Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Martin Asch

Martin und Clara Asch. Copyright: René Asch
Stolperstein für Martin Asch. Copyright: MTS
LOCATION
Motzstr. 27

DISTRICT
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Schöneberg
STONE WAS LAID
10/18/2011

BORN
03/10/1873 in Posen / Poznań
OCCUPATION
Verkäufer
DEPORTATION
on the 2nd of March 1943 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Martin Asch was born on 10 March 1873 in Posen (now Poznań, Poland), the son of Hermann Asch and his wife Jeanette, née Neustaedter. He moved to Berlin as a young man and worked in trade. In 1899 he married Clara Falkenstein. Over the years, they had four children: Kurt (born on 10 January 1900), Hans (born on 16 July 1901), Ellen (born on 18 March 1909), and Rolf (born on 20 March 1918).
The Asch family’s first home was at Naunynstraße 69 in Kreuzberg. In 1920 they moved to an apartment at Barbarossastraße 41 in Schöneberg, where they lived until 1938. Three of their children – Kurt, Rolf and Ellen – were able to emigrate and so survived the Nazi period.
Martin Asch and his wife Clara were eventually forced to leave their apartment and live in other Jewish households, first at Münchener Straße 7 (as subtenants of a widow, Fanny Fetter), then at Motzstraße 27 (as subtenants of Eugen Jacoby and his non-Jewish wife Hedwig). s
On a postcard dated 31 May 1942, Martin Asch thanked his son Kurt for some post from Brussels: “You’ve become so dreadfully thin; I’m only skin and bones now myself … at least Mama looks a little better; if only she didn’t have such frequent, terrible pain in her bad toe, which just won’t get better.”
On 2 March 1943, a few days before his 70th birthday, Martin Asch was deported to Auschwitz together with his wife Clara. They were probably killed immediately on arrival on 3 March. Their son Hans had been deported and murdered six months previously, on 5 September 1942.


Biographical Compilation

Dr. Claudia Schoppmann

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Additional Sources

Fotos; Geburtsurkunde von Kurt Asch; Heiratsurkunde Kurt Asch; 2 Postkarten von Clara und Martin an Kurt Asch nach Brüssel; BArch, Residentenliste

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Martin Asch

Martin und Clara Asch. Copyright: René Asch
Stolperstein für Martin Asch. Copyright: MTS
VERLEGEORT
Motzstr. 27

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Schöneberg
VERLEGEDATUM
18.10.2011

GEBOREN
10.03.1873 in Posen / Poznań
BERUF
Verkäufer
DEPORTATION
am 02.03.1943 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Martin Asch wurde am 10. März 1873 in Posen (heute: Poznan / Polen) als Sohn von Hermann Asch und seiner Frau Jeanette geb. Neustaedter geboren. In jungen Jahren zog er nach Berlin und war als Kaufmann tätig. 1899 heiratete er Clara Falkenstein. Das Ehepaar bekam vier Kinder: Kurt (*10. Januar 1900), Hans (*16. Juli 1901), Ellen (*18. März 1909) und Rolf (*20. März 1918).
Zunächst wohnte die Familie im Bezirk Kreuzberg (Naunynstraße 69). 1920 zog sie nach Schöneberg. Dort lebte sie bis 1938 in der Barbarossastraße 41. Drei ihrer Kinder – Kurt, Rolf und Ellen – konnten noch rechtzeitig emigrieren und haben überlebt.
Martin Asch und seine Frau Clara mussten schließlich ihre Wohnung verlassen und wurden in jüdische Haushalte zur Untermiete eingewiesen, zunächst in die Münchener Straße 7 (bei der Witwe Fanny Fetter), dann in die Motzstraße 27 (bei Eugen Jacoby und seiner nichtjüdischen Ehefrau Hedwig).
Am 31. Mai 1942 bedankte sich Martin Asch bei seinem Sohn Kurt für dessen Post aus Brüssel: „Also so dünn bist Du geworden, schrecklich; ich bin nur noch Haut und Knochen“, schreibt er auf einer Postkarte. „Mama sieht immerhin noch etwas besser aus; wenn sie nur nicht so oft furchtbare Schmerzen an dem schlimmen Zeh hätte, der gar nicht besser werden will.“
Am 2. März 1943, wenige Tage vor seinem 70. Geburtstag, wurde Martin Asch zusammen mit seiner Frau Clara nach Auschwitz deportiert. Vermutlich wurden sie sofort nach ihrer Ankunft am 3. März ums Leben gebracht. Bereits ein halbes Jahr zuvor, am 5. September 1942, war ihr Sohn Hans nach Riga verschleppt und dort ermordet worden.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dr. Claudia Schoppmann

Weitere Quellen

Fotos; Geburtsurkunde von Kurt Asch; Heiratsurkunde Kurt Asch; 2 Postkarten von Clara und Martin an Kurt Asch nach Brüssel; BArch, Residentenliste