Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Ingrid Kropidlowsky

Ingrid Kropidlowsky © OTFW
LOCATION
Strelitzer Str. 25

DISTRICT
Mitte – Mitte
STONE WAS LAID
March 2008

BORN
06/05/1935 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
on the 16th of June 1943 to Theresienstadt
LATER DEPORTED
on the 16th of October 1944 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

In the mid-1930s, Herr and Frau Kropidlowsky lived with their daughter Ingrid (1935-1944) in the parish of St Elisabeth in the Berlin neighbourhood known as Rosenthaler Vorstadt.

The Kropidlowsky family, including Ingrid’s “Aryan born” father Ferdinand Kropidlowsky, an automobile electrician, belonged to the Jewish Community until 1939/40. Ferdinand Kropidlowsky died in May 1942 of unknown causes, aged only 29.

His daughter Ingrid was raised a Jew until 1940. In 1942 she was baptised in a neighbouring parish by a priest from the Confessing Church. “Jew baptisms” were forbidden in the family’s local parish church, St Elisabeth, which had been built by Schinkel and renovated with the support of the Nazi authorities. For a year Ingrid attended the Jewish primary school – the special class for Christian children with Jewish backgrounds. But all Jewish schools were closed down in summer 1942, and their pupils were deprived of any schooling. Ingrid’s mother turned to the St Elisabeth church in Invaliden Strasse for help, which Ingrid now belonged to since her baptism and which was only five minutes away from their home. The parish and its priest did not help the family, not even by offering pastoral counselling. It was one of the first members of the German Christians movement, the Nazi pressure group within the Protestant church.

In August 1942 Ingrid’s grandmother Paula Jacoby, née Chaskel (1880-1942) was deported to Riga, aged 62. She had lived in an apartment with her unmarried daughters Käthe (1906-1943) and Liselotte Jacoby (1920-1942) and “ran the household” for them and her widowed daughter Ruth Kropidlowsky. She hoped to be spared “evacuation” for this reason, as her three daughters performed forced labour (at Siemens-Schuckert) every day. In March 1943 Käthe and Liselotte Jacoby were deported to Auschwitz, aged 37 and 23, respectively.

During the day, little Ingrid Kropidlowsky must have been increasingly often all alone.

On 17 June 1943 she and her mother were taken away from their apartment at Strelitzer Strasse 25 and deported to Theresienstadt, and in October 1944 to Auschwitz. Their declaration of assets shows that they lived in a two-room apartment. They had no financial assets but were free of debts. They owned a leather sofa, a gramophone and a sewing machine. Ruth Kropidlowsky worked as a seamstress and for a firm in Schilling Strasse in Mitte to the last.

Ruth and her daughter Ingrid were murdered in Auschwitz.


Biographical Compilation

Sabine Krusen

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmueller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Ingrid Kropidlowsky

Ingrid Kropidlowsky © OTFW
VERLEGEORT
Strelitzer Str. 25

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Mitte – Mitte
VERLEGEDATUM
März 2008

GEBOREN
05.06.1935 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
am 16.06.1943 nach Theresienstadt
WEITERE DEPORTATION
am 16.10.1944 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Im Gemeindegebiet der evangelischen Kirchengemeinde St. Elisabeth in der Rosenthaler Vorstadt lebten Mitte der 1930er Jahre die Eheleute Kropidlowsky mit ihrer Tochter Ingrid (1935-1944).

Die Familie Kropidlowsky hatte bis 1939/40 der jüdischen Gemeinde angehört, auch der „arisch geborene“ Vater Ferdinand Kropidlowsky, ein Autoelektriker. Er starb im Mai 1942 unter uns unbekannten Umständen im Alter von nur 29 Jahren.

Die Tochter Ingrid war bis 1940 jüdisch erzogen worden. 1941 wurde sie in einer Nachbargemeinde getauft - von einem Pfarrer der Bekennenden Kirche. In der eigentlich zuständigen Gemeinde St. Elisabeth waren seit 1935, als die von Schinkel erbaute Kirche mit großer Unterstützung der NS-Behörden renoviert worden war, „Judentaufen“ untersagt. Ingrid besuchte ein Jahr lang die Erste jüdische Volksschule – die Sonderklasse für christliche Kinder jüdischer Herkunft. Alle jüdischen Schulen mussten im Sommer 1942 schließen. Nun durften diese Kinder gar nicht mehr beschult werden. Die Mutter wandte sich um Hilfe an die zuständige St.-Elisabeth-Kirche an der Invalidenstraße, der Ingrid durch Taufe inzwischen angehörte und die sich fünf Minuten Fußweg von der Familienwohnung entfernt befindet. Die Gemeinde und ihr Pfarrer nahmen sich der Familie nicht an, auch nicht seelsorgerisch. Sie gehörten früh zur Bewegung der Deutschen Christen, dem Nazi-Zusammenschluss in der evangelischen Kirche.

Im August 1942 wurde Ingrids Großmutter Paula Jacoby, geb. Chaskel (1880-1942) im Alter von 62 Jahren nach Riga deportiert. Sie hatte mit ihren ledigen Töchtern Käthe (1906-1943) und Liselotte Jacoby (1920-1942) in einer Wohnung gewohnt und für diese, aber auch die verwitwete Ruth Kropidlowsky „den Haushalt geführt“. Sie hoffte, deshalb von der „Verschickung“ zurückgestellt zu werden, da die drei Töchter ja tagsüber Zwangsarbeit (bei Siemens-Schuckert) leisten mussten. Im März 1943 wurden Käthe und Liselotte Jacoby mit 37 bzw. 23 Jahren nach Auschwitz deportiert.

Tagsüber wird die kleine Ingrid Kropidlowsky immer öfter völlig allein gewesen sein.

Am 17. Juni 1943 wurden sie und ihre Mutter aus ihrer Wohnung in der Strelitzer Straße 25 „abgeholt“, nach Theresienstadt und dann im Oktober 1944 nach Auschwitz deportiert. Die Vermögenserklärung zeigt, dass sie in zwei Zimmern gewohnt hatten, ohne Vermögen, aber auch ohne Schulden waren. Es gab noch ein Ledersofa, ein Kastengrammophon und eine Nähmaschine. Ruth Kropidlowsky hatte bis zuletzt in ihrem Beruf als Schneiderin und als Arbeiterin bei einer Firma in der Schillingstrasse in Mitte gearbeitet.

Mutter und Tochter wurden in Auschwitz ermordet.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Sabine Krusen