Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Lotte Ibermann

Stolpersteine für Lotte und Taube Ibermann © Koordinierungsstelle Stolpersteine Berlin
LOCATION
Fehrbelliner Straße 86

DISTRICT
Pankow – Prenzlauer Berg
STONE WAS LAID
07/01/2010

BORN
02/09/1922 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
on the 29th of October 1941 to Łódź / Litzmannstadt
MURDERED
in Łódź / Litzmannstadt

Lotte Ibermann was born on 9 February 1922 (or 1921?) in Berlin, the eldest daughter of Leo Ibermann, a tradesman, and his wife Toni Taube Ibermann, née Rösler. Little is known about her short life. Following her father’s early death, she no doubt had to look after her two younger sisters, Sonja and Ursula, to take some of the burden from her mother, who worked full-time as a dressmaker and sole trader.
She grew up with her mother and sisters in Sebastian Strasse 17 in Berlin-Kreuzberg and later in Belforter Strasse 30 in Prenzlauer Berg. She attended a school in Stallschreiber Strasse in Kreuzberg until 1933, then a school in Schönhauser Allee in Prenzlauer Berg. Under the Nazis’ increasing restrictions targeting Jews after 15 November 1938, Jewish children were barred from attending German schools (following an order from the Reich ministry for science, education and national culture). It is not known whether Lotte then changed to a Jewish school, and perhaps started learning a profession, or was immediately assigned compulsory employment.
Her sisters Sonja and Ursula were evacuated to Britain as part of a kindertransport, but Lotte stayed with her mother. Some time between August 1939 and 1941, she and her mother moved to an apartment at Fehrbelliner Strasse 86 in Prenzlauer Berg. In 1941 they moved into a so-called Jews’ house at Lothringer Strasse 34-35 (today Tor Strasse with different numbering). This was her last address in Berlin. From here, she and her mother were deported on 27 October 1941 to a concentration camp in Łódź, Poland. Lotte Ibermann never returned.

Her memory, however, remains alive in the minds and hearts of her family. Charlott, the first great-grandchild of her sister Sonja, who survived by emigrating to Britain and later to Australia, was born on 17 April 2012 and has the same dark, wonderfully expressive eyes as Lotte.


Biographical Compilation

Melitta Rheinheimer

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Lotte Ibermann

Stolpersteine für Lotte und Taube Ibermann © Koordinierungsstelle Stolpersteine Berlin
VERLEGEORT
Fehrbelliner Straße 86

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Pankow – Prenzlauer Berg
VERLEGEDATUM
01.07.2010

GEBOREN
09.02.1922 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
am 29.10.1941 nach Łódź / Litzmannstadt
ERMORDET
in Łódź / Litzmannstadt

Lotte Ibermann kam am 9. Februar 1922 (1921?) als älteste Tochter des Kaufmannes Leo Ibermann und seiner Ehefrau Toni Taube Ibermann geb. Rösler in Berlin zur Welt. Von ihrem kurzen Leben wissen wir nur sehr wenig. Sicherlich hat sie nach dem frühen Tod ihres Vaters im Jahre 1925 auch Verantwortung für ihre beiden jüngeren Schwestern Sonja und Ursula übernehmen müssen, um ihre voll berufstätige Mutter, die als Handelsfrau und Schneiderin arbeitete, etwas zu entlasten.

Sie wuchs mit Mutter und Schwestern auf in der Sebastianstr. 17 in Berlin-Kreuzberg, später dann in der Belforter Str. 30 am Prenzlauer Berg. Bis 1933 besuchte sie eine Schule in der Stallschreiberstr. in Berlin-Kreuzberg, danach eine Schule in der Schönhauser Allee am Prenzlauer Berg. Ob sie, als ihr unter den sich verschärfenden Lebensbedingungen für Juden in der NS-Zeit nach dem 15. November 1938 (Runderlass des Reichsministeriums für Wissenschaft, Erziehung und Volksbildung) der Besuch einer deutschen Schule untersagt wurde, noch eine andere jüdische Einrichtung besuchte, dort vielleicht eine berufliche Ausbildung begann oder gleich zwangsweise in ein Arbeitsverhältnis vermittelt wurde, ist nicht bekannt.

Ihre beiden Schwestern Sonja und Ursula konnten 1939 mit Kindertransporten nach Großbritannien entkommen, Lotte blieb bei ihrer Mutter. Sie zieht mit dieser zwischen August 1939 und 1941 in eine Wohnung am Prenzlauer Berg in der Fehrbelliner Str. 86 und dann 1941 in ein sogenanntes Judenhaus in der Lothringer Str. 34–35 (heute Torstr. mit veränderter Nummerierung ). Das war ihre letzte Berliner Adresse, von der aus sie mit ihrer Mutter am 27. Oktober 1941 in ein Konzentrationslager nach Łódź / Polen deportiert wurde.

Lotte Ibermann kehrte nicht mehr zurück.

Die Erinnerung an sie bleibt aber in der Familie lebendig. Charlott, das erste Urenkelkind ihrer in Großbritannien und später in Australien überlebenden Schwester Sonja wurde am 17. April 2012 geboren und hat die gleichen, dunklen, wundervoll sprechenden Augen wie Lotte.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Melitta Rheinheimer