Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Hans Asch

Hans Asch. Copyright: René Asch
LOCATION
Courbièrestr. 1

DISTRICT
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Schöneberg
STONE WAS LAID
10/18/2011

BORN
07/16/1901 in Berlin
OCCUPATION
Konzertpianist
FORCED LABOUR
Arbeiter
at
Spinnstofffabrik Zehlendorf A.G., Wupperstraße
DEPORTATION
on the 5th of September 1942 to Riga
MURDERED
09/08/1942 in Riga

Hans Asch was born on 16 July 1901 in Berlin. His parents Martin and Clara Asch, née Falkenstein, also had three other children: Hans’ older brother Kurt (born 1900), his younger sister Ellen (born 1909) and the youngest of the family, Ralph (born 1918).
Hans Asch became a concert pianist. He married, but was divorced from his wife in the early 1940s. In 1939 he lived at Lutherstraße 51 (now Keithstraße 14) in the Schöneberg district of Berlin, but on 21 July 1942 he moved to another apartment very close by, at Courbière Straße 1, also in Schöneberg, where he lived as a subtenant of Ms Sarah Elting. He was probably forced to move here.
He last worked at a textiles factory, Spinnstofffabrik Zehlendorf A.G., in Wupper Straße, Zehlendorf, as a forced labourer, paid 71½ pfennigs per hour.
On 28 August 1942, he diligently completed and signed a declaration of assets, as required before deportation. In the section on cash ownership, he declared “nothing”. His sole remaining assets were 7kg wood, 1kg potatoes, a two-part coffee set, a between-seasons coat, two ties, four collars and two pairs of socks. He did not fail to mention “approx. 2 undervests and 1 pair of mittens” that were still at his parents’ home at Motzstraße 27. He even took the trouble to add the following note of explanation under his signature: “Postscript: Slight variations are possible as the list was completed in absence of the apartment. Hans Israel Asch.”
Hans Asch was deported to Riga with the “19th transport to the East” on 5 September 1942 and murdered immediately on arrival, on 8 September 1942.


Biographical Compilation

Dr. Anne Meckel auf der Grundlage wesentlicher Vorarbeiten von Hannelore Emmerich

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Hans Asch

Hans Asch. Copyright: René Asch
VERLEGEORT
Courbièrestr. 1

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Schöneberg
VERLEGEDATUM
18.10.2011

GEBOREN
16.07.1901 in Berlin
BERUF
Konzertpianist
DEPORTATION
am 05.09.1942 nach Riga
ERMORDET
08.09.1942 in Riga

Hans Asch wurde am 16. Juli 1901 in Berlin geboren. Seine Eltern, Martin und Clara Asch, geb. Falkenstein, hatten noch drei weitere Kinder: Hans’ älteren Bruder Kurt (geb. 1900), seine jüngere Schwester Ellen (geb. 1909) und den jüngsten Bruder Ralph (geb. 1918).

Hans Asch wurde Konzertpianist. Er war verheiratet, die Ehe wurde Anfang der 1940er Jahre aber wieder geschieden. 1939 lebte er in der Lutherstraße 51 (heute Keithstr.14) in Berlin-Schöneberg und seit dem 21. Juli 1942 ganz in der Nähe, in der Courbièrestr.1, ebenfalls in Berlin-Schöneberg, in der dritten Etage als Untermieter bei Frau Sarah Elting. In diese Wohnung ist er wahrscheinlich zwangsweise eingezogen.

Zuletzt war er als Arbeiter in der Spinnstofffabrik Zehlendorf A.G. in der Wupperstraße in Berlin-Zehlendorf für einen Stundenlohn in Höhe von 71,5 Pfennig zwangsverpflichtet tätig.

Am 28. August 1942 füllte er – wie vor der Deportation gefordert – sehr korrekt eine Vermögenserklärung aus. In der Rubrik mit der Frage nach seinem Bargeldbestand gab er an: „nichts“. Er besaß noch 7 kg Holz, 1 kg Kartoffeln, ein Kaffeeservice, bestehend aus zwei Teilen, einen Übergangsmantel, zwei Krawatten, vier Kragen und zwei Paar Strümpfe. Selbst der Hinweis, dass „ca. 2 Unterjacken, 1 Paar Fausthandschuhe bei den Eltern in der Motzstr. 27“ in Verwahrung waren, fehlt in der Vermögensaufstellung nicht. Unter seiner Unterschrift dort fügte er außerdem folgende Erklärung an: „Nachschrift: Kleine Abweichungen sind möglich, da die Aufstellung in Abwesenheit von der Wohnung gemacht wurde. Hans Israel Asch.“

Mit dem „19. Osttransport“ vom 5. September 1942 wurde er nach Riga deportiert und dort unmittelbar nach seiner Ankunft am 8. September 1942 ermordet.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dr. Anne Meckel auf der Grundlage wesentlicher Vorarbeiten von Hannelore Emmerich