Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Paula Lindberg-Salomon (born Lindberg)

Foto: A. Bukschat & C. Flegel
LOCATION
Wielandstr. 15

DISTRICT
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
STONE WAS LAID
04/21/2012

BORN
12/21/1897 in Frankenthal bei Mannheim
DEPORTATION
in May 1943 to Westerbork
SURVIVED

Paula Lindberg was born on 21 December 1897 in Frankenthal near Mannheim, the only daughter of Lazarus Levi, a rabbi, and his wife Sophie, née Meyer. To comply with her father’s wishes, she studied to become a mathematics teacher in Heidelberg after the end of the First World War. After his death, however, she broke off her course to take vocal instruction at the Mannheim music college under August Perron. In 1926, on the recommendation of Wilhelm Furtwängler, she left Mannheim to study at the Berlin music academy under Julius von Raatz-Brockman.

To pay her way, she worked as a nanny for the architect Erich Mendelsohn and his music-loving wife Luise, who often held home concerts featuring contemporary compositions. Here she got to know and love modern music, as championed by Ernst Toch and Paul Hindemith at the Berlin music academy, as well as Johann Sebastian Bach, her great musical love. The person to have the biggest influence on her musical development was Siegfried Ochs, the founder and director of the Philharmonic Choir and teacher of oratorio singing at the Berlin academy. Under his direction, she sang the alto part in Bach’s St Matthew Passion for the first time in Berlin’s Philharmonie in 1926.

Siegfried Ochs advised her to change her name to Paula Lindberg to protect herself against anti-Semitic animosity. In 1930 she married the widowed surgeon Albert Salomon and moved in with him and his daughter Charlotte at Wieland Strasse 15 in Berlin-Charlottenburg. Their home soon became a popular meeting place on Berlin’s cultural scene.

Between 1930 and 1933 Paula Salomon-Lindberg often sang the alto part in performances of Bach’s cantatas in St Thomas Church in Leipzig. She gave her last authorised performance there in March 1933. In 1933, a friend of Paula’s, Kurt Singer, founded the Nazi-sanctioned “cultural federation of German Jews” (Kulturbund deutscher Juden), and this became the only platform left open to her. At the federation’s events, however, only works by Jewish artists could be performed to an exclusively Jewish audience. From 1936, as well as giving concerts, Paula Salomon-Lindberg also gave musical instruction at the Hollaender private Jewish music school in Sybel Strasse in Berlin-Charlottenburg.

It was not until Albert Salomon was interned in Sachsenhausen in November 1938 that the family decided to emigrate. Charlotte left to join her grandparents, the Grunwalds, in Villefranche near Nice in January 1939. On the day Paula Salomon was scheduled to give a farewell concert, she and her husband fled with forged documents to Amsterdam. Their plans to leave Europe for the United States, together with Charlotte, foundered due to the German advance on the European continent. They never saw their daughter again. Paula Salomon-Lindberg was arrested with her husband in Amsterdam in 1943 and deported to Westerbork transit camp. They managed to escape from the camp on the pretext that they were fetching medical equipment from Amsterdam. They survived the rest of the war in hiding in South Holland.

When they returned to Amsterdam after the war they learned of Charlotte’s death in Auschwitz. In 1947 they travelled to Villefranche where they were given her work “Life? Or theatre?”, which they took back with them to Amsterdam. They categorically ruled out a return to Germany and in 1950 they assumed Dutch nationality. Paula Salomon-Lindberg gave musical instruction at the music school in Amsterdam and private vocal instruction. In 1950 she started giving classes as part of the Salzburg Mozarteum’s summer courses. She specialised in speech training and clear articulation for singers. She regarded her teaching job in Salzburg as her “compensation”.

In 1986 she returned to Berlin for the first time for the opening of an exhibition of “Life? Or theatre?”. In 1989 the Berlin college of art set up an international “Paula Lindberg Salomon competition” for classical song, which has been held bi-annually ever since. Paula Salomon-Lindberg was a jury member for many years and played an active part in it until her death. In 1992 her biography was published in Berlin under the title “Mein C’est-la-vie-Leben in einer bewegten Zeit. Der Lebensweg der jüdischen Künstlerin Paula Salomon Lindberg”. In 1995 a one-hour documentary film, “Paula Paulinka”, was made about her by Christine Fischer-Defoy, Daniela Schmidt and Caroline Goldie. Paula Salomon-Lindberg died on 17 April 2000, aged 102, in Amsterdam. She is buried in the cemetery of the Liberal Jewish Community in Hoofddorp near Amsterdam.


Biographical Compilation

Dr. Christine Fischer-Defoy - Aktives Museum Faschismus und Widerstand in Berlin e.v.

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Paula Lindberg-Salomon (geb. Lindberg)

Foto: A. Bukschat & C. Flegel
VERLEGEORT
Wielandstr. 15

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
VERLEGEDATUM
21.04.2012

GEBOREN
21.12.1897 in Frankenthal bei Mannheim
DEPORTATION
im Mai 1943 nach Westerbork
ÜBERLEBT

Paula Lindberg wurde am 21. Dezember 1897 in Frankenthal bei Mannheim als einzige Tochter des Rabbiners Lazarus Levi und seiner Frau Sophie, geb. Meyer geboren. Auf Wunsch des Vaters studierte sie unmittelbar nach Ende des Ersten Weltkrieges zunächst Mathematik für das Lehrfach in Heidelberg. Erst nach seinem Tod wechselte sie an die Musikhochschule in Mannheim und erhielt Unterricht bei dem Gesangspädagogen August Perron. Auf Empfehlung von Wilhelm Furtwängler ging sie 1926 zum Studium bei Julius von Raatz-Brockman an die Musikhochschule in Berlin.

Um ihr Leben zu finanzieren, arbeitete sie als Kindermädchen bei dem Architekten Erich Mendelsohn und seiner musikbegeisterten Frau Luise, die häufig Hauskonzerte mit zeitgenössischen Kompositionen veranstalteten. So trat neben ihre große Liebe zur Musik Johann Sebastian Bachs die Begeisterung für die musikalische Moderne, die Ernst Toch und Paul Hindemith an der Berliner Musikhochschule repräsentierten. Den größten Einfluss auf ihre Ausbildung hatte Siegfried Ochs, der Gründer und Leiter des Philharmonischen Chores und Lehrer für Oratoriengesang an der Berliner Hochschule. Unter ihm sang sie 1926 in der Berliner Philharmonie erstmals die Alt-Partie in Bachs „Matthäus-Passion“.

Siegfried Ochs riet der jungen Sängerin, ihren Namen in Paula Lindberg zu ändern, um sich vor antisemitischen Anfeindungen zu schützen. 1930 heiratete sie den verwitweten Berliner Chirurgen Albert Salomon und zog zu ihm und seiner Tochter Charlotte in die Wielandstraße 15 in Berlin-Charlottenburg, die rasch zu einem beliebten Treffpunkt des Berliner Kulturlebens wurde.

Zwischen 1930 und 1933 sang Paula Salomon-Lindberg häufig die Alt-Partie bei der Aufführung sämtlicher Bach-Kantaten in der Thomanerkirche in Leipzig. Im März 1933 durfte sie dort zum letzten Mal öffentlich auftreten. Durch ihre Freundschaft mit Kurt Singer, der 1933 mit Genehmigung der Nationalsozialisten den „Kulturbund deutscher Juden“ gründete, war dieser auch für sie das einzige Podium, das ihr noch offenstand. Vor einem ausschließlich jüdischen Publikum durften dort jedoch nur Werke jüdischer Künstler aufgeführt werden. Neben ihren Konzertverpflichtungen unterrichtete Paula Salomon-Lindberg ab 1936 an der „Jüdischen Privaten Musikschule Hollaender“ in der Sybelstraße in Berlin-Charlottenburg.

Erst nach der Haft Albert Salomons im November 1938 in Sachsenhausen entschloss sich die Familie zur Emigration. Charlotte fuhr im Januar 1939 zu den bereits emigrierten Großeltern Grunwald nach Villefranche in Südfrankreich. Am Tag eines bereits angekündigten Abschiedskonzerts in Berlin flohen Albert und Paula Salomon mit falschen Papieren nach Amsterdam. Die geplante gemeinsame Emigration mit Charlotte in die USA scheiterte am Vormarsch deutscher Truppen auf dem europäischen Kontinent. Ihre Tochter sollten sie nie wiedersehen. Paula Salomon-Lindberg wurde zusammen mit ihrem Mann 1943 in Amsterdam verhaftet und in das Durchgangslager Westerbork deportiert. Von dort gelang ihnen unter dem Vorwand, medizinische Geräte aus Amsterdam zu besorgen, die Flucht. Bis zur Befreiung überlebten sie in einem Versteck in Südholland.

Bei der Rückkehr nach Amsterdam erfuhren sie von Charlottes Tod in Auschwitz. 1947 reisten sie nach Villefranche und brachten das dort gerettete Werk „Leben? Oder Theater?“ von Charlotte Salomon nach Amsterdam. Eine Rückkehr nach Deutschland kam für die Salomons nicht infrage. 1950 nahmen sie die holländische Staatsbürgerschaft an. Paula Salomon-Lindberg unterrichtete am Musiklyzeum in Amsterdam und gab private Gesangsstunden. Ab 1950 lehrte sie im Rahmen der Sommerkurse am Mozarteum in Salzburg. Ihr Spezialgebiet war die Sprecherziehung für Sänger und die deutliche Artikulation im Gesang. Die Lehrtätigkeit in Salzburg betrachtete sie als ihre „Wiedergutmachung“.

1986 kam sie zur Eröffnung einer Ausstellung von „Leben? Oder Theater?“ zum ersten Mal wieder nach Berlin. 1989 richtete die Hochschule der Künste Berlin einen internationalen „Paula Lindberg-Salomon-Wettbewerb“ für Liedgesang ein, der seither alle zwei Jahre durchgeführt wird. Bis zu ihrem Tod nahm Paula Salomon-Lindberg daran aktiv Anteil und war viele Jahre Mitglied der Jury. 1992 erschien ihre Lebensgeschichte unter dem Titel „Mein C’est-la-vie-Leben in einer bewegten Zeit. Der Lebensweg der jüdischen Künstlerin Paula Salomon Lindberg“ in Berlin. 1995 folgte der einstündige Dokumentarfilm „Paula Paulinka“ von Christine Fischer-Defoy, Daniela Schmidt und Caroline Goldie. Paula Salomon-Lindberg starb am 17. April 2000 im Alter von 102 Jahren in Amsterdam. Ihr Grab befindet sich auf dem Friedhof der Liberalen Jüdischen Gemeinde in Hoofddorp bei Amsterdam.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dr. Christine Fischer-Defoy - Aktives Museum Faschismus und Widerstand in Berlin e.v.