Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Hanne Schnurmacher (born Davidsohn)

LOCATION
Oranienstraße 207

DISTRICT
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg

BORN
06/10/1869 in Konitz (Westpreußen) / Chojnice
DEPORTATION
on the 31st of August 1942
DEAD
11/01/1942 in Theresienstadt

Hanne Schnurmacher, née Davidsohn, was born on 10 June 1869 in the West Prussian town of Konitz (now Chojnice, Poland). She was known as Channe, the “graceful one”. She was married to Wilhelm Schnurmacher, a textiles trader from Galicia. He had come to Berlin in 1893 and opened a clothes shop in basement premises at Skalitzer Strasse 113, where he also lived. It is not known if Hanne and he were already married at this point. The Schnurmachers had three children: Klara Charlotte, Max and Erna. Shortly after the turn of the century, the family moved to an apartment at Skalitzer Strasse 30/31. Around 1907, Hanne Schnurmacher’s husband Wilhelm opened a second shop at Skalitzer Strasse 108 (now Oranien Strasse 207). A short time later, he closed the basement shop at number 113.
Following the death of Hanne Schnurmacher’s husband in 1933, she moved from Skalitzer Strasse 30/31 to an apartment at number 108 in the same street and took over the business there. She lived with her daughter Klara Charlotte Birnbaum, née Schnurmacher, and her granddaughter Doris, born in 1926. Hanne Schnurmacher’s other daughter, Erna Katz, née Schnurmacher, managed to emigrate. The fate of her son Max is not known.
On 31 August 1942 Hanne Schnurmacher was deported to Theresienstadt, aged 73, on the “53rd transport of the elderly”. She died there on 1 November 1942, probably as a consequence of the atrocious conditions in the camp. Her daughter Klara Charlotte Birnbaum and granddaughter Doris were deported to Auschwitz a short time later and murdered.


Biographical Compilation

Lorraine Bluche (Autorin)

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Hanne Schnurmacher (geb. Davidsohn)

VERLEGEORT
Oranienstraße 207

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg

GEBOREN
10.06.1869 in Konitz (Westpreußen) / Chojnice
DEPORTATION
am 31.08.1942
TOT
01.11.1942 in Theresienstadt

Hanne Schnurmacher, geb. Davidsohn, wurde am 10. Juni 1869 im westpreußischen Konitz (heute: Chojnice/Polen) geboren. Ihr Rufname war Channe, die „Anmutige“. Sie war mit dem aus Galizien stammenden Kleiderhändler Wilhelm Schnurmacher verheiratet. Dieser kam 1893 nach Berlin und eröffnete eine Kleiderhandlung in einem Kellergeschäft in der Skalitzer Str. 113, wo sich auch seine Wohnräume befanden. Ob Hanne Schnurmacher und er zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits verheiratet waren, ist nicht bekannt. Das Ehepaar hatte drei gemeinsame Kinder: Klara Charlotte, Max und Erna. Kurz nach der Jahrhundertwende zog die Familie in eine Wohnung in der Skalitzer Str. 30/31 um. Um 1907 eröffnete Hanne Schurmachers Mann Wilhelm ein zweites Ladengeschäft in der Skalitzer Str. 108 (heute: Oranienstr. 207). Wenig später schloss er das Kellergeschäft in der Nummer 113.
Nachdem Hanne Schnurmachers Mann 1933 verstorben war, gab sie die Wohnung in der Skalitzer Str. 30/31 auf und zog in die Nummer 108. Außerdem übernahm sie die Leitung des dort befindlichen Geschäfts. Die Wohnung teilte sie sich mit ihrer Tochter Klara Charlotte Birnbaum, geb. Schnurmacher, und ihrer 1926 geborenen Enkeltochter Doris. Hanne Schnurmachers anderer Tochter, Erna Katz, geb. Schnurmacher, gelang die Emigration. Das weitere Schicksal von Sohn Max ist unbekannt.
Am 31. August 1942 wurde die 73-jährige Hanne Schnurmacher mit dem 53. Alterstransport nach Theresienstadt deportiert. Dort starb sie am 1. November 1942, vermutlich infolge der unmenschlichen Lebensbedingungen im Lager. Hanne Schnurmachers Tochter Klara Charlotte Birnbaum und die Enkeltochter Doris wurden wenig später nach Auschwitz deportiert und dort ermordet.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Lorraine Bluche (Autorin)