Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dr. Oskar Wallach

Stolperstein für Oskar Wallach. Foto: MTS
LOCATION
Bruno-Möhring-Str. 21

DISTRICT
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Marienfelde
STONE WAS LAID
11/25/2011

BORN
04/16/1894 in Osterode am Harz
OCCUPATION
Allgemeinmediziner
DEPORTATION
on the 24th of October 1941 to Łódź / Litzmannstadt
LATER DEPORTED
in 1945 to Groß-Rosen / Rogoźnica
LATER DEPORTED
on the 25th of February 1945 to Flossenbürg
WHEREABOUTS UNCLEAR

Oskar Wallach was born on 16 April 1894, the son of Joseph Wallach, a merchant, and his wife Ida, née Rosenbaum, in Osterode in the Harz district. He had several siblings. After serving as a soldier in the First World War, he studied medicine, gaining his physician’s license in August 1929. At this time, he lived at Reichsstraße 31 in Berlin-Charlottenburg. A specialist in Internal Medicine, he covered for another doctor in Lichtenrade for a period. In 1933, he opened his own surgery at Parallelstraße 21 (now Bruno-Möhring-Straße 21) in Marienfelde, where he also lived. He was very popular with his patients, holding consultations even on Sundays, and renowned for his medical competence.
After the Nazis came to power, a sabotage attack was carried out on his car – the screws on the rear wheel were loosened – in response to which he placed an announcement in the newspaper of 20 April 1933 saying that he did not hold Nazi Party members responsible for it. He obviously felt compelled to point out that he rejected the rumours that were circulating to that effect.
On 9 December 1938, his license to practice was revoked, like that of all Jewish doctors, and he sold his surgery to the non-Jewish physician Dr. Helmut Urban. He moved in with his widowed mother Ida Wallach (born on 15 March 1864) at Gasteiner Straße 4 in Wilmersdorf, along with his unmarried sister Paula (born on 18 November 1895), a piano teacher, and his brother Wilhelm (born on 18 August 1883). Former patients of his recalled that he was recruited as a forced labourer to do road-building work.
In May 1941 the Wallachs were forced to move again. Oskar and Wilhelm went to live as subtenants of Margarete Eppenstein and her daughter at Dahlmannstraße 28 in Charlottenburg. From here the brothers were deported to German-occupied Lodz in Poland, together with some 1000 others, on the “2nd transport” on 24 October 1941. In the Lodz (or Litzmannstadt) ghetto, Oskar encountered Therese Hammerschmidt (née Neumann, born on 21 April 1913 in Allenstein, East Prussia), a worker and assistant auditor, who had arrived in Lodz one week earlier. It is not known whether they were acquainted from Berlin or had first met in the ghetto. In any case, Oskar Wallach and Therese Hammerschmidt were one of 25 couples among the newly arrived western European Jews to be married in the ghetto in December 1941. They were wed on 10 December.
Only a few months later, on 2 July 1942, Oskar Wallach was transferred to an unknown transit camp. On 25 February 1945 he was sent from Groß-Rosen concentration camp with 3058 other prisoners to Flossenbürg concentration camp in Bavaria, near the border with Czechoslovakia. Part of the journey was by train but part was completed on foot.
The previous assumption that Oskar Wallach survived and migrated to the United States has unfortunately been proven by recent research to be false. However, it is not known whether he died in Flossenbürg concentration camp or on a death march from the camp in mid-April 1945, nor is his true date of death known. Oskar Wallach was pronounced dead by Charlottenburg local court in 1953 on the initiative of an unknown applicant. His formal date of death was registered as 31 December 1945.
A certain Morris Wallach who was born the same day as Oskar Wallach (16 April 1894) and died in the United States in 1989 is not the same person: Morris B. Wallach was born in Russia and became a U.S. resident in 1940.
None of Oskar Wallach’s relatives survived. His brother Wilhelm died on 24 April 1942 in Lodz. Ida Wallach was deported with her daughter Paula to Theresienstadt on 3 October 1942 and died there on 28 November 1942. Paula Wallach was transferred from Theresienstadt to Auschwitz on 23 January 1943. Oskar Wallach’s wife Therese was sent to Stutthof concentration camp, after which no more was seen or heard of her again.


Anmerkung zur Inschrift auf dem Stolperstein:

Die Stolpersteininschrift repräsentiert einen älteren Recherchestand.

Biographical Compilation

Dr. Claudia Schoppmann

Vorarbeiten/Recherche: Hannelore Emmerich

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Oskar Wallach

Stolperstein für Oskar Wallach. Foto: MTS
VERLEGEORT
Bruno-Möhring-Str. 21

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Marienfelde
VERLEGEDATUM
25.11.2011

GEBOREN
16.04.1894 in Osterode am Harz
BERUF
Allgemeinmediziner
DEPORTATION
am 24.10.1941 nach Łódź / Litzmannstadt
WEITERE DEPORTATION
im Jahre 1945 nach Groß-Rosen / Rogoźnica
WEITERE DEPORTATION
am 25.02.1945 nach Flossenbürg
VERBLEIB UNKLAR

Oskar Wallach wurde am 16. April 1894 als Sohn des Kaufmanns Joseph Wallach und seiner Frau Ida, geb. Rosenbaum, in Osterode am Harz geboren. Er hatte noch mehrere Geschwister. Im Ersten Weltkrieg war er als Soldat eingezogen. Nach einem Studium der Medizin erhielt er im August 1929 die Approbation als Arzt. Damals lebte er in Berlin-Charlottenburg, Reichsstraße 31. Er machte seinen Facharzt als Internist. Nach der vorübergehenden Vertretung eines Arztes in Lichtenrade richtete er schließlich 1933 eine eigene Praxis in der Parallelstraße 21 (heute: Bruno-Möhring-Straße 21) in Marienfelde ein, wo er auch seine Privatwohnung hatte. Bei seinen Patienten, die seine medizinischen Fähigkeiten schätzten, war er sehr beliebt. Sogar sonntags hatte er Sprechstunde.

Nach der Machtübernahme der Nationalsozialisten sah er sich offenbar gezwungen, in einem Zeitungsinserat vom 20. April 1933 darauf hinzuweisen, dass er keineswegs NSDAP-Mitglieder für eine Sabotage an seinem Auto – die Schrauben am Hinterrad waren gelockert worden – verantwortlich mache. Entsprechende Gerüchte weise er zurück.

Am 9. Dezember 1938 wurde ihm – wie allen jüdischen Ärztinnen und Ärzten – die Approbation entzogen, und er verkaufte seine Praxis an den nichtjüdischen Arzt Dr. Helmut Urban. Danach lebte er zunächst bei seiner verwitweten Mutter Ida Wallach (* 15.3.1864) in der Gasteiner Straße 4 in Wilmersdorf, zusammen mit seiner unverheirateten Schwester Paula (* 18.11.1895), die als Klavierlehrerin arbeitete, und seinem Bruder Wilhelm (* 18.8.1883). Nach Aussagen ehemaliger Patienten soll Oskar Wallach in Wilmersdorf zu Straßenarbeiten zwangsverpflichtet worden sein.

Im Mai 1941 musste Familie Wallach erneut umziehen. Oskar und Wilhelm Wallach wohnten nun als Untermieter bei einer Frau Margarete Eppenstein und ihrer Tochter in der Dahlmannstraße 28 in Charlottenburg. Von dort wurden die beiden Brüder, zusammen mit etwa 1.000 Menschen, mit dem „II. Transport“ am 24. Oktober 1941 ins deutsch besetzte Lodz in Polen deportiert. Im Ghetto Litzmannstadt begegnete er der Arbeiterin und Hilfsrevisorin Therese Hammerschmidt, geb. Neumann (* 21.4.1913 in Allenstein/Ostpreußen), die eine Woche nach ihm in Lodz eingetroffen war. Ob sie sich bereits aus Berlin kannten, ist nicht bekannt. Im Ghetto wurden im Dezember 1941 25 Ehepaare unter den neu angekommenen westeuropäischen Juden getraut, darunter – am 10. Dezember – auch Oskar Wallach und Therese Hammerschmidt.

Bereits am 2. Juli 1942 wurde Oskar Wallach in ein unbekanntes Zwischenlager überstellt. Schließlich wurde er vom KZ Groß-Rosen aus am 25. Februar 1945 mit 3058 weiteren Häftlingen teils per Bahn, teils zu Fuß ins KZ Flossenbürg in der Oberpfalz getrieben.

Die bisherige Annahme, Oskar Wallach habe überlebt und sei in die USA emigriert, stellte sich aufgrund neuerer Recherchen leider als unrichtig heraus. Ob er im KZ Flossenbürg umkam oder auf einem der Todesmärsche, die Mitte April 1945 das Lager verließen, ist jedoch ebenso wenig bekannt wie das genaue Sterbedatum. Oskar Wallach wurde 1953 vom Amtsgericht Charlottenburg für tot erklärt – wer dies beantragt hatte, ließ sich nicht mehr feststellen. Als Zeitpunkt des Todes wurde formal der 31. Dezember 1945 festgestellt.

Ein Morris Wallach mit demselben Geburtsdatum (16.4.1894), der 1989 in den USA verstarb, ist nicht mit Oskar Wallach identisch. Morris B. Wallach wurde in Russland geboren und lebte bereits 1940 in den USA.

Auch Oskar Wallachs Familienangehörige haben nicht überlebt. Bruder Wilhelm starb am 24. April 1942 in Lodz. Ida Wallach wurde am 3. Oktober 1942, gemeinsam mit ihrer Tochter Paula, nach Theresienstadt deportiert und starb dort am 28. November 1942. Paula Wallach wurde von Theresienstadt am 23. Januar 1943 nach Auschwitz überführt. Die Spur von Oskar Wallachs Ehefrau Therese verliert sich im KZ Stutthof.


Anmerkung zur Inschrift auf dem Stolperstein:

Die Stolpersteininschrift repräsentiert einen älteren Recherchestand.

Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dr. Claudia Schoppmann

Vorarbeiten/Recherche: Hannelore Emmerich