Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Clara Feininger (born Fürst)

Stolperstein für Clara Feininger. Copyright: MTS
LOCATION
Beethovenstr. 29

DISTRICT
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Lichtenrade
STONE WAS LAID
03/21/2007

BORN
02/15/1879 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
on the 10th of January 1944 to Theresienstadt
LATER DEPORTED
on the 23rd of October 1944 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Clara Fürst was born on 15 February 1879 in Berlin, the daughter of Jewish painter and sculptor Gustav Fürst and his non-Jewish wife. Clara’s brother Edmund (1874-1955) studied for some years at the Berlin academy of art, and it was probably through him that she met his fellow student, the German-American painter, graphic artist and caricaturist Lyonel Feininger (1871-1956). Clara Fürst and Lyonel Feininger were married in 1901. Their daughter Eleonore was born the same year and Marianne in 1902.
However, Lyonel Feininger soon left his wife and children to marry a second time. From about 1915 on, for some twenty years, Clara Feininger lived at Birkbusch Straße 6 in Berlin-Steglitz. She was listed in the Berlin directories as a pianist. Her daughter Eleonore Feininger, a photographer who specialized in architectural and industrial photography as well as portraiture, lived in the same house for a time.
While Edmund Fürst migrated to Palestine with his family in 1934 and Lyonel Feininger, whose Cubism-influenced art was branded “degenerate” by the Nazis, moved to the United States in 1937, Clara Feininger remained in Berlin. She probably lived off the alimony Lyonel Feininger had to pay her after their divorce in 1907.
Around 1939 she lived for a time in Schöneiche, outside Berlin, but returned to the city to live at Beethoven Straße 29 in Lichtenrade, as a subtenant of Hildegard and Werner Braun. Under the Nuremberg “race laws” Clara Feininger was classified as a Jew by legal validity (“Geltungsjüdin”). The fact that she had left the Jewish Community in February 1938 did not protect her from persecution. On 10 January 1944 she was deported on the 99th transport of the elderly to Theresienstadt and on 23 October 1944 to Auschwitz. She did not survive.


Biographical Compilation

Dr. Claudia Schoppmann

Vorarbeiten/Recherche: Hannelore Emmerich

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Clara Feininger (geb. Fürst)

Stolperstein für Clara Feininger. Copyright: MTS
VERLEGEORT
Beethovenstr. 29

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Lichtenrade
VERLEGEDATUM
21.03.2007

GEBOREN
15.02.1879 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
am 10.01.1944 nach Theresienstadt
WEITERE DEPORTATION
am 23.10.1944 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Clara Fürst wurde am 15. Februar 1879 in Berlin als Tochter des jüdischen Malers und Bildhauers Gustav Fürst und seiner nichtjüdischen Ehefrau geboren. Wohl über ihren Bruder Edmund (1874–1955) lernte Clara Fürst den deutsch-amerikanischen Maler, Grafiker und Karikaturisten Lyonel Feininger (1871–1956) kennen, der wie Edmund Fürst einige Jahre an der Kunstakademie Berlin studiert hatte. Lyonel Feininger und Clara Fürst heirateten 1901. Im selben Jahr wurde ihre Tochter Eleonore geboren,1902 Marianne.

Lyonel Feininger trennte sich jedoch bald von Frau und Kindern, um erneut zu heiraten. Clara Feininger lebte seit etwa 1915 zwanzig Jahre lang in Berlin-Steglitz, Birkbuschstraße 6. Den Berliner Adressbüchern zufolge war sie Pianistin. Im selben Haus wohnte zeitweise auch ihre Tochter Eleonore Feininger, die sich als Fotografin auf Architektur-, Industrie- und Portraitaufnahmen spezialisiert hatte.

Während Edmund Fürst mit seiner Familie 1934 nach Palästina emigrierte und Lyonel Feininger, dessen vom Kubismus geprägte Kunst den Nationalsozialisten als „entartet“ galt, 1937 in die USA zog, blieb Clara Feininger in Berlin. Vermutlich lebte sie von den Unterhaltszahlungen, die Lyonel Feininger nach der Scheidung 1907 an sie leisten musste.

Um 1939 wohnte sie vorübergehend in Schöneiche bei Berlin, kehrte aber nach Berlin zurück und wohnte ab 1941 in der Lichtenrader Beethovenstraße 29 zur Untermiete bei Hildegard und Werner Braun. Nach den Nürnberger „Rassengesetzen“ galt Clara Feininger als „Geltungsjüdin“. Dass sie im Februar 1938 aus der Jüdischen Gemeinde ausgetreten war, schützte sie nicht vor weiterer Verfolgung. Am 10. Januar 1944 wurde sie mit dem 99. Alterstransport nach Theresienstadt deportiert und von dort am 23. Oktober 1944 nach Auschwitz. Sie hat nicht überlebt.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dr. Claudia Schoppmann

Vorarbeiten/Recherche: Hannelore Emmerich