Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dr. Arthur Arnstein

Stolperstein für Arthur Arnstein. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Drakestr. 47

DISTRICT
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Lichterfelde
STONE WAS LAID
12/01/2005

BORN
07/18/1866 in Berlin
OCCUPATION
Arzt
DEPORTATION
on the 14th of September 1942 to Theresienstadt
DEAD
11/03/1942 in Theresienstadt

Arthur Arnstein was born on 18 July 1866 to Sigmund Arnstein and his wife Pauline, née Wallenberg, in Berlin. He gained a PhD in medicine and qualified as a doctor in 1890. He married in 1897. He and his wife had one child. In 1898 the Arnstein family lived at Goethe Strasse 80 in Charlottenburg. In 1897 Arthur Arnstein practiced at Steglitzer Strasse 35 (now Gardeschützenweg), in what was then the Brandenburg district of Gross Lichterfelde; in 1898 he moved his practice to Bahn Strasse 571 (now Curtius Strasse) in Lichterfelde. From 1902 his practice was located at Drake Strasse 47, in a building that he was registered as owning in 1904. In 1931 he was awarded the honorary title for medical consultants of Sanitätsrat.

Some of the Nazis first antisemitic measures affected professional groups such as Jewish doctors. In March 1933, a quick succession of ordinances was enacted aiming to drive Jewish doctors out of the health service. Medical treatment by Jewish doctors was prohibited; Jewish doctors employed in the public sector or by municipal hospitals were dismissed. Soon after, the boycott of 1 April 1933 hit many Jews; “warning” signs against Jewish doctors were raised even in small medical practices. Then, on 22 April 1933, doctors of “non-Aryan” descent were explicitly banned from the public health system. Initially, World War 1 veterans were exempted from the ban, but this exception was revoked on 17 May 1934. It was now required to present proof of “Aryan identity” to register as a medical practitioner. “Non-Aryan” doctors, or doctors with “non-Aryan” spouses, were no longer approved by the health insurance funds.

Within a very short period, then, Jewish doctors were robbed of their livelihoods. They were not only restricted to treating only Jewish patients, they no longer received medicines from their former suppliers. Under the 4th ordinance of the Reich Citizenship Law of 25 July 1938, no further Jewish doctors were licensed as of 30 September 1938. Only a few exceptions were granted for the treatment of exclusively Jewish patients. These doctors were pejoratively labelled “medics”. In Berlin, a maximum of 175 of these lower-status “medics” (including specialists) were to be licensed.

Arthur Arnstein, now forced to take the additional name “Israel”, was also reduced to practising as a “Jewish medic” at Drake Strasse 47 in Lichterfelde West from September 1938.

Arthur Arnstein was deported on 11 September 1942 on the 62nd “transport of the elderly” to Theresienstadt, where he died on 3 November 1942. His cause of death was registered as “intestinal catarrh”. His death certificate describes him as a widower. It is not known when his wife died, nor is anything known of the fate of his child. A cousin of Arthur Arnstein, Betty Nossen, testified to his death in Theresienstadt. She died a few months later.

Sara Michaelis, née Frankenstein (*22.2.1871 in Flatow, West Prussia), formerly registered as a “lady of private means” in Charlottenburg, lived in the house at Drake Strasse 47 as a subtenant. It is likely that she worked as Arthur Arnstein’s housekeeper. She was deported to Theresienstadt one day before him on the 61st “transport of the elderly” and died there in October 1942. Nothing more is known about her.

In 1940, ownership of the building was transferred to Arthur Arnstein’s neighbour at house number 46, the master baker Werner Storch. Other “non-Aryans” were temporarily moved to Drake Strasse 47, where they lived until their deportation in March 1943 (see husband and wife Kurt Julius and Erna Friedländer, and their subtenants, Hans Kaplan and his wife Marlene Kaplan, née Berger and her borther Frank Cohn). After they were deported, the house was “free of Jews”.


Biographical Compilation

Dieter Fitterling

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dr. Arthur Arnstein

Stolperstein für Arthur Arnstein. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Drakestr. 47

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Lichterfelde
VERLEGEDATUM
01.12.2005

GEBOREN
18.07.1866 in Berlin
BERUF
Arzt
DEPORTATION
am 14.09.1942 nach Theresienstadt
TOT
03.11.1942 in Theresienstadt

Arthur Arnstein kam am 18. Juli 1866 als Sohn von Sigmund Arnstein und dessen Frau Pauline, geb. Wallenberg, in Berlin zur Welt. Er promovierte in Medizin und erhielt 1890 seine Approbation als Arzt. 1897 heiratete er, aus der Ehe ging ein Kind hervor. 1898 wohnte die Familie in Charlottenburg in der Goethestr. 80, Arthur Arnstein praktizierte ab 1897 in dem damals noch selbständigen Groß-Lichterfelde, Steglitzer Str. 35 (heute Gardeschützenweg), ab 1898 in der Lichterfelder Bahnstr. 57 I (heute Curtiusstr.). Ab 1902 war die Praxis in der Drakestr. 47, ab 1904 ist Arnstein als Eigentümer dieses Hauses eingetragen. Ab 1931 trug er den Titel Sanitätsrat.

Die ersten Maßnahmen des nationalsozialistischen Regimes trafen unter anderen Berufsgruppen auch die jüdischen Ärzte. Im März 1933 wurden in rascher Folge Anordnungen erlassen, die darauf abzielten, jüdische Ärzte aus dem öffentlichen Gesundheitsdienst zu vertreiben. Medizinische Behandlungen bei jüdischen Ärzten wurden nicht mehr erstattet, jüdischen Ärzten, die im öffentlichen Dienst oder in städtischen Einrichtungen beschäftigt waren, wurde gekündigt. Der „Judenboykott“ vom 1. April 1933 traf zahlreiche Ärzte, auch in kleinen Arztpraxen wurden „Warnschilder“ angebracht. Ab 22. April 1933 wurde die Tätigkeit von Kassenärzten „nichtarischer“ Abstammung beendet. Waren 1933 Frontkämpfer von den Maßnahmen erst noch ausgenommen, wurde diese Regelung am 17. Mai 1934 aufgehoben. Nun wurde für die Eintragung ins Arztregister ein „Ariernachweis“ verlangt. „Nichtarische“ Ärzte oder Ärzte, die „nichtarische“ Ehepartner hatten, waren von der Kassenzulassung ausgeschlossen.

Innerhalb kürzester Frist waren damit den jüdischen Ärzten die Lebensgrundlagen entzogen, sie durften allenfalls noch Juden behandeln. Ihre Arbeit wurde zusätzlich dadurch erschwert, dass sie keine Medikamente mehr erhielten. Mit der IV. Verordnung zum Reichsbürgergesetz vom 25. Juli 1938 wurde verfügt, dass die Approbation jüdischer Ärzte zum 30. September 1938 erlöschen. Ausnahmen von diesem Berufsverbot gab es nur noch für wenige Mediziner, die unter dem minderen Status eines „Krankenbehandlers“ ausschließlich jüdische Patienten versorgen durften. In Berlin sollten künftig nur noch 175 „Krankenbehandler“ (einschließlich der verschiedenen Fachärzte) zugelassen werden.

Auch Arthur Arnstein, nun zu dem Zwangsvornamen „Israel“ verpflichtet, praktizierte ab 30. September 1938 als „jüdischer Krankenbehandler“, weiterhin in Lichterfelde-West, Drakestr. 47.

Arthur Arnstein wurde am 11. September 1942 mit dem „62. Alterstransport“ nach Theresienstadt deportiert. Er starb dort am 3. November 1942, als Todesursache ist „Darmkatarrh“ angegeben. In diesem Dokument wird er als Witwer bezeichnet, wann seine Frau gestorben war, ist bisher nicht bekannt. Ebenso wenig ist über das Schicksal seines Kindes bekannt. In Theresienstadt bezeugte eine Kusine von Arthur Arnstein, Betty Nossen, seinen Tod, sie starb wenige Monate später.

Im Haus Drakestr. 47 wohnte zur Untermiete Sara Michaelis, geb. Frankenstein (*22.02.1871 in Flatow/Westpreußen), die zuvor in Charlottenburg als „Privatière“ gelebt hatte, möglicherweise führte sie Arthur Arnstein den Haushalt. Sie wurde einen Tag vor ihm mit dem „61. Alterstransport“ nach Theresienstadt deportiert und starb dort im Oktober 1942. Mehr ist über sie nicht bekannt.

Ab 1940 wurde der Nachbar aus der Nummer 46, der Bäckermeister Werner Storch, neuer Hausbesitzer. In die Drakestr. 47 wurden kurzfristig weitere „Nichtarier“ eingewiesen und lebten bis zur endgültigen Deportation im März 1943 unter dieser Adresse: (siehe Ehepaar Kurt Julius und Erna Friedländer, und als deren Untermieter das Ehepaar Hans Kaplan und Marlene Kaplan, geb. Berger sowie deren Bruder Frank Cohn). Dann war das Haus „judenrein“.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dieter Fitterling