Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Georg Rothschild

Stolperstein für Georg Rothschild. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Yorckstr. 89

DISTRICT
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg
STONE WAS LAID
03/27/2008

BORN
10/04/1877 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
to Sachsenhausen
MURDERED
06/25/1942 in Sachsenhausen

Four members of the Rothschild family lived in the house at Yorck Strasse 88 until their deportation in the years 1942/43: Else Ruhemann, who was born Else Rothschild, and her son Kurt, along with her brother Georg and his daughter Charlotte.
The family tree of Mayer Amschel Rothschild, founder of the bank of the same name, does not shed any light on how these four former residents of the house at Yorck Strasse were connected to their more famous relation. Up to their generation, the Rothschild family had extended branches in several countries, including Germany. In the list of Shoah victims, there are 559 people named Rothschild.
Moritz Rothschild, the father of Else Ruhemann and Georg Rothschild, came from Radegast. For much of their lives, Else Ruhemann and her brother Georg Rothschild lived together in the same building or even apartment. The home they shared the longest was at Kleinbeeren Strasse 4, north of the Landwehr Canal, roughly where there is now a multi-storey carpark behind a high-rise post office building. The family moved here in 1888, one year after the building’s construction.
Moritz Rothschild, Georg’s father, ran a “banking and commissions business” at nearby Wilhelm Strasse 144 (where the Willi Brandt house stands today). Subsequently, the family lived for ten years in Königgrätzer Strasse (now Stresemann Strasse 66), where Else and Georg were born.
Georg Rothschild was born on 4 October 1877. After completing an apprenticeship as a textiles wholesaler, he found employment with the company Peeck & Cloppenburg in Roß Strasse. On 20 August 1911, his daughter Charlotte was born. His wife Recha, née Hess, died just a short time later, in January 1913. The declaration of assets submitted by Kurt Ruhemann, Georg Rothschild’s nephew, contains information concerning a relation named Alice Rothschild who emigrated to Holland. So far it has not been possible to clarify the nature of her relationship to the other four, or establish what happened to her later.
In 1931, the family apparently suffered a major setback. Perhaps because of the Great Depression, Georg Rothschild was forced to give up his job and henceforth worked for the Reichsbahn railways. In addition, ownership of the house where the family lived was passed to a trust company and the entire family moved in to the neighbouring house at number 5.
They only stayed here for two years. In 1932, they moved to the house at Yorck Strasse 88. As the two children are not listed in any of the Berlin directories under their own addresses, it seems likely that the family all lived together from this point onwards. Else and Kurt Ruhemann lived on the first floor, staircase 5, in one room with a kitchen. They probably shared an apartment with Georg and Charlotte Rothschild, who occupied two rooms.
Georg Rothschild was the first of the four to be hit by Nazi terror. He apparently fell victim to a retaliatory action on 27 and 28 May 1942, in which 154 Jewish residents of Berlin were deported to Sachsenhausen concentration camp and shot, together with 96 Jewish prisoners of the camp. Various sources cite two possible reasons for this action. One is an attack by the Herbert Baum resistance group on the Nazi propaganda exhibition “The Soviet Paradise” (Das Sowjetparadies) in Berlin’s Lustgarten; the other, more likely, cause is the assassination attempt on Reinhard Heydrich, which had occurred a short time previously.
25 June 1942 is entered as Georg Rothschild’s date of death in the “secondary death book” of Sachsenhausen concentration camp.
Georg’s daughter Charlotte was deported on 3 March 1943 on the “33rd transport to the East” – the fifth major transport after the launch of the “factory campaign” affecting a total of 1726 people – to Auschwitz. All trace of her is lost after her arrival on 4 March; she was probably immediately murdered. Following the “selection” procedure in Birkenau, 517 men and 200 women were sent to the camp as prisoners. All the other new arrivals – 1009 people – were taken straight to the gas chambers and killed.


Biographical Compilation

Burkhard Hawemann; bearbeitet/ergänzt: Wilfried Burkard - Koordinierungsstelle Stolpersteine Berlin

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Georg Rothschild

Stolperstein für Georg Rothschild. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Yorckstr. 89

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg
VERLEGEDATUM
27.03.2008

GEBOREN
04.10.1877 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
nach Sachsenhausen
ERMORDET
25.06.1942 in Sachsenhausen

Im Haus Yorckstr. 88 lebten bis zu ihrer Deportation in den Jahren 1942/43 vier Angehörige der Familie Rothschild: Else Ruhemann, geborene Rothschild, und ihr Sohn Kurt sowie ihr Bruder Georg mit seiner Tochter Charlotte.

In welcher Linie diese vier ehemaligen Bewohner des Hauses von Mayer Amschel Rothschild, dem Begründer des gleichnamigen Bankhauses abstammten, lässt sich aus dessen Familienstammbaum nicht ableiten. Bis zu ihrer Lebenszeit hatte sich die Familie Rothschild auch in Deutschland weit verzweigt. Allein in der Liste aller Opfer der Shoa sind 559 Personen mit dem Nachnamen Rothschild aufgeführt.

Moritz Rothschild, der Vater von Else Ruhemann und Georg Rothschild, stammte aus Radegast. Die Geschwister Else Ruhemann und Georg Rothschild lebten einen großen Teil ihres Lebens gemeinsam in einem Haus oder gar einer Wohnung – die längste Zeit davon in der Kleinbeerenstr. 4 nördlich des Landwehrkanals, etwa an der Stelle, wo sich heute das Parkhaus hinter dem Hochhaus der Post befindet. In dieses Haus zog die Familie im Jahr 1888, ein Jahr nach dem Bau des Hauses.

Moritz Rothschild, Georgs Vater, führte ganz in der Nähe in der Wilhelmstr. 144 (heute etwa Willi-Brandt-Haus) ein „Bank- und Commissionsgeschäft“. Danach wohnte die Familie zehn Jahre in der Königgrätzer (heute Stresemannstr. 66), wo Else und Georg geboren wurden.

Georg Rothschild kam am 4. Okt ober 1877 zur Welt. Nach seiner Ausbildung zum Kaufmann im Textilgroßhandel war er bei der Firma Peeck & Cloppenburg in der Roßstraße tätig. Am 20. August 1911 wurde Tochter Charlotte geboren. Seine Frau Recha, geb. Hess, starb bereits im Januar 1913. In der Vermögenserklärung Kurt Ruhemanns – dem Schwager Georg Rothschilds – wird 1942 angegeben, dass eine Familienangehörige namens Alice Rothschild nach Holland ausgewandert sei. Deren verwandtschaftliche Verhältnis zu den vier anderen und somit auch ihr weiteres Schicksal ließen sich aber bisher nicht eindeutig klären.

1931 kam es offensichtlich zu einer Zäsur im Leben der Familie. Möglicherweise in Folge der Wirtschaftskrise musste Georg Rothschild seine Tätigkeit aufgeben und arbeitete fortan als Reichsbahnangestellter. Auch das Wohnhaus ging vom bisherigen Eigentümer in den Besitz einer Treuhandgesellschaft über; die ganze Familie zog in das Nachbarhaus Nr. 5.

Dort blieb sie jedoch nur zwei Jahre und zog 1932 wieder um, diesmal in die Yorckstr. 88. Da für Kurt Ruhemann und Charlotte Rothschild nie eigene Anschriften in den Adressbüchern auftauchen, ist anzunehmen, dass die Familie immer zusammen blieb. Fest steht, dass Else Ruhemann mit ihrem Sohn im Aufgang 5, I. Etage, ein Zimmer und Küche bewohnten. Wahrscheinlich teilten sie sich eine größere Wohnung mit Georg und Charlotte Rothschild, die zwei Zimmer bewohnten.

Georg Rothschild fiel als erster dem nationalsozialistischen Terror zum Opfer. Er wurde offensichtlich von einer Vergeltungsaktion erfasst, bei der am 27. und 28. Mai 1942 154 jüdische Bürger Berlins in das Konzentrationslager Sachsenhausen deportiert und dort mit 96 weiteren jüdischen Häftlingen erschossen wurden. Als Auslöser für diese Aktion werden in verschiedenen Quellen zwei Ursachen für möglich gehalten: Einerseits wird die Aktion mit dem Anschlag der Widerstandsgruppe Herbert Baum auf die NS-Propagandaausstellung „Das Sowjetparadies“ im Lustgarten in Verbindung gebracht. Wahrscheinlicher ist aber wohl, dass diese Aktion im Zusammenhang mit Vergeltungsmaßnahmen nach dem Attentat auf Reinhard Heydrich stand, das sich kurz zuvor ereignet hatte.

Im Sterbezweitbuch des Konzentrationslagers Sachsenhausen ist der 25. Juni 1942 als Todesdatum von Georg Rothschild eingetragen.

Seine Tochter Charlotte wurde am 3. März 1943 mit dem „33. Osttransport“ – dem fünften Großtransport nach Beginn der sog. „Fabrik-Aktion“, der insgesamt 1726 Personen umfasste – nach Auschwitz deportiert. Nach ihrer Ankunft am 4. März verliert sich ihre Spur, wahrscheinlich wurde sie sofort ermordet. Von den Insassen dieses Transports wurden nach der „Selektion“ in Birkenau 517 Männer sowie 200 Frauen als Häftlinge in das Lager eingewiesen. Alle anderen – 1.009 Menschen – wurden zu den Gaskammern gebracht und umgehend getötet.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Burkhard Hawemann; bearbeitet/ergänzt: Wilfried Burkard - Koordinierungsstelle Stolpersteine Berlin