Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Günter Edelstein

Stolperstein für Günter Edelstein. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Oranienstr. 198

DISTRICT
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg

BORN
06/03/1926 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
on the 2nd of March 1943 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Günther Edelstein was born on 3 June 1926, the third child of Abraham and Bertha Edelstein, in Berlin. His parents, both devout Jews, had emigrated a few years earlier from Poland to the German Reich. When Günther was eight years old, his mother Bertha gave birth to a fourth child, Erna, on 7 March 1935. At that time, the Nazis had already been in power for two years. Günther’s elder siblings Rosa and Benno, born 1919 and 1921 respectively, managed to emigrate and so survived the holocaust.

In 1938 the four members of the Edelstein family remaining in Berlin moved into a 1½ room apartment on the 3rd floor of the courtyard building at Oranien Strasse 198 in Kreuzberg. It is not known when Günther Edelstein was first made to perform forced labour. At the time of his deportation he was only sixteen and worked as a forced labourer for the Reich German association for the blind. He and his father Abraham, who also performed forced labour, supported the family.

Günther Edelstein was probably arrested at his place of work in late February 1943 during the Nazis’ “factory campaign”. On 2 March 1943 he was deported to Auschwitz on the 32nd “transport to the East”. His mother Bertha, his father Abraham and his little sister Erna were sent there a day later. It is not known whether Günther saw them again after his arrest, in the assembly camp in Berlin or in the extermination camp. None of the deported members of the Edelstein family survived the camp. Günther Edelstein’s exact date of death is not known.


Biographical Compilation

Text basiert auf den Recherchen im Rahmen der Ausstellung „Juden in Kreuzberg“ (1991) am Kreuzberg Museum; Autorin: Lorraine Bluche

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Günter Edelstein

Stolperstein für Günter Edelstein. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Oranienstr. 198

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg

GEBOREN
03.06.1926 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
am 02.03.1943 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Günther Edelstein wurde am 3. Juni 1926 als drittes Kind von Abraham und Bertha Edelstein in Berlin geboren. Seine Eltern – beide gläubige Juden – waren wenige Jahre zuvor aus Polen ins Deutsche Reich eingewandert. Als Günther acht Jahre alt, brachte seine Mutter Bertha ein viertes Kind zur Welt: die am 7. März 1935 geborene Erna. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt waren die Nationalsozialisten bereits seit zwei Jahren an der Macht. Günthers ältere Geschwister Rosa und Benno, 1919 und 1921 geboren, gelang in dieser Zeit die Emigration. So überlebten sie den Holocaust.

1938 bezog die nunmehr nur noch vierköpfige Familie Edelstein eine 1 ½ Zimmer-Wohnung in der Kreuzberger Oranienstraße 198 im 3. Stock des Hinterhauses. Ab wann Günther Edelstein Zwangsarbeit leisten musste, ist nicht bekannt. Zum Zeitpunkt seiner Deportation war der erst 16-Jährige beim Reichsdeutschen Blindenverband tätig. Gemeinsam mit seinem Vater Abraham, der auch Zwangsarbeit leistete, bestritt er den Unterhalt der Familie.

Günther Edelstein wurde Ende Februar 1943 im Zuge der „Fabrikation“ vermutlich direkt an seinem Arbeitsplatz verhaftet. Am 2. März 1943 wurde er mit dem 32. „Osttransport“ nach Auschwitz deportiert. Seine Mutter Bertha, sein Vater Abraham und seine kleine Schwester Erna wurden einen Tag später dorthin verschleppt. Ob Günther die drei nach seiner Verhaftung wiedersah – im Sammellager in Berlin oder aber im Vernichtungslager –, lässt sich nicht beantworten. Keines der deportierten Mitglieder der Familie Edelstein überlebte das Vernichtungslager. Das genaue Todesdatum Günther Edelsteins ist unbekannt.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Text basiert auf den Recherchen im Rahmen der Ausstellung „Juden in Kreuzberg“ (1991) am Kreuzberg Museum; Autorin: Lorraine Bluche