Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Edith Kassel (born Kassel)

Stolperstein für Edith Kassel. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Wachsmuthstr. 9

DISTRICT
Reinickendorf – Hermsdorf
STONE WAS LAID
07/05/2008

BORN
05/09/1937 in Berlin-Moabit
DEPORTATION
on the 15th of October 1943 to Theresienstadt
LATER DEPORTED
on the 23rd of October 1944 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Edith Kassel was the daughter of Dr Ilse Kassel. Her father was a Jewish lawyer.

She was born on 9 May 1937 while her mother was in custody in Berlin-Moabit prison. Her godmother was a friend of Ilse Kassel’s, Dr Edith Jacobson (1897-1978), who managed to escape to the United States in 1938 and later became a famous psychoanalyst.

Until her mother’s release, Edith was raised by her aunt Hilde, her mother’s sister. Hilde was married to an “Aryan”, Dr Kurt Schneemilch, and lived at Hermsdorfer Damm 184.

When Edith Kassel’s mother feared their imminent arrest due to the continuing persecution of Jews, she fled to the home of Tony Großmann and her family in Alt Gurkowschbruch, in the Freideberg, Neumark district (near Landsberg an der Warthe). Edith lived illegally in this farmhouse with her mother from September 1942 to September 1943.

In September 1943 their hiding place was revealed. Ilse and Edith Kassel managed to flee the Gestapo who came to take them away on 20 September but, only 10 minutes from the farmhouse, they could see no further escape route than suicide.

Edith’s mother died in the river Netze. Edith was taken to hospital in Driesen and returned for a short period to the Großmann family’s farmhouse. This is where the Gestapo later arrested her.

On 15 October 1943 Edith Kassel was deported from Grosse Hamburger Strasse 26, Berlin, number 21 on the 97th “transport of the elderly”, “Welle 60”, and arrived the same day in Theresienstadt. On 23 October 1944 she was deported from Theresienstadt to Auschwitz on the “Et” transport, which arrived on 25 October.

At only seven years old, she was probably murdered by poison gas the same day (or a few days later).


Biographical Compilation

AG Stolpersteine Reinickendorf

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmueller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Edith Kassel (geb. Kassel)

Stolperstein für Edith Kassel. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Wachsmuthstr. 9

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Reinickendorf – Hermsdorf
VERLEGEDATUM
05.07.2008

GEBOREN
09.05.1937 in Berlin-Moabit
DEPORTATION
am 15.10.1943 nach Theresienstadt
WEITERE DEPORTATION
am 23.10.1944 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Edith Kassel war die Tochter von Dr. Ilse Kassel. Ihr Vater war ein jüdischer Jurist.

Sie wurde am 9. Mai 1937 während der Untersuchungshaft ihrer Mutter in Berlin-Moabit geboren. Ihre Patin war eine Freundin von Ilse Kassel, die später als Psychoanalytikerin berühmt gewordene Dr. Edith Jacobson (1897–1978), die 1938 noch rechtzeitig in die USA emigrieren konnte.

Das Kind wuchs bis zur Entlassung der Mutter 1939 bei ihrer Tante Hilde auf, der Schwester ihrer Mutter. Diese war mit dem „Arier“ Dr. Kurt Schneemilch verheiratet und wohnte am Hermsdorfer Damm 184.

Als Edith Kassel und ihre Mutter im Zuge der Judenverfolgung abgeholt werden sollten, flüchteten sie zu Tony Großmann nach Alt Gurkowschbruch, Kreis Friedeberg/Neumark (bei Landsberg/Warthe). Dort, auf dem Hof der Familie Großmann, lebte Edith von September 1942 September 1943 illegal mit ihrer Mutter.

Im September 1943 wurde das Versteck verraten. Vor dem Verhaftungsversuch der Gestapo am 20. September konnte Ilse Kassel mit Edith zwar noch fliehen, suchte aber, nur 10 Minuten vom Hof entfernt, den Freitod für sich und ihr Kind.

Die Mutter starb in der Netze, das Kind kam in das Krankenhaus nach Driesen und kehrte noch einmal für kurze Zeit zurück in die Familie Großmann. Dort wurde Edith dann aber von der Gestapo abgeholt.

Am 15. Oktober 1943 wurde Edith Kassel als Nr. 21 mit dem „97. Alterstransport“, Welle 60, ab Berlin aus der Großen Hamburger Straße 26 deportiert und kam am selben Tag in Theresienstadt an. Am 23. Oktober 1944 wurde sie mit dem Transport „Et“ von Theresienstadt nach Auschwitz deportiert, der am 25. Oktober dort eintraf.

Es ist davon auszugehen, dass sie, als siebenjähriges Kind, noch am selben Tag (oder wenige Tage später) durch Giftgas ermordet wurde.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

AG Stolpersteine Reinickendorf