Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Johanna Maaß (Maass)

Stolperstein für Johanna Maass. Copyright: MTS
LOCATION
Franziusweg 63

DISTRICT
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Lichtenrade
STONE WAS LAID
03/21/2007

BORN
06/07/1884 in Märkisch-Friedland (Westpreußen) / Mirosławiec
OCCUPATION
Handelslehrerin
DEPORTATION
on the 28th of March 1942 to Piaski-Trawniki
MURDERED
in Piaski

Johanna Maaß was born on 7 June 1884 in Märkisch Friedland, a small town in West Prussia (now Mirosławiec, Poland). She trained as a teacher of commercial subjects and graduated with a diploma, indicating that she completed a university course in economic science. She obviously enjoyed professional success as she was able to buy a house in the early 1920s at Waldweg 19 (now Franziusweg 63) in the Lichtenrade district of Berlin-Tempelhof.
In 1940, aged 56 and unmarried, she was forced to sublet two furnished attic rooms to the Hirschfeld family (see Hirschfeld) for 60.00 Reich marks.
On 28 March 1942 she was deported on the 11th transport to the Piaski ghetto, which served as a transit camp for deportees on the way to the extermination sites of the Lublin area in German-occupied Poland. It is not known when or how she died.
The only indication of her “migration”, as deportation was euphemistically called, was found in the so-called declaration of assets signed by Anna Maaß, née Beer, Johanna’s mother. A widow born on 21 May 1859 in Stolp (now Słupsk, Poland), Anna Maaß had lived in the Jewish old people’s home at Graben Straße 12, in the Berlin district of Lichterfelde-Ost, since April 1942.
According to this declaration, Anna Maaß still had some belongings (including a piano and a music stand) in her daughter’s apartment at Waldweg 19. Anna Maaß was deported on 21 July 1942, aged 83, to Theresienstadt and, two months later, to Treblinka extermination camp. She did not survive.


Biographical Compilation

Dr. Claudia Schoppmann

Vorarbeiten/Recherche: Hannelore Emmerich

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Johanna Maaß (Maass)

Stolperstein für Johanna Maass. Copyright: MTS
VERLEGEORT
Franziusweg 63

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Lichtenrade
VERLEGEDATUM
21.03.2007

GEBOREN
07.06.1884 in Märkisch-Friedland (Westpreußen) / Mirosławiec
BERUF
Handelslehrerin
DEPORTATION
am 28.03.1942 nach Piaski-Trawniki
ERMORDET
in Piaski

Johanna Maaß wurde am 7. Juni 1884 in Märkisch Friedland (heute: Mirosławiec/Polen), einer Kleinstadt in Westpreußen, geboren. Sie machte eine Ausbildung zur Handelslehrerin und schloss mit einem Diplom ab, was ein Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaft voraussetzte. Offenbar war sie beruflich erfolgreich, denn zu Beginn der 1920er Jahre erwarb sie ein Haus in Berlin-Tempelhof, Ortsteil Lichtenrade, im Waldweg 19 (heute: Franziusweg 63).

1940 war die ledige Frau gezwungen, dort zwei möblierte Mansardenzimmer für 60,-- RM an die dreiköpfige Familie Hirschfeld (siehe dort) zu vermieten.

Am 28. März 1942 wurde sie mit dem 11. Transport ins Ghetto Piaski deportiert, das als Durchgangslager in die Vernichtungsstätten des Distrikts Lublin im deutsch besetzten Polen fungierte. Die Umstände ihres Todes sind nicht bekannt.

Ein Hinweis auf ihre „Abwanderung“, wie die Deportationen verschleiernd genannt wurden, findet sich nur in der sogenannten Vermögenserklärung von Anna Maaß, geborene Beer, ihrer Mutter. Die Witwe, geboren am 21. Mai 1859 in Stolp (heute: Słupsk/Polen), wohnte seit April 1942 im jüdischen Altersheim in Berlin-Lichterfelde-Ost, Grabenstr. 12.

Aus der Erklärung geht hervor, dass sich noch Eigentum (u.a. ein Klavier und ein Notenständer) von Anna Maaß im Waldweg 19 befand. Die 83jährige wurde am 21. Juli 1942 nach Theresienstadt und zwei Monate später in das Vernichtungslager Treblinka deportiert. Auch sie hat nicht überlebt.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dr. Claudia Schoppmann

Vorarbeiten/Recherche: Hannelore Emmerich