Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Margarete Prager

Stolperstein am Tag der Verlegung
Stolperstein für Margarete Prager. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Ringstr. 102 D

DISTRICT
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Lichterfelde
STONE WAS LAID
12/01/2005

BORN
01/14/1890 in Berlin
OCCUPATION
Stenotypistin
FORCED LABOUR
at
Siemens-Halske
DEPORTATION
on the 1st of March 1943 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Margarete Prager was baptized in the Protestant faith but persecuted under the Nazis’ racial laws as “Jewish”.

Margarete Prager never married and lived with her sister Gertrud, born 20 May 1888, and her widowed mother Marta at Ring Strasse 102d in Berlin-Lichterfelde. Margarete’s mother was registered as the owner of the house. Margarete Prager was a shorthand typist; her sister was a publisher. Marta Prager’s name no longer appears in the Berlin directory after 1931. The two sisters’ last entry is in 1939.

Margarete Prager’s last job before her deportation in March 1943 was for Siemens-Halske on Holzdamm for a weekly wage of RM 22, along with 3000 other forced labourers. Siemens-Halske is known to have made its Jewish forced labourers train their Polish replacements prior to their arrest. They were taken from their workplace during the so-called “Factory Action” in late February 1943 and deported. Margarete Prager, too, was a victim of this campaign. She was deported on 1 March 1943 to Auschwitz.

The house at Ring Strasse 102d was then the property of the Prager sisters and managed by “Paul Zeitz, Lichterfelde-West, Fontanestr. 10”.

Margarete’s sister Gertrud married a man named Lundblad on 1 June 1939 in Helsingör, Denmark. She wrote a declaration authorizing the property manager Paul Zeitz “to assume all objects in the house and garden in Berlin-Lichterfelde-West, Ringstr. 102d, and to hand them over to Frau Dr. Maria List, Berlin-Karlshorst, Neuwiederstr. 27, to keep them for me and my possible future use. Gertrud Lundblad, née Prager” certified by “Helsingör Politistation, 20. M. 43”.

But the house was seized. The president of the superior finance directorate informed the Mayor of the Reich capital in a letter of 27 March 1943, “Re: Jew apartment Lichterfelde, Ringstr. 102. Jewish tenant Margarete Sara Prager. Above apartment has been allotted to Eduard Raupert by preferential order granting possession. Grounds: many children and frontline soldier …” The new tenant bought the furnishings of the house for RM 600. It is not known whether the request by Huth-Immobilien estate agency to reimburse an appropriate share of the sale’s proceeds was granted.


Biographical Compilation

Initiative Steglitz

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Margarete Prager

Stolperstein am Tag der Verlegung
Stolperstein für Margarete Prager. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Ringstr. 102 D

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Lichterfelde
VERLEGEDATUM
01.12.2005

GEBOREN
14.01.1890 in Berlin
BERUF
Stenotypistin
DEPORTATION
am 01.03.1943 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Margarete Prager war evangelische Christin, wurde aber im Sinne der Rassegesetze als „jüdisch“ verfolgt.

Margarete Prager war ledig und lebte mit ihrer Schwester Gertrud, geboren am 20. Mai 1888 in Berlin, und ihrer verwitweten Mutter Marta in der Ringstr. 102d in Lichterfelde. Die Mutter wird als Eigentümerin des Hauses angegeben. Margarete Prager war Stenotypistin, ihre Schwester Gertrud Verlagsbuchhändlerin. Ab 1931 erscheint die Mutter nicht mehr in den Berliner Adressbüchern und die beiden Schwestern ab 1939 nicht mehr.

Zuletzt, vor ihrer Deportation im März 1943, arbeitete Margarete Prager bei Siemens-Halske am Holzdamm für einen Wochenlohn von 22 RM, wie mehr als 3000 andere Zwangsarbeiter. Von Siemens-Halske ist bekannt, dass die jüdischen Zwangsarbeiter noch ihre polnischen Nachfolger einarbeiten mussten, bevor sie bei der sogenannten Fabrik-Aktion Ende Februar 1943 direkt in ihren Betrieben verhaftet wurden, um dann deportiert zu werden. Auch Margarete Prager gehört zu den Opfern dieser „Aktion“: Sie wurde am 1. März 1943 nach Auschwitz deportiert.

Das Haus in der Ringstr. 102d gehörte den beiden Schwestern Prager und wurde von „Paul Zeitz, Lichterfelde-West, Fontanestr. 10“ verwaltet.

Die Schwester, Gertrud Lundblad, geb. Prager, heiratete am 1. Juni 1939 nach Helsingör in Dänemark. Sie erklärte in einer Vollmacht an den Verwalter Zeitz, „alle Gegenstände in Haus und Garten in Berlin-Lichterfelde-West, Ringstr. 102 d zu übernehmen und zur Aufbewahrung für mich und zu eventueller späterer Verfügung darüber an Frau Dr. Maria List, Berlin-Karlshorst, Neuwiederstr. 27 zu übergeben. Gertrud Lundblad, geb. Prager“, beglaubigt von „Helsingör Politistation, 20. M. 43“.

Doch die Wohnung wurde enteignet. Mit Schreiben vom 27. März 1943 teilte der Oberfinanzpräsident dem Oberbürgermeister der Reichshauptstadt mit: „Betr. Judenwohnung Lichterfelde, Ringstr. 102. Jüd. Mieter Margarete Sara Prager. Dem Eduard Raupert, bisher wohnhaft Lichterfelde Ringstr. 102d ist durch Einweisungsschein vom Hauptplanungsamt obige Wohnung bevorzugt zugewiesen. Grund: Kinderreich und Frontsoldat ...“ Dieser neue Mieter hat das Mobiliar des Hauses für 600 RM gekauft. Ob dem Antrag der Fa. Huth-Immobilien, einen angemessenen Anteil des Verkaufserlöses zu erstatten, stattgeben wurde, ist nicht zu belegen.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Initiative Steglitz