Trust in God’s will! Until, God willing, we see each other again.”
Rudolf Erwin Cohn and his wife Eva Margarete were deported on 6 March 1943 from the assembly point at Levetzow Strasse to Auschwitz and killed.


Biographical Compilation

Initiative Steglitz

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Rudolf Erwin Cohn

Stolperstein für Rudolf Erwin Cohn. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Vionvillestr. 21

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Steglitz
VERLEGEDATUM
01.12.2005

GEBOREN
15.03.1892 in Berlin
BERUF
Steuer- und Organisationsberater
DEPORTATION
am 06.03.1943 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Rudolf Erwin Cohn war der zweitgeborene Sohn des Textilkaufmanns Benno Cohn und seiner Ehefrau Anna; er war ebenfalls Textilkaufmann. 1921 heiratete er Eva Margarete Brasch, 1923 wurde die Tochter Frieda-Lore geboren. Die Familie lebte seit 1925 in der Vionvillestraße 21 in Steglitz.

Das Textilgeschäft überließ Rudolf Cohn seinem jüngeren Bruder. Er wurde Steuer- und Organisationsberater und erteilte Unterricht in Buchführung, außerdem war er Schatzmeister der „Jüdischen Kinderhilfe“ und verantwortlich für die Bilanzen des B’nai B’Brith Altersheims.

Ab 1933 bereitete Rudolf Erwin Cohn die Auswanderung deutscher Juden vor, unter anderem auch für seinen jüngeren Bruder Erich nach Ecuador. Die Tochter Frieda-Lore konnte 1938 mit der Jugend-Alijah nach Palästina auswandern. Dort war sie an der Gründung des Kibbutz Gescher beteiligt.

Im gleichen Jahr zog Rudolf Cohns Schwester Irma in der Vionvillestraße mit ein. Ihren drei Kindern war über Umwege ebenfalls die Ausreise nach Palästina geglückt.

Die nach Palästina geplante Auswanderung des Ehepaares Cohn scheiterte mit Beginn des Zweiten Weltkrieges. Es heißt, sie hätten 1939 endlich Schiffskarten und Auswanderungsgenehmigung erhalten, diese aber an ein Ehepaar aus Wien weitergegeben, das in Berlin keine Unterkunft gefunden hatte. Sie selbst hofften, mit dem nächsten Schiff fahren zu können, mit Kriegsbeginn war das nicht mehr möglich. Die Tochter ist mit diesem Ehepaar später in Israel zusammengetroffen.

Ab Juli 1941 lebte das Ehepaar Cohn gemeinsam mit der Schwester in der Knesebeckstr. 70/71, einem sogenannten Judenhaus. Rudolf Cohn leistete Zwangsarbeit zunächst in der Rüstungsindustrie, später dann im Westhafen. Schwester Irma wurde Ende 1942 nach Auschwitz deportiert.

In der letzten über das Komitee des Internationalen Roten Kreuzes geschickten Nachricht an die Tochter vom 4. März 1943 schrieben Rudolf und Grete Cohn von ihrer bevorstehenden Deportation: „Wir folgen heute Irmi. Bleibe ruhig, auch wenn lange Post ausbleibt. Du warst uns nur Freude. Gottbefohlen! Voll Gottvertrauen auf Wiedersehen.“

Am 6. März 1943 wurde das Ehepaar von der Sammelstelle Levetzowstraße nach Auschwitz deportiert und umgebracht.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Initiative Steglitz