Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Else Lehmann (born Joel)

Fotografie vin Richard und Elsbeth Lehmann, ca 1938. Fotorechte: Privatbesitz
Foto: Initiative Stolpersteine Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf
LOCATION
Falterweg 13

DISTRICT
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
STONE WAS LAID
09/08/2009

BORN
02/11/1872 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
on the 2nd of February 1943 to Theresienstadt
MURDERED
1944 in Auschwitz

Else (Elsbeth) Lehmann was born Else Joel on 11 February 1872. She married Richard Lehmann, a wool factory director and owner of the “Elysium” theatre-cinema. In 1935, after their villa in Niederschöneweide was expropriated, they moved into a house at Falterweg 13 in the Eichkamp estate. Both were native Berliners and unaffiliated with any religion, but “non-Aryan” in Nazi jargon. Their daughter Edith was able to flee to London. The Lehmanns had to leave their home, probably after it was sold in 1939, and lived for a time in Lankwitz before registering as resident in the Jewish hospital at Iranische Strasse 2 in Wedding. They had to give much of their property to the tax office as “atonement tax”.

Else and Richard Lehmann were both deported to Theresienstadt on the “85th transport of the elderly” on 2 February 1943. Richard Lehmann died four months later, aged 79, on 4 June 1943. Elsbeth Lehmann was deported from there to Auschwitz where she was murdered, aged 72.

The house at Falterweg 13 had belonged to a lawyer, Louis (Ludwig) Hayn and his wife Meta, before the Lehmanns moved in. In 1933, Louis and Meta Hayn, both in their early fifties, and their almost 10-year-old son, Rolf, left the country, embarking on an odyssey that took them via Paris and Barcelona to the United States. In 1939 the house and grounds were registered by the then-conventional phrase as having changed hands in an “emergency sale”.


Biographical Compilation

Stolperstein-Initiative Eichkamp

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmueller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Else Lehmann (geb. Joel)

Fotografie vin Richard und Elsbeth Lehmann, ca 1938. Fotorechte: Privatbesitz
Foto: Initiative Stolpersteine Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf
VERLEGEORT
Falterweg 13

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
VERLEGEDATUM
08.09.2009

GEBOREN
11.02.1872 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
am 02.02.1943 nach Theresienstadt
ERMORDET
1944 in Auschwitz

Else (Elsbeth) Lehmann wurde am 11. Februar 1872 als Else Joel geboren. Sie war verheiratet mit Richard Lehmann, der Direktor einer Wollfabrik und Besitzer des Theater-Kinos „Elysium“ war. Das Ehepaar wohnte seit 1935, nach der Enteignung ihrer Villa in Niederschönweide, in der Siedlung Eichkamp, Falterweg 13. Beide waren gebürtige Berliner und „konfessionslos“, in der Sprache des Naziregimes „nichtarisch“. Tochter Edith konnte nach London fliehen. Die Lehmanns mussten das Haus vermutlich nach dem Verkauf 1939 verlassen, waren zunächst noch in Lankwitz, dann im Jüdischen Krankenhaus in der Iranischen Straße 2 (Wedding) gemeldet. Große Teile ihres Vermögens mussten als „Sühnesteuer“ an das Finanzamt bezahlt werden.

Mit dem „85. Alterstransport“ vom 2. Februar 1943 kamen beide nach Theresienstadt. Vier Monate später starb dort Richard Lehmann 79-jährig am 4. Juni 1943. Elsbeth Lehmann wurde weiter nach Auschwitz deportiert, wo sie mit 72 Jahren ermordet wurde.

Vor den Lehmanns gehörte das Haus im Falterweg 13 dem Rechtsanwalt Louis (Ludwig) Hayn und seiner Frau Meta. Die Hayns, damals beide Anfang fünfzig, und ihr knapp 10-jähriger Sohn Rolf verließen das Land rechtzeitig 1933. Die Emigrationsodyssee führte sie über Paris und Barcelona schließlich in die USA. 1939 wurde der übliche „Notverkauf“ des Grundbesitzes aktenkundig.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Stolperstein-Initiative Eichkamp