Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Max Treu

Stolperstein für Max Treu. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Friedenstr.

DISTRICT
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Friedrichshain
STONE WAS LAID
03/20/2007

BORN
10/30/1870 in Stolp (Pommern) / Słupsk
DEPORTATION
on the 29th of June 1943 to Theresienstadt
DEAD
01/20/1944 in Theresienstadt

Max Treu was born on 30 October 1870 in Stolp. At that time, Stolp was in the Prussian province of Pomerania. Today it is called Słupsk and is in Poland. At an unknown point in his life, Max Treu moved to Berlin. He married twice and had two sons from his first marriage: Paul Max Willi Treu (born on 4 June 1895) and Martin Fritz Karl Treu (born on 13 September 1897). Max Treu’s second wife Frieda Treu, née Löwenthal, was also a native of Pomerania.
Max Treu was a Protestant but one of his parents was Jewish. His wife Frieda was also Jewish. The Nazi regime therefore categorized him as a “Jew by legal validity” and he was fully targeted by Nazi persecution.
At the time of their deportation, Max Treu and his wife Frieda lived at Friedenstraße 27 in Friedrichshain, Berlin, and were supported financially by Max Treu’s two sons. His elder son, Paul Max Willi Treu, was the main tenant of the 3½-room ground-floor apartment where they lived. His brother Martin Fritz Karl Treu lived in Koblenz.
Before his deportation, Max Treu informed the authorities that his son was a Protestant and holder of a military passport, and had just recently returned from the front due to illness. But the fact that Paul Max Willi Treu would have been categorized a “second-degree crossbreed Jew” and was a front-line soldier did not save Max Treu and his wife from deportation.
Max Treu was deported with his wife Frieda on 29 June 1943 on the 92nd “transport of the elderly” to Theresienstadt. He died there on 20 January 1944, aged 73. He probably succumbed to the dire conditions in the camp. Frieda Treu died before him, on 30 November 1943. She was 59 years old. It is not known what happened to Max Treu’s two sons.


Biographical Compilation

Lorraine Bluche

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Max Treu

Stolperstein für Max Treu. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Friedenstr.

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Friedrichshain
VERLEGEDATUM
20.03.2007

GEBOREN
30.10.1870 in Stolp (Pommern) / Słupsk
DEPORTATION
am 29.06.1943 nach Theresienstadt
TOT
20.01.1944 in Theresienstadt

Max Treu wurde am 30. Oktober 1870 in Stolp geboren. Damals lag Stolp in der preußischen Provinz Pommern; heute heißt die Ortschaft Słupsk und liegt in Polen. Wann Max Treu nach Berlin zog, ist nicht bekannt. Er war zweimal verheiratet und hatte zwei Söhne aus erster Ehe: Paul Max Willi Treu (geb. am 4. Juni 1895) und Martin Fritz Karl Treu (geb. am 13. September 1897). Max Treus zweite Ehefrau Frieda Treu, geb. Löwenthal, war ebenfalls aus Pommern gebürtig.

Max Treu gehörte der evangelischen Konfession an, hatte aber ein Elternteil, das jüdischer Herkunft war. Zugleich war seine Ehefrau Frieda Treu Jüdin. Deswegen fiel er während der Zeit des Dritten Reiches in die Kategorie „Geltungsjude“ und war der nationalsozialistischen Verfolgungspolitik schutzlos ausgeliefert.

Zum Zeitpunkt ihrer Deportation lebte das Ehepaar Treu in der Friedenstraße 27 im Bezirk Friedrichshain und war auf die finanzielle Unterstützung der beiden Söhne von Max Treu angewiesen. Hauptmieter der im Parterre gelegenen 3 ½-Zimmer-Wohnung war Max Treus älterer Sohn, Paul Max Willi Treu. Sein Bruder Martin Fritz Karl Treu lebte seinerseits in Koblenz.

Max Treu gab vor seiner Deportation an, sein Sohn sei evangelischer Konfession, besäße einen Militärpass und sei erst kürzlich wegen einer Krankheit von der Front zurückgekehrt. Doch schützte auch die Tatsache, dass Paul Max Willi Treu vermutlich als „Mischling zweiten Grades“ galt und Frontkämpfer war, Max Treu und seine Frau nicht vor der Deportation.

Max Treu wurde gemeinsam mit seiner Ehefrau Frieda am 29. Juni 1943 mit dem 92. „Alterstransport“ nach Theresienstadt deportiert. Dort starb er am 20. Januar 1944. Vermutlich erlag der 73jährige den katastrophalen Lebensbedingungen im Lager. Frieda Treu war bereits am 30. November 1943 verstorben. Sie wurde 59 Jahre alt. Das weitere Schicksal der beiden Söhne von Max Treu ist nicht bekannt.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Lorraine Bluche