Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Antonie Plattring (born Sommer)

Stolperstein für Antonie Plattring. Copyright: MTS
LOCATION
Kirchstr. 84

DISTRICT
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Marienfelde
STONE WAS LAID
11/25/2011

BORN
09/05/1883 in Czernowitz (Bukowina) / Tscherniwzi
DEPORTATION
on the 13th of January 1942 to Riga
MURDERED
in Riga

Antonie Sommer, known as Toni, was born on 5 September 1883 in Czernowitz (now Chernivtsi, Ukraine), the capital of Bukovina in the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Just before the turn of the century, she moved with her husband Naftalin Plattring, a merchant, whom she had met in Austria, to the island Cebu in the Philippines. Naftalin planned to set up a pearl-trading business there. While living in Cebu, the couple had five children: their sons Friedrich and Adolf, born in 1902 and 1904, and their daughters Fanny, Flora and Jeanette, born in 1911, 1913 and 1915, respectively.
Around 1922, the family returned to Germany, where they moved to the Marienfelde district of Berlin-Tempelhof. Naftalin Plattring acquired a property at Kirchstraße 85. Two years later he built a house on the site opposite at Kirchstraße 84. The Plattrings also owned a plot of land in Schöneiche outside Berlin.
In 1922 Naftalin Plattring established a bottle-top factory with his business partner Rudolf Stern, which he was forced to sell in 1936. Between 1936 and 1939, all five of the Plattrings’ children managed to emigrate abroad. Antonie and Naftalin Plattring themselves apparently felt too old to start a new life abroad.
In 1938 the Plattrings were forced to sell their house at Kirchstraße 84 to the factory-owner Wilhelm Brösel, who also acquired the house opposite. They also had to sell their land in Schöneiche. In December 1940 they had to vacate their home at Kirchstraße 84, which they had lately rented, for a sales representative named Otto Ebert. They moved into an apartment at Uhlandstraße 182 in Berlin-Charlottenburg as subtenants, occupying one room.
On 20 December 1941, the Plattrings and their landlady Ella Rosenbaum received deportation notices. The mandatory declaration of assets, completed before deportation, shows that by that time, Antonie Plattring owned merely 1 table cloth, 2 serviettes, 2 towels, 2 pairs of stockings and 2 sets of underwear. On 13 January 1942, Antonie Plattring and her husband were sent on the “8th transport” along with 1032 others to the Riga ghetto. No more was seen or heard of them again.


Biographical Compilation

Dr. Claudia Schoppmann

Vorarbeiten/Recherche: Hannelore Emmerich

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Antonie Plattring (geb. Sommer)

Stolperstein für Antonie Plattring. Copyright: MTS
VERLEGEORT
Kirchstr. 84

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Marienfelde
VERLEGEDATUM
25.11.2011

GEBOREN
05.09.1883 in Czernowitz (Bukowina) / Tscherniwzi
DEPORTATION
am 13.01.1942 nach Riga
ERMORDET
in Riga

Antonie Sommer, genannt Toni, wurde am 5. September 1883 in Czernowitz (heute: Tscherniwzi/Ukraine), der Hauptstadt der damals zu Österreich-Ungarn gehörenden Bukowina geboren. Vor der Jahrhundertwende zog sie mit ihrem Mann, dem Kaufmann Naftalin Plattring, den sie in Österreich kennengelernt hatte, auf die philippinische Insel Cebu. Dort wollte er sich eine Existenz als Perlenhändler aufbauen. Auf Cebu kamen ihre fünf Kinder zur Welt: 1902 und 1904 die Söhne Friedrich und Adolf, 1911, 1913 und 1915 die Töchter Fanny, Flora und Jeanette.

Um 1922 kehrte die Familie nach Deutschland zurück und wohnte in Berlin-Tempelhof im Ortsteil Marienfelde. Dort erwarb Naftalin Plattring 1925 das Grundstück Kirchstraße 85, zwei Jahre später baute er auf dem gegenüberliegenden Grundstück Kirchstraße 84 ein Haus. Außerdem besaßen Plattrings ein Grundstück in Schöneiche bei Berlin.

Naftalin Plattring gründete 1922 zusammen mit seinem Geschäftspartner Rudolf Stern eine Fabrik zur Herstellung von Flaschenverschlüssen, die er jedoch 1936 zwangsweise verkaufen musste. Zwischen 1936 und 1939 konnten ihre fünf Kinder nach Übersee auswandern. Um sich selbst eine neue Existenz im Ausland aufzubauen, fühlten Antonie und Naftalin Plattring sich wohl zu alt.

1938 musste das Ehepaar das Haus in der Kirchstraße 84 an den Fabrikanten Wilhelm Brösel verkaufen, der auch das gegenüberliegende Haus erwarb. Das Grundstück in Schöneiche mussten sie ebenfalls veräußern. Im Dezember 1940 waren sie gezwungen, das Haus in der Kirchstraße 84, in dem sie nun zur Miete wohnten, für den Handelsvertreter Otto Ebert zu räumen. Sie lebten dann zur Untermiete in einem Zimmer in der Charlottenburger Uhlandstraße 182.

Am 20. Dezember 1941 erhielten Plattrings, zusammen mit ihrer Vermieterin Ella Rosenbaum, den Befehl zur Deportation. Wie aus der Vermögenserklärung, die vor der Verschleppung ausgefüllt werden musste, hervorgeht, besaß Antonie Plattring damals lediglich noch 1 Tischdecke, 2 Servietten, 2 Handtücher, 2 Paar Strümpfe und 2 Garnituren Damenwäsche. Mit dem 8. Transport vom 13. Januar 1942 wurden Antonie Plattring und ihr Mann, zusammen mit 1.032 Menschen, ins Ghetto Riga überführt. Es gibt kein weiteres Lebenszeichen von ihnen.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dr. Claudia Schoppmann

Vorarbeiten/Recherche: Hannelore Emmerich