Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Jenny Stein (born Arnhelm)

Jenny Stein © OTFW
LOCATION
Hornstr. 23

DISTRICT
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg

BORN
10/21/1888 in Bad Polzin (Pommern) / Połczyn-Zdrój
DEPORTATION
on the 1st of March 1943 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Jenny Stein, née Arnhelm, was born on 21 October 1888 in Bad Polzin, Pomerania. Today the town is called Połczyn-Zdrój and is in Poland. She had two younger sisters, Charlotte (born on 21 December 1892) and Gertrud (born on 1 August 1898), and a brother named Max.
At some point in her life – we do not know when – Jenny Stein moved with her two sisters to Berlin. Charlotte and Gertrud Arnhelm remained single but Jenny married. She and her husband had two children, Hildegard and Edgar Stein. Before the Nazi era, the Stein family was relatively wealthy.
Jenny Stein last lived with her sisters, Charlotte and Gertrud Arnhelm, in a cramped 1-room apartment at Hornstraße 23 in Kreuzberg. It was a so-called “Jews’ apartment”. By this time, Jenny Stein’s husband had died and her two children had managed to emigrate to Palestine.
Like her two sisters, Jenny Stein was made to perform forced labour. In late February 1943, aged 54, she was arrested during the Nazis’ “factory campaign”, probably at her workplace. On 1 March 1943, the 31st “transport to the East” left Berlin for Auschwitz; Jenny Stein and her sisters Charlotte and Gertrud Arnhelm were among the 1736 deportees. There is no further trace of Jenny Stein after her arrival in the extermination camp.


Biographical Compilation

Lorraine Bluche

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Jenny Stein (geb. Arnheim)

Jenny Stein © OTFW
VERLEGEORT
Hornstr. 23

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg

GEBOREN
21.10.1888 in Bad Polzin (Pommern) / Połczyn-Zdrój
DEPORTATION
am 01.03.1943 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Jenny Stein, geb. Arnhelm, wurde am 21. Oktober 1888 in Bad Polzin in Pommern geboren. Heute heißt der Ort Połczyn-Zdrój und liegt in Polen. Sie hatte zwei jüngere Schwestern, Charlotte (geb. am 21. Dezember 1892) und Gertrud (geb. am 1. August 1898), sowie einen Bruder namens Max.

Jenny Stein und ihre beiden Schwestern zog es zu einem unbekannten Zeitpunkt nach Berlin. Anders als Charlotte und Gertrud Arnhelm, die ledig blieben, heiratete Jenny Stein. Aus der Ehe gingen zwei Kinder hervor: Hildegard und Edgar Stein. Die Familie Stein war vor der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus’ relativ wohlhabend.

Zuletzt lebte Jenny Stein zusammen mit ihren Schwestern, Charlotte und Gertrud Arnhelm, auf engem Raum in einer 1-Zimmer-Wohnung in der Hornstraße 23 im Bezirk Kreuzberg. Es handelte sich um eine sogenannte „Judenwohnung“. Jenny Steins Ehemann war zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits verstorben, und ihren beiden Kindern war die Emigration nach Palästina geglückt.

Wie ihre beiden Schwestern auch, musste Jenny Stein Zwangsarbeit leisten. Im Zuge der „Fabrikaktion“ wurde die 54jährige Ende Februar 1943 vermutlich direkt an ihrem Arbeitsplatz verhaftet. Am 1. März 1943 verließ der 31. „Osttransport“ Berlin Richtung Auschwitz; Jenny Stein sowie ihre Schwester Charlotte und Gertrud Arnhelm waren unter den 1736 Insassen des Transports. Ihre Spur verliert sich im Vernichtungslager.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Lorraine Bluche