Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Lotte Rotholz (born Jastrow)

Fotografie von Lotte Rotholz © Yad Vashem.
Fotografie von Lotte Rotholz © GDW.
Stolperstein für Lotte Rotholz © Koordinierungsstelle Stolpersteine Berlin
LOCATION
Axel-Springer-Str. 50

DISTRICT
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg

BORN
09/25/1923 in Bentheim
OCCUPATION
Schneiderin
INHAFTIERT
from the 15th of July 1942 up to December 1942 in Frauengefängnis Barnimstraße (Berlin-Friedrichshain)
INHAFTIERT
from the 10th of December 1942 up to October 1943 in Frauenzuchthaus Cottbus
DEPORTATION
on the 14th of October 1943 to Auschwitz (über Berlin, Sammellager Große Hamburger Straße)
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Lotte Rotholz, née Jastrow, was born on 25 September 1923 to Willy and Cäcilie Jastrow, née Brczezinski, in Bentheim, Lower Saxony. In 1925 the Jastrows moved to Forst in Lusatia where Lotte’s father worked as a preacher and religious instructor for the local Jewish community. In 1933 the family settled in Berlin. Here Willy Jastrow worked in the synagogue at Linden Strasse 48-50, Kreuzberg. He lived with his wife and daughter in an apartment in the front building of the grounds.

Lotte Jastrow attended the Berlin Jewish Community’s IVth Jewish Elementary School until 1938. After completing her compulsory year of service in a household, introduced in 1938 for all females under 25, she began a two-year apprenticeship as a tailor. Subsequently she was assigned a post at Spindler, a large laundry, where she worked in dispatch and delivery.

Lotte Jastrow was active in the Jewish youth movement. She was a member of the “Ring – German-Jewish Youth League” (renamed “Ring – Jewish Youth League” in 1936) until it was banned in 1937. She also joined the Zionist “Werkleute” group, who prepared their members for emigration to Palestine.

In October 1940 Lotte Jastrow met native Berliner Siegbert Rotholz. He too had a Jewish background. They married on 10 December 1941. After their marriage they shared the apartment at Linden Strasse 48-50 with Lotte’s mother, Cäcilie Jastrow. Lotte’s father Willy had passed away in June 1941; her brother Manfred had left Germany in 1936.

By spring 1941 Lotte and Siegbert Rotholz had become involved in the discussion and training group around Heinz Joachim and his wife Marianne, which was connected to the Herbert Baum Communist resistance group. An arson attack on the Nazi propaganda exhibition “The Soviet Paradise” by members of this resistance group on 17 May 1942 led to the group’s exposure. Lotte Rotholz and her husband Siegbert were among those subsequently arrested.

On 10 December 1942 the “People’s Court” sentenced Lotte Rotholz to eight years’ imprisonment. Initially detained in the women’s prison in Barnim Strasse, Berlin, she was transferred to Cottbus prison to serve her sentence. But she was soon brought back to Berlin – on 12 October 1943 she was taken to the assembly camp at Grosse Hamburger Strasse. Together with two other members of the resistance group around Herbert Baum, Alice Hirsch and Edith Fraenkel, Lotte Rotholz was deported to Auschwitz on 14 October 1943 on the “44th transport to the East”. Her date of death is not known. Lotte Rotholz’s husband Siegbert was executed on 4 March 1943 in Ploetzensee prison, Berlin. Lotte’s mother Cäcilie Jastrow was deported to Auschwitz a few months before her. She did not survive the camp either.


Biographical Compilation

Lorraine Bluche

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Lotte Rotholz (geb. Jastrow)

Fotografie von Lotte Rotholz © Yad Vashem.
Fotografie von Lotte Rotholz © GDW.
Stolperstein für Lotte Rotholz © Koordinierungsstelle Stolpersteine Berlin
VERLEGEORT
Axel-Springer-Str. 50

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg

GEBOREN
25.09.1923 in Bentheim
BERUF
Schneiderin
INHAFTIERT
ab 15.07.1942 bis Dezember 1942 im Frauengefängnis Barnimstraße (Berlin-Friedrichshain)
INHAFTIERT
ab 10.12.1942 bis Oktober 1943 im Frauenzuchthaus Cottbus
DEPORTATION
am 14.10.1943 nach Auschwitz (über Berlin, Sammellager Große Hamburger Straße)
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Lotte Rotholz, geb. Jastrow, wurde am 25. September 1923 als Tochter von Willy und Cäcilie Jastrow, geb. Brczezinski, im niedersächsischen Bentheim geboren. 1925 zogen die Jastrows zunächst nach Forst in der Lausitz, wo Lottes Vater als Prediger und Religionslehrer für die dortige Jüdische Gemeinde tätig war. 1933 siedelte die Familie schließlich nach Berlin über. Hier arbeitete Willy Jastrow in der Synagoge in der Kreuzberger Lindenstraße 48-50. Gemeinsam mit Frau und Tochter bewohnte er eine Wohnung im Vorderhaus des Gebäudekomplexes.

Lotte Jastrow besuchte bis 1938 die IV. Jüdische Volksschule der Jüdischen Gemeinde zu Berlin. Nach ihrem „Pflichtjahr“ in einem Haushalt, das seit 1938 alle Mädchen und Frauen unter 25 Jahren absolvieren mussten, machte sie eine zweijährige Schneiderlehre. Im Anschluss wurde sie als Arbeiterin für die Großwäscherei Spindler dienstverpflichtet. Hier war sie in der Expedition und in der Wäscheannahme tätig.

Lotte Jastrow war in der jüdischen Jugendbewegung aktiv. Bis zu dessen Verbot im Jahr 1937 war sie Mitglied des „Ring – Bund deutsch-jüdischer Jugend“ (ab 1936: „Ring – Bund jüdischer Jugend“). Darüber hinaus gehörte sie den zionistischen „Werkleuten“ an, die ihre Mitglieder auf die Auswanderung nach Palästina vorbereiteten.

Im Oktober 1940 lernte Lotte Jastrow den gebürtigen Berliner Siegbert Rotholz kennen. Auch er war jüdischer Herkunft. Am 10. Dezember 1941 heirateten sie. Das Ehepaar teilte sich mit Lottes Mutter, Cäcilie Jastrow, die Wohnung in der Lindenstraße 48-50. Lottes Vater Willy war im Juni 1941 verstorben; ihr Bruder Manfred hatte 1936 Deutschland verlassen.

Wohl ab dem Frühjahr 1941 schlossen sich Lotte und Siegbert Rotholz dem Diskussions- und Schulungskreis um Heinz Joachim und seine Frau Marianne an, der zum weiteren Umfeld der kommunistischen Widerstandsgruppe Herbert Baum gehörte. Nachdem Mitglieder der Widerstandsgruppe am 17. Mai 1942 einen Brandanschlag auf die nationalsozialistische Propagandaausstellung „Das Sowjet-Paradies“ verübt hatten, wurde die Gruppe enttarnt. Auch Lotte Rotholz und ihr Mann Siegbert wurden verhaftet.

 

Am 10. Dezember 1942 verurteilte der „Volksgerichtshof“ Lotte Rotholz zu acht Jahren Zuchthaus. War sie zunächst im Frauengefängnis in der Berliner Barnimstraße inhaftiert worden, wurde sie zur Strafverbüßung in das Zuchthaus Cottbus gebracht. Doch bereits am 12. Oktober 1943 wurde sie zurück nach Berlin – in das Sammellager in der Großen Hamburger Straße – überführt. Gemeinsam mit einem weiteren Mitglied der Widerstandsgruppe um Herbert Baum, Alice Hirsch, wurde Lotte Rotholz am 14. Oktober 1943 mit dem 44. „Osttransport“ nach Auschwitz deportiert. Ihr Todesdatum ist unbekannt. Lotte Rotholz’ Ehemann Siegbert wurde am 4. März 1943 im Strafgefängnis Berlin-Plötzensee hingerichtet. Lottes Mutter Cäcilie Jastrow war wenige Monate vor ihr nach Auschwitz deportiert worden. Auch sie überlebte das Vernichtungslager nicht.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Lorraine Bluche