Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Tillie Rewald (born Herrmann)

Stolperstein für Tillie Rewald. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Augustastr. 37

DISTRICT
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Lichterfelde
STONE WAS LAID
05/15/2006

BORN
01/21/1868 in New York
DEPORTATION
on the 12th of June 1942 to Theresienstadt
DEAD
08/25/1942 in Theresienstadt

Tillie Rewald, née Herrmann, was born in New York. She married Adolf Rewald, a real-estate broker, and had two children: Viola, born in 1894, and Edwin, born in 1897. The Rewalds achieved considerable prosperity and lived in the affluent Berlin suburb of Lichterfelde.

After 1938, they were probably forced to move. They are listed in the Berlin Memorial Book as having been resident at Rüdesheimer Strasse 1, Wilmersdorf. According to their great-granddaughter, Adolf and Tillie lived at Sybel Strasse 15, Charlottenburg, before being deported. This is also the address given in the death notices issued by the Theresienstadt ghetto.

Adolf and Tillie Rewald were deported on 12 June 1942 to Theresienstadt, via the assembly camp at Grosse Hamburger Strasse 26, and never returned. Adolf Rewald died on 7 September 1942. An autopsy found the cause of death to be pyelitis and pneumonia.


Biographical Compilation

Initiative Steglitz nach Angaben der Urenkelin

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Tillie Rewald (geb. Herrmann)

Stolperstein für Tillie Rewald. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Augustastr. 37

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Lichterfelde
VERLEGEDATUM
15.05.2006

GEBOREN
21.01.1868 in New York
DEPORTATION
am 12.06.1942 nach Theresienstadt
TOT
25.08.1942 in Theresienstadt

Tillie Rewald, die in New York als Tillie Hermann zur Welt kam, war mit dem Immobilienmakler Adolf Rewald (s. dort) verheiratet. Das Ehepaar hatte zwei Kinder: die 1894 geborene Viola und den Sohn Edwin (s. dort). Die Familie hatte es zu einigem Wohlstand gebracht und lebte zunächst in Lichterfelde.

Wahrscheinlich war die Familie nach 1938 zum Umzug gezwungen, laut Angaben im Berliner Gedenkbuch lebte sie in Wilmersdorf, Rüdesheimer Str. 1. Vor der Deportation wohnte die Familie nach Auskunft der Urenkelin in Charlottenburg, Sybelstr. 15, diese Adresse wird auch in der Todesfallanzeige des Ghettos Theresienstadt genannt.

Adolf und Tillie Rewald wurden am 12. Juni 1942 über das Sammellager Große Hamburger Str. 26 nach Theresienstadt deportiert, von wo sie nicht zurückkehrten. Adolf Rewald starb am 7. September 1942, dem Sektionsprotokoll ist zu entnehmen, dass er an Nierenbecken- und Lungenentzündung gestorben ist.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Initiative Steglitz nach Angaben der Urenkelin