Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Friedrich Justus Perels

Friedrich Justus Perels © GDW/PB Helga Perels, Kronberg
Stolperstein für Friedrich Justus Perels. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Viktoriastr. 4a

DISTRICT
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Lichterfelde
STONE WAS LAID
03/07/2009

BORN
11/03/1910 in Berlin
EXCECUTED
04/22/1945 in Berlin

Friedrich Justus Perels, born on 13 November 1910 and executed on 23 April 1945, was the second son of the liberal university professor Ernst Perels and his wife Antonie, née Hermes. His parents lived in the parish of St John in Lichterfelde-West, at Weddigenweg 64.
Participation in student bible circles and a close friendship with Martin Niemöller were formative influences on Friedrich Justus Perels as a youth. He enrolled to study law, under Gustav Radbruch in Heidelberg, among others, and acquired “a discriminating, liberal approach to law”, as his son pointed out at a church congress in Hanover in 2005. When the Nazis came to power in 1933, Friedrich Justus Perels “confronted the unbridled power structure … head-on”. Several family members lost their positions at the university for “racial-political” reasons.
On 1 April 1933, Friedrich Justus Perels became a trainee lawyer. He offered his services as a legal advisor to the emergency covenant of pastors (Pfarrernotbund), founded in 1933. On 11 August 1933, he wrote a letter to Martin Niemöller, stating that since “the men who are the Reich leaders (of German Christians) issue theological comments daily that are simply unacceptable for the church of Jesus Christ, … [we have] the task of maintaining a distance to this doctrine, also in formal terms, and communicating the true nature of this attack on the New Testament.”
On completion of his traineeship in 1936, Friedrich Justus Perels became a legal advisor to the Brethren Council of the Prussian Union of churches, succeeding the former regional court judge Friedrich Weissler. Imprisoned in Sachsenhausen in 1936 and murdered in 1937, Weissler is thought to have been the author of a courageous memorandum by the second provisional leadership of the Confessing Church, which was published in the foreign press on 23 July 1936. It condemned the de-Christianization of the German people, the institution of the Gestapo, concentration camps, arbitrary rule and the distortion of justice, and the persecution of Jews and dissidents.
As well as working as a lawyer, Friedrich Justus Perels ran the office of the Confessing Church at Drakestraße 32 in Lichterfelde (which was later destroyed by bombing). “Perels’ road to increasing opposition to the Nazis [adds] a distinctive puzzle piece [to] the picture of life in the Third Reich, not untypical for some Protestant groups, which has hitherto been overlooked in portrayals of Nazism.” (Schreiber, Matthias: Friedrich Justus Perels. Ein Weg von Rechtskampf der Bekennenden Kirche in den politischen Widerstand. Munich 1985, p. 21 [translation: CK]).
In 1940 Friedrich Justus Perels married Helga Kellermann and set up his own practice as a lawyer. The couple’s only son, Joachim, was born in Berlin in 1942. The family lived at Viktoriastraße 4a in Lichterfelde.
Friedrich Justus Perels was close friends with Dietrich Bonhoeffer, and involved in the “U Sieben” action, thanks to which fourteen people managed to escape abroad. In October 1941, he and Dietrich Bonhoeffer submitted a petition to the officers involved in the German resistance against the deportation of Jews.
In the wake of the failed attempt to assassinate Hitler of 20 July 1944, Friedrich Justus Perels was arrested as a conspirator. On 2 February 1945, he was condemned to death by the People’s Court under Roland Freisler. In the night of 22 to 23 April 1945, he was murdered on a bomb site in Lehrter Straße by a shot in the neck.
Due to Friedrich Justus Perels’ involvement in the failed assassination attempt, his father, Prof. Ernst Perels, was sought as a liable member of kin and arrested in October 1944. Initially detained in Moabit prison, he was later sent to Buchenwald, then Flossenbürg, where he died on 10 May 1945, shortly before the camp’s liberation.


Biographical Compilation

Dr. Hildegard Frisius

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Friedrich Justus Perels

Friedrich Justus Perels © GDW/PB Helga Perels, Kronberg
Stolperstein für Friedrich Justus Perels. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Viktoriastr. 4a

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Steglitz-Zehlendorf – Lichterfelde
VERLEGEDATUM
07.03.2009

GEBOREN
03.11.1910 in Berlin
HINGERICHTET
22.04.1945 in Berlin

Friedrich Justus Perels, geboren am 13. November 1910 und hingerichtet am 23. April 1945, war der zweite Sohn des liberalen Universitätsprofessors Ernst Perels und dessen Ehefrau Antonie, geb. Hermes. Die Eltern lebten in der Johannesgemeinde in Lichterfelde-West im Weddigenweg 64.

Friedrich Justus Perels war durch Mitarbeit in Schülerbibelkreisen und durch eine enge Beziehung zu Martin Niemöller geprägt. Als Jurastudent, unter anderem bei Gustav Radbruch in Heidelberg, eignete er sich „ein differenziertes liberales Rechtsdenken“ an, wie sein Sohn auf dem Kirchentag 2005 in Hannover hervorhob. Mit der Machtergreifung 1933 trat Friedrich Justus Perels „die schrankenlose Struktur der öffentlichen Gewalt ... hautnah entgegen“. Mehrere Familienmitglieder verloren aus „rassepolitischen“ Gründen ihre Universitätspositionen.

Am 1. April 1933 wurde Friedrich Justus Perels Rechtsreferendar. Er stellte sich dem im September 1933 gegründeten Pfarrernotbund als juristischer Berater zur Verfügung. Bereits am 11. August 1933 schrieb er in einem Brief an Martin Niemöller: Da „die Männer der Reichsleitung (der Deutschen Christen) täglich theologische Ausführungen machen, die für die Kirche Jesu Christi schlechterdings untragbar sind, ... [haben wir] die Aufgabe, auch formell Distanz zu dieser Glaubenslehre zu halten und den neutestamentlichen Angriff seinem Wesen gemäß vorzutragen.“

Nach Abschluss seines Referendariats 1936 wurde Friedrich Justus Perels Rechtsberater des Bruderrates der Altpreußischen Union. Er trat damit die Nachfolge des Landesgerichtsdirektors i.R. Friedrich Weissler an, der 1936 in Sachsenhausen inhaftiert und 1937 dort ermordet worden war. Dieser gilt als der Verfasser einer mutigen Denkschrift der zweiten Vorläufigen Leitung der Bekennenden Kirche, die am 23. Juli 1936 im Ausland veröffentlicht wurde. Sie wandte sich gegen die Entchristlichung des Volkes und die Einrichtung der Gestapo, gegen Konzentrationslager, Willkür und Rechtsverfälschung und gegen die Verfolgung von Juden und Andersdenkenden.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Rechtsanwalt leitete Friedrich Justus Perels das Büro der Bekennenden Kirche in der Drakestr. 32 in Lichterfelde (das Haus wurde durch Bomben zerstört). „Perels’ Weg in die zunehmende Ablehnung des Nationalsozialismus [fügt] dem Bild eines Lebens im Dritten Reich ein eigengeprägtes, für einige protestantische Gruppen nicht untypisches Mosaiksteinchen [hinzu], das in Darstellungen zum Nationalsozialismus bisher unberücksichtigt blieb.“ (Schreiber, Matthias: Friedrich Justus Perels. Ein Weg vom Rechtskampf der Bekennenden Kirche in den politischen Widerstand. München 1985, S. 21.)

1940 heiratete Friedrich Justus Perels Helga Kellermann und ließ sich als Rechtsanwalt nieder. Der einzige Sohn, Joachim, wurde 1942 in Berlin geboren. Die Familie lebte in der Viktoriastr. 4 a in Lichterfelde.

Friedrich Justus Perels verband eine enge Freundschaft mit Dietrich Bonhoeffer. Er war beteiligt an der Aktion „U Sieben“, durch die 14 Personen die Flucht ins Ausland ermöglicht wurde. Im Oktober 1941 wandte er sich gemeinsam mit Dietrich Bonhoeffer mit einer Eingabe an Offiziere, die zum deutschen Widerstand gehörten, gegen die Deportation von Juden.

Nach dem missglückten Attentat auf Hitler am 20. Juli 1944 wurde Friedrich Justus Perels als Mitverschwörer verhaftet, am 2. Februar 1945 vom Volksgerichtshof unter der Leitung von Roland Freisler zum Tode verurteilt und schließlich in der Nacht vom 22. auf den 23. April 1945 auf einem Trümmergrundstück in der Lehrter Straße durch Genickschuss ermordet.

Sein Vater, Prof. Ernst Perels (s. dort), wurde im Oktober 1944 in Sippenhaft genommen, zunächst in das KZ Buchenwald und später in das KZ Flossenbürg deportiert, wo er am 10. Mai 1945 starb, kurz nach der Befreiung des Lagers.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dr. Hildegard Frisius