Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Albert Salomon

Foto: A. Bukschat & C. Flegel
LOCATION
Wielandstr. 15

DISTRICT
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
STONE WAS LAID
04/21/2012

BORN
01/26/1883 in Röbel/Müritz
INHAFTIERT
from the 10th of November 1938 in Berlin
INHAFTIERT
from November 1938 up to the 29th of November 1938 in Sachsenhausen
DEPORTATION
in May 1943 to Westerbork
SURVIVED

Albert Salomon was born in Röbel, Mecklenburg, on 26 January 1883, the son of Wolf Salomon, a merchant, and Helene Salomon, née Wolff. Albert’s mother died in childbirth and he grew up with relatives in Mecklenburg. After attending school in Röbel, Ribnitz and Schwerin, he started studying medicine at Berlin University in 1900, continuing from 1902 to 1903 in Heidelberg, from 1903 to 1904 in Munich and from 1904 to 1905 in Würzburg. Here he graduated with the grade “very good”. In the same year he received his licence to practise medicine. He worked as a junior doctor at the hospitals in Berlin-Friedrichshain and Pankow and at the Jewish hospital in Breslau. In 1909 he started working at the University Hospital in Berlin under renowned surgeon Dr August Bier (1861 to 1949). Here he developed special methods of analysis and surgical treatment for cancer patients, and became an internationally renowned pioneer of mammography. In 1916 he married Franziska Grunwald. Their daughter Charlotte was born one year later.

During the First World War, 1916-1919, Albert Salomon worked as a senior physician. His last post was in a military hospital in Tucquegnieux, France. After the war he returned to Berlin and in 1921 qualified as a professor. His assessors were Otto Lubarsch and August Bier. From 1921 to 1927 Albert Salomon worked as an associate professor at the Berlin Charité university hospital, where he was appointed extraordinary professor of surgery in 1927. The suicide of his wife Franziska in 1926 – the official cause of death was illness, as she suffered from depression – shook the family.

In 1930 Albert Salomon married Paula Lindberg, a singer. Their relationship breathed new life into the family and sparked an interest in Jewish traditions. After his authorisation to teach was withdrawn on 8 September 1933, Albert Salomon opened a private practice in Charlottenburg, where he was only permitted to treat Jewish patients. From 1936 to 1939 he was head of the surgical department of the Jewish Hospital in Berlin. Since he was a “war veteran”, his licence was not revoked until 1939.

Following the pogrom in the night of 9 November 1938, Albert Salomon was arrested on 10 November in his apartment at Wieland Strasse 15 and taken to Sachsenhausen concentration camp. As Paula Salomon-Lindberg later recalled, she set about obtaining release papers for him with the help of friends and acquaintances. On 29 November 1938 Albert Salomon was released from Sachsenhausen and returned, emaciated, to Berlin. The family decided to leave Germany as soon as possible. In January 1939 Charlotte Salomon travelled to her grandparents in the South of France; Albert and Paula Salomon fled with forged documents to Amsterdam on 15 March 1939. Evading imminent arrest, they left all their property behind in their apartment, and it was seized by the authorities.

As German medical qualifications were not recognised in Holland, Albert Salomon learned the Dutch language and restudied medicine in Amsterdam. In May 1943 Albert and Paula Salomon were arrested in Amsterdam and deported to Westerbork transit camp. Here they both worked as auxiliary helpers in the camp’s infirmary barracks. They managed to escape the camp in November 1943 under the pretext of having to fetch medical equipment from Amsterdam. They survived the war in hiding in southern Holland. When they returned to Amsterdam they were told of Charlotte’s death in Auschwitz.

In 1946 Albert Salomon passed the Dutch medical examination and opened a private practice in his apartment. He and his wife both ruled out a return to Germany and assumed Dutch nationality. Albert Salomon died on 7 May 1976 in Amsterdam. He is buried in the cemetery of the Liberal Jewish Community in Hoofddorp near Amsterdam. In 2000 a commemorative stone was also laid here in memory of Charlotte Salomon.

In 2011 a commemorative plaque was put up on the house in Röbel where Albert Salomon was born.


Biographical Compilation

Dr. Christine Fischer-Defoy - Aktives Museum Faschismus und Widerstand in Berlin e.V.

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Albert Salomon

Foto: A. Bukschat & C. Flegel
VERLEGEORT
Wielandstr. 15

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
VERLEGEDATUM
21.04.2012

GEBOREN
26.01.1883 in Röbel/Müritz
INHAFTIERT
ab 10.11.1938 in Berlin
INHAFTIERT
ab November 1938 bis zum 29.11.1938 in Sachsenhausen
DEPORTATION
im Mai 1943 nach Westerbork
ÜBERLEBT

Albert Salmon wurde am 26. Januar 1883 als Sohn des Kaufmanns Wolf Salomon und Helene Salomon, geb. Wolff, im mecklenburgischen Röbel an der Müritz geboren. Seine Mutter starb bei der Geburt und er wuchs bei Verwandten in Mecklenburg auf. Nach dem Schulbesuch in Röbel, Ribnitz und Schwerin begann er 1900 ein Medizinstudium an der Berliner Universität, das er von 1902 bis 1903 in Heidelberg, von 1903 bis 1904 in München und von 1904 bis 1905 in Würzburg fortsetzte. Hier bestand er das Staatsexamen mit der Note „sehr gut“. Im selben Jahr erhielt er seine Approbation als Arzt. Seine Zeit als Assistenzarzt absolvierte er an den Krankenhäusern Berlin-Friedrichshain und Pankow sowie dem Jüdischen Krankenhaus in Breslau. Ab 1909 arbeitete er am Chirurgischen Universitätsklinikum in Berlin bei dem bekannten Chirurgen Dr. August Bier (1861 bis 1949). Hier entwickelte er bereits zu dieser Zeit spezielle Analyse- und Operationsmethoden für Krebs-Patienten, der ihn zum international bekannten Pionier der Mammografie machten. 1916 heiratete er Franziska Grunwald, ein Jahr später kam ihre Tochter Charlotte zur Welt.

Im Ersten Weltkrieg arbeitete Albert Salomon von 1916 bis 1919 als Oberarzt, zuletzt in einem Kriegslazarett in Tucquegnieux/Frankreich. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Berlin wurde er 1921 habilitiert. Seine Gutachter waren Otto Lubarsch und August Bier. Von 1921 bis 1927 arbeitete Albert Salomon als Privatdozent an der Berliner Universitätsklinik Charité, die ihn 1927 zum außerordentlichen Professor für Chirurgie ernannte. Der Selbstmord seiner Frau Franziska – der offiziell als Folge einer Krankheit deklariert wurde, denn sie litt an Depressionen – erschütterte 1926 die Familie.

Die Beziehung zu der Sängerin Paula Lindberg, die Albert Salomon 1930 heiratete, brachte wieder Leben in die Familie und führte zu einer Annäherung an jüdische Traditionen. Nachdem Albert Salomon am 8. September 1933 die Lehrbefugnis entzogen worden war, eröffnete er eine Privatpraxis in Charlottenburg, wo er jedoch nur jüdische Patienten behandeln durfte. Von 1936 bis 1939 war er als Leiter der Chirurgischen Abteilung am Jüdischen Krankenhaus in Berlin tätig. Als „Kriegsteilnehmer“ wurde ihm erst 1939 auch die Approbation aberkannt.

Im Zuge der Pogromnacht vom 9. November wurde Albert Salomon am 10. November 1938 in seiner Wohnung in der Wielandstraße 15 verhaftet und nach Sachsenhausen gebracht. Wie sich Paula Salomon-Lindberg später erinnerte, bemühte sie sich mit Hilfe politischer Verbündeter, Entlassungspapiere für ihn aus Sachsenhausen zu besorgen. Albert Salomon wurde am 29. November 1938 dort entlassen und kehrte völlig abgemagert nach Berlin zurück. Die Familie beschloss, Deutschland so rasch wie möglich zu verlassen. Charlotte Salomon fuhr im Januar 1939 zu den Großeltern nach Südfrankreich, Albert und Paula Salomon flohen mit gefälschten Papieren vor einer drohenden Verhaftung am 15. März 1939 nach Amsterdam. Ihr gesamtes Eigentum verblieb in der Wohnung und wurde nach der Flucht beschlagnahmt.

Da das deutsche Ärzteexamen in Holland nicht anerkannt wurde, begann Albert Salomon in Amsterdam noch einmal Medizin zu studieren. Voraussetzung für seine dortige Approbation war das Beherrschen der holländischen Sprache. Im Mai 1943 wurden Albert und Paula Salomon in Amsterdam verhaftet und in das Durchgangslager Westerbork deportiert. Beide arbeiteten dort als Helfer in der Krankenbaracke des Lagers. Unter dem Vorwand, medizinische Geräte aus Amsterdam holen zu müssen, gelang beiden im November 1943 die Flucht aus dem Lager. Bis Kriegsende überlebten sie versteckt in Südholland. Bei ihrer Rückkehr nach Amsterdam erfuhren sie von Charlottes Tod in Auschwitz.

1946 bestand Albert Salomon das niederländische Ärzteexamen und eröffnete eine Privatpraxis in seiner Wohnung. Zusammen mit seiner Frau nahm er die holländische Staatsbürgerschaft an, denn eine Rückkehr nach Deutschland kam für sie beide nicht infrage. Albert Salomon starb am 7. Mai 1976 in Amsterdam. Sein Grab befindet sich auf dem Friedhof der Liberalen Jüdischen Gemeinde Amsterdam in Hoofddorp bei Amsterdam. Dort erinnert seit 2000 auch ein Gedenkstein an Charlotte Salomon.

An seinem Geburtshaus in Röbel wurde 2011 eine Gedenktafel für Albert Salomon angebracht.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dr. Christine Fischer-Defoy - Aktives Museum Faschismus und Widerstand in Berlin e.V.