Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Heinz Perez

Porträt Heinz Perez © Familienbesitz
LOCATION
Hünensteig 14

DISTRICT
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Steglitz
STONE WAS LAID
03/02/2015

BORN
07/19/1920 in Berlin
OCCUPATION
Klavierstimmer
ESCAPE
nach Palästina
SURVIVED

Heinz Perez was the son of Rafael Perez and Johanna Perez (née Bender). After his “Aryan” mother refused to divorce his Jewish father, Heinz was forced to leave school at the Paulsen Gymnasium in Steglitz and attended the Jewish Addas-Israel School.

In 1938, Rafael and Johanna Perez decided to seek out a safer living situation for their only son. After training as a carpenter in Berlin-Niederschönhausen, the then 18-year-old travelled by ship in October 1938 to Palestine. His parents succeeded in emigrating to England in 1939.

Like his father, Heinz was musically very gifted. As a boy, he dreamt of becoming a famous singer, and he would probably have done so had the National Socialists not come to power. Years later in Israel, he could realize his dream as an amateur singer in various musical productions to some extent. Alice Tichauer, a woman born in Breslau (now Wrocław in western Poland), claimed he had such a beautiful singing voice that she fell in love with him when she first heard him sing in 1947. In her own words, „His voice went straight to your heart.“ After some time, he was able to give up his carpentry work. He had learned the piano tuning trade from his father back in Berlin and worked happily as a piano tuner for 40 years until old age. He died in 2010 at the age of 90.


Biographical Compilation

Tochter Michal Perez, Kiryat Bialik/Israel

English Translation

Kathy Colville

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Heinz Perez

Porträt Heinz Perez © Familienbesitz
VERLEGEORT
Hünensteig 14

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Steglitz
VERLEGEDATUM
02.03.2015

GEBOREN
19.07.1920 in Berlin
BERUF
Klavierstimmer
FLUCHT
nach Palästina
ÜBERLEBT

Heinz Perez war der Sohn von Rafael Perez und Johanna, geb. Bender. Da sich seine "arische" Mutter weigerte, sich von seinem jüdischen Vater scheiden zu lassen, musste Heinz das Steglitzer Paulsen-Gymnasium verlassen und die jüdische Addas-Israel-Schule besuchen.

1938 beschlossen Rafael und Johanna Perez, ihren einzigen Sohn in Sicherheit zu bringen. Nach einer beruflichen Ausbildung als Tischler in Berlin-Niederschönhausen kam der damals 18-jährige mit dem Schiff im Oktober 1938 nach Palästina. Den Eltern gelang es, 1939 nach England zu emigrieren.

Wie sein Vater war auch Heinz hochmusikalisch. Als Junge hatte er davon geträumt, ein berühmter Sänger zu werden. Er wäre es wahrscheinlich auch geworden, wären die Nationalsozialisten nicht an die Regierung gekommen. Jahre später, schon in Israel, konnte er seinen Wunsch nur teilweise verwirklichen, indem er als Amateursänger in verschiedenen musikalischen Rahmen auftrat. Er hatte eine so wunderschöne Stimme, dass sich Alice Tichauer, eine gebürtige Breslauerin, sich 1947 in ihn verliebte, als sie ihn singen hörte. In ihren eigenen Worten: Seine Stimme ist einem zu Herzen gegangen. Mit der Zeit konnte er seine Arbeit als Tischler aufgeben. Er hatte bereits in Berlin von seinem Vater Klavierstimmen gelernt und übte nun diesen Beruf 40 Jahre lang bis ins hohe Alter mit Freude aus.

2010 starb er 90-jährig.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Tochter Michal Perez, Kiryat Bialik/Israel