Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Frieda Treu (born Löwenthal)

Stolperstein für Frieda Treu. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Friedenstr.

DISTRICT
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Friedrichshain
STONE WAS LAID
03/20/2007

BORN
09/14/1884 in Stettin / Szczecin
DEPORTATION
on the 29th of June 1943 to Theresienstadt
DEAD
11/30/1943 in Theresienstadt

Frieda Treu, née Löwenthal, was born on 14 September 1884 in Stettin in the Prussian province of Pomerania (now Szczecin, Poland). At an unknown point in her life, she moved to Berlin, where she met her husband, Max Treu. He also came from Pomerania. Fourteen years her senior, he had two sons from his first marriage: Paul Max Willi Treu (born on 4 June 1895) and Martin Fritz Karl Treu (born on 13 September 1897). Max and Frieda Treu did not have any children.
While Frieda Treu was Jewish, her husband Max was a Protestant, but he had one Jewish parent. The Nazi regime therefore classified Max Treu as a “Jew by legal validity”, making Frieda Treu and her husband equally vulnerable to the anti-Jewish measures implemented by the “Third Reich”.
At the time of her deportation, Frieda Treu lived with her husband in the home of her elder stepson, Paul Max Willi Treu. He was the main tenant of a 3½-room apartment at Friedenstraße 27 in Friedrichshain, Berlin. He and his brother Martin Fritz Karl Treu, who lived in Koblenz, supported his father and stepmother financially.
On 29 June 1943, Frieda Treu was deported with her husband Max on the 92nd “transport of the elderly” to Theresienstadt. Before being deported, Max Treu had informed the authorities that his elder son was a Protestant and holder of a military passport, and had just recently returned home from the front due to illness. But it was to no avail. Frieda Treu died on 30 November 1943. A short time later – on 20 January 1944 – her husband Max also succumbed to the inhumane conditions in the camp. It is not known what happened to Frieda Treu’s stepsons.


Biographical Compilation

Lorraine Bluche

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Frieda Treu (geb. Löwenthal)

Stolperstein für Frieda Treu. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Friedenstr.

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Friedrichshain
VERLEGEDATUM
20.03.2007

GEBOREN
14.09.1884 in Stettin / Szczecin
DEPORTATION
am 29.06.1943 nach Theresienstadt
TOT
30.11.1943 in Theresienstadt

Frieda Treu, geb. Löwenthal, kam am 14. September 1884 in Stettin in der preußischen Provinz Pommern (heute: Szczecin / Polen) zur Welt. Zu einem unbekannten Zeitpunkt zog sie nach Berlin. Dort lernte sie ihren 14 Jahre älteren Ehemann Max Treu kennen, der ursprünglich ebenfalls aus Pommern stammte. Dieser hatte zwei Söhne aus erster Ehe: Paul Max Willi Treu (geb. am 4. Juni 1895) und Martin Fritz Karl Treu (geb. am 13. September 1897). Frieda Treus Ehe blieb hingegen kinderlos.

Während Frieda Treu Jüdin war, gehörte ihr Ehemann Max Treu der evangelischen Konfession an. Allerdings hatte er ein jüdisches Elternteil. Dies und die Tatsache, dass er mit einer Jüdin verheiratet war, führte dazu, dass Max Treu während der Zeit des Nationalsozialismus’ als „Geltungsjude“ kategorisiert wurde. So waren Frieda Treu und ihr Mann gleichermaßen schutzlos der antijüdischen Verfolgungspolitik des Dritten Reiches ausgesetzt.

Zum Zeitpunkt ihrer Deportation lebte Frieda Treu gemeinsam mit ihrem Ehemann bei ihrem älteren Stiefsohn, Paul Max Willi Treu. Dieser war Hauptmieter einer 3 ½-Zimmer-Wohnung in der Friedenstraße 27 im Bezirk Friedrichshain. Gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder Martin Fritz Karl Treu, der in Koblenz wohnhaft war, sorgte er zudem finanziell für seinen Vater und seine Stiefmutter.

Am 29. Juni 1943 wurde Frieda Treu gemeinsam mit ihrem Ehemann Max mit dem 92. „Alterstransport“ nach Theresienstadt deportiert. Max Treu hatte vor der Deportation vermerkt, dass sein älterer Sohn evangelischer Konfession, in Besitz eines Militärpasses und erst kürzlich wegen einer Krankheit von der Front zurückgekehrt sei. Doch konnte auch dies das Ehepaar Treu nicht retten. Frieda Treu starb am 30. November 1943. Kurze Zeit später – am 20. Januar 1944 – erlag auch ihr Mann Max Treu den unmenschlichen Lebensbedingungen im Lager. Das weitere Schicksal von Frieda Treus Stiefsöhnen ist nicht bekannt.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Lorraine Bluche