Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Rafael Perez

Porträt Rafel Perez © Familienbesitz
LOCATION
Hünensteig 14

DISTRICT
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Steglitz
STONE WAS LAID
03/02/2015

BORN
05/10/1890 in Plowdiv
OCCUPATION
Klavierstimmer
ESCAPE
1939 Flucht nach England
SURVIVED

Rafel Perez, a Bulgarian Jew of modest circumstances, was born on May 10, 1890 in Plowdiv. As a small child, he was visually impaired, and around eight years of age, he became completely blind. He was a bright and intelligent youth, and members of the Jewish community wanted to help to further his education. They sent him to the Jewish Institute for the Blind in Jerusalem, which still exists to this day. He was sent away when he was 14 years old in approximately 1904, which was still the era of the Ottoman Empire in Palestine, in what is today Israel .

He quickly gave up his training as a broom- and brush-maker in favor of studying music. Rafael‘s music instructor in Jerusalem insisted that his highly talented student should study at the Stern Conservatory in Berlin. Rafael, who was 20 years old, succeeded in moving to Berlin to study music, and lived in the Jewish Home for the Blind in the Steglitz district. Despite his disability, he was very self-reliant, visited his mother multiple times in Bulgaria, and earned an income by giving violin recitals. He was comfortable with his life in Berlin, and even able to take public transportation by himself through the city. He played several musical instruments and had a superb tenor voice.
He learned the piano tuning trade in order to earn a living. He also earned money by singing in a choir in a synagogue located on Pestalozzistraße. His beautiful tenor voice got him invited to concerts, where he sang works by Schumann, Schubert, and Hugo Wolf. At one such concert, he met Johanna Bender, and the story goes something like this: at the concert, plans were made for a group outing for the next day. However, it rained the next day and Rafael and Johanna were the only ones who showed up for the outing. They fell in love with each other, and were married in 1919 despite the strong opposition of both of their families.
Johanna was from a Christian family, and she wanted to marry a Jewish man, who was also blind and a foreigner! She was a Berliner and a Protestant, and her parents and her sister feared that he would ruin her financially. Johanna’s parents did not speak with her until Johanna and Rafael’s son Heinz was born, an event which reconciled them to some degree. Their fears had had no basis; Rafael provided for his family. They were happy together and had a good life, until the year 1933 came along, and with it the Nazis.
Living conditions became more and more intolerable for Jews. Johanna was summoned by the Gestapo, where she was advised to divorce Rafael because of his religion. She refused without hesitation, and thereby sealed her fate with that of the Jewish people. Her son Heinz, who was a student at Paulsen Gymnasium, left his school and was required to attend the Addas Israel School instead, which was located quite a distance away. In 1938, Rafael and Johanna decided to seek out a safer living situation for their only son. After training as a carpenter in Berlin-Niederschönhausen, the then 18-year-old travelled by ship in October 1938 to Palestine. Thanks to the British government, Johanna and Rafael were able to emigrate in 1939 to London, at the last minute. The British allowed 150 Jewish, work-ready blind people to enter England. Just one day after their arrival, Rafael took his cane and tools and went off to tune pianos.
In this way, Rafael and Johanna made a new start in a foreign country. They lived in London until Rafael’s death in 1967; his widow Johanna then moved near her son Heinz in Israel.


Biographical Compilation

Enkeltochter Michal Perez, Kiryat Bialik/Israel

English Translation

Kathy Colville

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Rafael Perez

Porträt Rafel Perez © Familienbesitz
VERLEGEORT
Hünensteig 14

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Steglitz
VERLEGEDATUM
02.03.2015

GEBOREN
10.05.1890 in Plowdiv
BERUF
Klavierstimmer
FLUCHT
1939 Flucht nach England
ÜBERLEBT

Rafael Perez, ein bulgarischer Jude aus einfachen Verhältnissen, wurde am 10. Mai 1890 in Plowdiv geboren. Schon als kleines Kind sah er sehr wenig, und mit etwa acht Jahren war er vollständig erblindet. Doch da er intelligent und aufgeweckt war, wollte die jüdische Gemeinde etwas für seine Fortbildung tun und schickte ihn in das Blindenheim nach Jerusalem, das bis heute existiert. Das war ungefähr 1904, als er 14 Jahre alt war, noch zur Zeit der türkischen Herrschaft in Palästina, dem heutigen Israel.

Seine Lehre als Bürstenmacher gab er bald zugunsten des Musikstudiums auf. Sein Musiklehrer in Jerusalem stellt fest, dass der Junge musikalisch hochbegabt war und fand, dass er am Sternschen Konservatorium in Berlin Musik studieren müsste. Es gelang Rafael, als er 20 Jahre alt war, nach Berlin zu kommen, wo er im jüdischen Blindenheim in Steglitz wohnte und Musik studierte. Trotz seiner Blindheit war er sehr selbständig, besuchte seine Mutter mehrmals in Bulgarien und verdiente sein Geld mit Violinkonzerten. Auch in Berlin fand er sich gut zurecht und war imstande, allein mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln durch die Stadt zu fahren. Er spielte mehrere Musikinstrumente und hatte einen herrlichen Tenor.

Um sich seinen Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen, lernte er Klavierstimmen. Außerdem sang er gegen Bezahlung im Synagogenchor in der Pestalozzistraße. Sein schöner Tenor verschaffte ihm auch Eintritt zu Konzerten, wo er beispielsweise Schumann, Schubert und Hugo Wolf sang. Bei einem solchen Konzert lernte er Johanna Bender kennen. Das soll sich so zugetragen haben: Bei diesem Konzert wurde für den nächsten Tag ein Ausflug vereinbart. Doch an jenem Tag regnete es, und der Ausflug fiel ins Wasser. Nicht jedoch für die beiden, sie aren die Einzigen, die trotz des Regens am Treffpunkt erschienen. Und sie verliebten sich ineinander. 1919 heirateten sie, trotz des starken Widerstandes der beiden Familien.

Johanna war nämlich christlich, und sie wollte einen Juden heiraten, der noch dazu blind war und Ausländer! Sie war doch eine Berlinerin und protestantisch, die Eltern und die Schwester fürchteten, er werde sie in den finanziellen Ruin treiben, und sprachen fortan nicht mehr mit ihrer Tochter, bis Johannas und Rafaels Sohn Heinz zur Welt kam, was sie halbwegs versöhnte. Ihre Furcht war übrigens unbegründet, Rafael ernährte seine Familie ordentlich. Sie waren glücklich miteinander und hatten ein gutes Leben, bis das Jahr 1933 kam und mit ihm die Nazis.

Die Lebensumstände für Juden wurden immer unerträglicher. Johanna wurde zur Gestapo bestellt, wo man ihr empfahl, sich vom Juden Rafael scheiden zu lassen. Sie lehnte dies, ohne zu zögern, kategorisch ab, und verband so ihr Schicksal mit dem des jüdischen Volkes. Ihr Sohn Heinz, der Schüler im Paulsen-Gymnasium war, flog von der Schule und musste fortan in der weit entfernten Schule Addas Israel lernen. 1938 beschlossen Rafael und Johanna, ihren einzigen Sohn in Sicherheit zu bringen. Nach einer beruflichen Vorbereitung als Tischler in Berlin-Niederschönhausen kam der damals 18-jährige mit dem Schiff im Oktober 1938 nach Palästina. Den Eltern selbst gelang es 1939 dank der britischen Regierung, in der letzten Minute nach London zu emigrieren. Die Briten gewährten 150 jüdischen, verdienstfähigen Blinden die Einreise nach England. Bereits einen Tag nach seiner Ankunft nahm Rafael seinen Blindenstock und sein Werkzeug und ging Klavierstimmen.

So machten Rafael und Johanna wiederum einen Neuanfang in einem fremden Land. Sie lebten bis zu Rafaels Tod 1967 in London, seine Witwe Johanna zog danach in die Nähe ihres Sohnes Heinz nach Israel.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Enkeltochter Michal Perez, Kiryat Bialik/Israel