Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Elly Wangenheim

Stolperstein für Elly Wangenheim. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Berliner Str. 20

DISTRICT
Reinickendorf – Hermsdorf
STONE WAS LAID
12/12/2007

BORN
03/20/1893 in Berlin-Hermsdorf
OCCUPATION
Inhaberin Schuhfabrik und Schuhgeschäft
FORCED LABOUR
at
Osram
DEPORTATION
on the 1st of March 1943 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Elly Wangenheim was born on 20 March 1893 to an old-established Jewish family in the Berlin district of Hermsdorf. Her grandparents, Louise and Leiser Flesch, had built a house at Berliner Straße 20 in Hermsdorf in 1860. Their only child, Emma, married Theodor Wangenheim, a cobbler. After their marriage, he set up a leather store, to which he later added a shoemaking workshop, in the house at Berliner Straße 20. Elly had three siblings: Her brother Erich was born on 1 October 1887; her sisters Betty and Lotte were born on 5 May 1890 and 25 May 1896, respectively.
Elly Wangenheim went to the local elementary school (in a building that today houses the Hermsdorf local history museum) before attending the Hermsdorf college for girls (in what is now Olafstraße), like her sisters, from 1904 to Easter 1909.
After leaving school, Elly and her younger sister Lotte took over their father’s shoe factory and store. Their older sister Betty had married a tradesman, Otto Kramer, on 19 March 1913. On 27 July 1921, their daughter Ursula was born. After 1938, Betty and Otto Kramer were classified as living in a “mixed marriage”, and it became too dangerous to visit Elly and Lotte in Hermsdorf in daylight. To avoid arrest, they only saw Betty’s sisters at night. Elly Wangenheim and her sister Lotte were forced to give up their shoe store but were given a right of residence until 30 June 1944.
Starting on 7 July 1942, Elly performed forced labour for Osram; Lotte started on 3 November 1941 as a forced labourer for the Teves works, manufacturing machine and car parts in Wittenau. Initially the sisters were protected by the fact that they worked for firms considered vital to the war effort. But more than a year before their right of residence at Berliner Straße 20 expired, in the morning of 28 February 1943, Elly and her sister Lotte were seized by the Gestapo at their workplaces, during the so-called factory campaign, and taken to assembly points. The factory campaign aimed to remove all Jewish forced labourers from Berlin armaments industries and deport them east by the end of March. Between 1 and 6 March, five major transports of deportees left Berlin for eastern Europe.
Elly Wangenheim was deported to Auschwitz on 1 March 1943 on the “31st transport to the east”. She has been classified missing ever since. Of the approximately 1500 people on the transport, 142 men and 385 women were admitted to the camp as prisoners. The others were killed in the gas chambers.
The house at Berliner Straße 20 was sealed off by the Gestapo in March 1943 and confiscated, along with its entire contents, by the German Reich. Later it was sold at auction.


Biographical Compilation

AG Stolpersteine Reinickendorf

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Elly Wangenheim

Stolperstein für Elly Wangenheim. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Berliner Str. 20

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Reinickendorf – Hermsdorf
VERLEGEDATUM
12.12.2007

GEBOREN
20.03.1893 in Berlin-Hermsdorf
BERUF
Inhaberin Schuhfabrik und Schuhgeschäft
ZWANGSARBEIT
bei
Osram
DEPORTATION
am 01.03.1943 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Elly Wangenheim wurde am 20. März 1893 als Kind einer alteingesessenen Hermsdorfer Familie jüdischen Glaubens geboren. Ihre Großeltern Louise und Leiser Flesch hatten 1860 ein Haus in der Berliner Straße 20 in Berlin-Hermsdorf erbaut. Ihr einziges Kind Emma heiratete den Schuster Theodor Wangenheim, der nach der Eheschließung dort, in der Berliner Straße 20, einen Leder- und Häutehandel betrieb, der später durch eine Schusterei ergänzt wurde. Elly hatte noch drei Geschwister: Ihr Bruder Erich wurde am 1. Oktober 1887, ihre Schwestern Betty und Lotte am 5. Mai 1890 und am 25. Mai 1896 geboren.

Eingeschult wurde Elly Wangenheim in der Volksschule in Hermsdorf (in dem Gebäude befindet sich heute das Heimatmuseum), wie ihre Schwestern besuchte sie anschließend die Höhere Mädchenschule in Hermsdorf (in der heutigen Olafstraße), von 1904 bis Ostern 1909.

Zusammen mit ihrer jüngeren Schwester Lotte übernahm Elly die kleine Schuhfabrik mit angeschlossenem Laden des Vaters Theodor Wangenheim. Die ältere Schwester Betty hatte am 19. März 1913 den Kaufmann Otto Kramer geheiratet, mit dem sie am 27. Juli 1921 die Tochter Ursula bekam. Für Betty und Otto Kramer, die in sogenannter „Mischehe“ lebten, war es nach 1938 tagsüber unmöglich, die Schwestern Elly und Lotte in Hermsdorf zu besuchen. In der Angst, verhaftet zu werden, sahen sich die Geschwister nur nachts. Elly Wangenheim und ihre Schwester Lotte wurden gezwungen, ihren Schuhladen aufzugeben und erhielten ein Bleiberecht bis zum 30. Juni 1944.

Elly leistete ab dem 7. Juli 1942 Zwangsarbeit bei Osram, Lotte ab dem 3. November 1941 bei den Teves-Werken, einer Maschinenbau- und Autozuliefererfirma in Wittenau. Die Schwestern waren vorerst durch ihre Arbeit in „kriegswichtigen“ Betrieben geschützt. Über ein Jahr bevor ihr Bleiberecht in der Berliner Straße 20 auslief, am Morgen des 28. Februars 1943, wurden Elly und ihre Schwester Lotte von der Gestapo und der SS im Rahmen der sogenannten Fabrik-Aktion aus den Betrieben abgeholt und zu den Sammelstellen gebracht. Bis Ende März sollten alle jüdischen Zwangsarbeiter aus den Berliner Rüstungsbetrieben entfernt und nach Osten deportiert werden. Insgesamt gab es zwischen 1. und 6. März allein fünf große Osttransporte.

Elly Wangenheim wurde am 1. März 1943 mit dem „31. Osttransport“ nach Auschwitz deportiert. Sie gilt seither als verschollen. Von den ungefähr 1500 Menschen dieses Transportes wurden 142 Männer und 385 Frauen als Häftlinge in das Lager eingewiesen. Die übrigen Menschen wurden in den Gaskammern getötet .

Das Haus in der Berliner Straße 20 wurde noch im März 1943 durch die Gestapo versiegelt und mit allem Inventar erst dem Deutschen Reich zugesprochen, später dann versteigert.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

AG Stolpersteine Reinickendorf