Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Charlotte Salomon

Foto: A. Bukschat & C. Flegel
LOCATION
Wielandstr. 15

DISTRICT
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
STONE WAS LAID
04/21/2012

BORN
04/16/1917 in Berlin
OCCUPATION
Künstlerin
ESCAPE
Januar 1939 Flucht nach Frankreich
INTERNIERT
from June 1940 up to December 1940 in Gurs
VERHAFTET
in September 1943 in Villefranche
INTERNIERT
from September 1943 up to October 1943 in Sammellager Drancy
DEPORTATION
on the 7th of October 1943 from Drancy to Auschwitz
MURDERED
10/10/1943 in Auschwitz

Charlotte Salomon was born in Berlin on 16 April 1917, the only child of Albert Salomon, a surgeon, and his wife Franziska, née Grunwald. An assimilated Jewish, upper middle-class family, they lived at Wieland Straße 15 in Berlin-Charlottenburg. Charlotte’s childhood was overshadowed by the suicide of her mother on 27 February 1926. Henceforth, her everyday life was managed by a series of nannies. In spring 1927, she started attending the Fürstin Bismarck School (today the Sophie Charlotte Gymnasium) in Sybel Straße. In 1930 Albert Salomon married the Jewish singer Paula Lindberg, who soon became the central figure in young Charlotte’s life.

In 1933 Albert Salomon’s professorship was withdrawn, and Paula Salomon-Lindberg was banned from giving public performances as a singer. Confronted with increasing anti-Semitic hostility, Charlotte Salomon left school a year early, before taking her Abitur school-leaving exams. Hoping to become an artist, she attended a private art school to prepare for her entrance exam into the Berlin college of art, then known as the “united state schools for free and applied arts”, at Steinplatz in Berlin-Charlottenburg.

Charlotte Salomon was accepted into the art college for a trial period, starting in the 1935 winter semester. After a first semester studying under the commercial artist Ernst Böhm, she transferred to Ludwig Bartning’s course. Having completed the trial period, she was able to enroll for a course, starting in summer semester 1936, despite being Jewish as her father was a First World War combat veteran. The college was legally permitted to accept a quota of 1.5 percent Jewish students. But finding herself again facing openly anti-Semitic attacks, Charlotte broke off her studies in autumn 1937.

Around this time, she met Alfred Wolfsohn, a Jewish voice instructor who worked with Paula Salomon-Lindberg. He fostered Charlotte’s artistic development, and gave her encouragement and commissions, and she fell in love with him. He provided the inspiration for the character of “Daberlohn”, who appears alongside “Paulinka Bimbam”, the figure representing Paula Salomon-Lindberg, in Charlotte’s major work “Life? Or theatre?”.

In February 1939, Charlotte Salomon escaped Germany to Villefranche in the South of France on the pretext of visiting her grandparents, the Grunwalds, who had emigrated in 1933. Her parents fled to Amsterdam in March 1939. From here they tried to prepare their and Charlotte’s emigration to the United States, but their plans were frustrated by the advance of the German army. Albert and Paula Salomon were deported to the Dutch camp Westerbork.

Charlotte Salomon created her renowned series of paintings entitled “Life? Or theatre?”, which she described as a “lyrical drama”, between 1940 and 1942. It told the story of her family, (renamed “Kann”), in over a thousand gouaches and pages of text. On completion, she entrusted the work to a friend in Villefranche, Dr Moridis, for safekeeping until the war was over.

In June 1943, Charlotte Salomon married Alexander Nagler, an Austrian émigré who looked after Jewish orphans in Villefranche. The marriage, which took place in Nice, drew the authorities’ attention to the couple. In September 1943, Charlotte and Alexander Nagler were arrested in Villefranche and deported via Drancy to Auschwitz. Charlotte was five months’ pregnant at the time and probably murdered on the day of her arrival in Auschwitz. Alexander Nagler died in the extermination camp Auschwitz III/Buna in 1944.

In 1947 Albert and Paula Salomon travelled to Villefranche where Charlotte Salomon’s work “Life? Or theatre?” was given to them. Since 1971 it has been in the care of the Joods Historisch Museum in Amsterdam and has been shown in exhibitions worldwide. In 2012, it was part of the “documenta” international contemporary art exhibition in Kassel.

In the 1960s, a plaque was mounted in memory of Charlotte Salomon on the house at Wieland Straße 15 by the Berlin youth organization Berliner Landesjugendring, on the initiative of Gerhard Schoenberner. In 1991, a primary school in Grossbeeren Strasse in Berlin-Kreuzberg was named after Charlotte Salomon in the presence of Paula Salomon-Lindberg.


Biographical Compilation

Dr. Christine Fischer-Defoy - Aktives Museum Faschismus und Widerstand in Berlin e.v.

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Charlotte Salomon

Foto: A. Bukschat & C. Flegel
VERLEGEORT
Wielandstr. 15

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
VERLEGEDATUM
21.04.2012

GEBOREN
16.04.1917 in Berlin
BERUF
Künstlerin
FLUCHT
Januar 1939 Flucht nach Frankreich
INTERNIERT
ab Juni 1940 bis Dezember 1940 in Gurs
VERHAFTET
im September 1943 in Villefranche
INTERNIERT
ab September 1943 bis Oktober 1943 im Sammellager Drancy
DEPORTATION
am 07.10.1943 von Drancy nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
10.10.1943 in Auschwitz

Charlotte Salomon wurde am 16. April 1917 als einziges Kind des Chirurgen Albert Salomon und seiner Frau Franziska, geb. Grunwald, in Berlin geboren. Die gutbürgerliche assimilierte jüdische Familie lebte in Berlin-Charlottenburg in der Wielandstraße 15. Charlottes Kindheit wurde bald überschattet vom Selbstmord ihrer Mutter am 27. Februar 1926. Von nun an bestimmten wechselnde Kindermädchen ihren Alltag. Sie besuchte ab Ostern 1927 die Fürstin-Bismarck-Schule in der Sybelstraße (heute Sophie-Charlotte-Gymnasium). Albert Salomon heiratete 1930 die jüdische Sängerin Paula Lindberg. Sie wurde rasch zum wichtigsten Menschen in Charlottes Kindheit und Jugend.

1933 entzog die Berliner Universitätsklinik Albert Salomon seine Professur. Paula Salomon-Lindberg durfte nicht mehr öffentlich als Sängerin auftreten. In Charlotte Salomons Schule nahmen antisemitische Anfeindungen zu, die sie 1933 veranlassten, den Schulbesuch ein Jahr vor dem Abitur abzubrechen. Sie wollte Künstlerin werden. Sie besuchte zunächst eine private Kunstschule, um sich auf die Aufnahmeprüfung an den damals so genannten „Vereinigten Staatsschulen für Freie und Angewandte Kunst“ am Steinplatz in Berlin-Charlottenburg vorzubereiten.

Zum Wintersemester 1935 wurde Charlotte Salomon auf Probe an der Hochschule angenommen. Sie studierte zunächst bei dem Gebrauchsgrafiker Ernst Böhm und wechselte nach einem Semester zu Ludwig Bartning. Weil ihr jüdischer Vater als „Frontkämpfer“ im Ersten Weltkrieg galt, wurde sie zum Sommersemester 1936 immatrikuliert. Sie fiel unter die Quote von 1,5 Prozent jüdischer Studierender, die gesetzlich zulässig war. Im Herbst 1937 brach Charlotte Salomon, die auch an der Hochschule als Jüdin öffentlich angegriffen wurde, ihr Studium ab.

Während dieser Zeit lernte sie den jüdischen Gesangspädagogen Alfred Wolfsohn kennen, der mit Paula Salomon-Lindberg zusammenarbeitete. Er förderte Charlottes künstlerische Entwicklung, gab ihr Aufträge und ermutigte sie, und sie verliebte sich in ihn. Er sollte später als „Daberlohn“ neben der „Paulinka“ genannten Paula Salomon-Lindberg im Zentrum ihres künstlerischen Hauptwerkes „Leben? Oder Theater?“ stehen.

Im Februar 1939 flüchtete Charlotte Salomon unter dem Vorwand eines Kurzbesuches zu den bereits 1933 emigrierten Großeltern Grunwald nach Villefranche in Südfrankreich. Ihren Eltern gelang im März 1939 die Flucht nach Amsterdam. Sie bemühten sich von dort um die gemeinsame Ausreise mit ihrer Tochter in die USA. Der Plan scheiterte am Vormarsch der Wehrmacht auf dem europäischen Kontinent: die Eltern wurden in das holländische Lager Westerbork deportiert.

Zwischen 1940 und 1942 schuf Charlotte Salomon in Villefranche das „Singspiel“ genannte Werk „Leben? Oder Theater?“. Auf über tausend Gouachen und Textblättern stellte sie ihre Sicht auf die Geschichte der Familie dar, die sie „Kann“ nannte. Sie selbst gab sich den Namen „Charlotte Kann“. Ihr Werk übergab sie dem Arzt Dr. Moridis in Villefranche, der es über den Krieg retten konnte.

Im Juni 1943 heiratete Charlotte Salomon in Nizza den österreichischen Emigranten Alexander Nagler, der in Villefranche jüdische Waisenkinder betreute. Ihre Hochzeit machte die Behörden auf sie aufmerksam. Charlotte und Alexander Nagler wurden im September 1943 in Villefranche verhaftet und über Drancy nach Auschwitz deportiert. Charlotte war im fünften Monat schwanger und wurde vermutlich am Tag ihrer Ankunft in Auschwitz ermordet. Alexander Nagler starb 1944 im Vernichtungslager Auschwitz III/Buna.

Albert und Paula Salomon reisten 1947 nach Villefranche, wo ihnen Charlotte Salomons Werk „Leben? Oder Theater“ übergeben wurde. Es ist seit 1971 im Besitz des „Joods Historish Museum“ in Amsterdam und wurde bereits weltweit in Ausstellungen gezeigt. 2012 war es Teil der internationalen Ausstellung zeitgenössischer Kunst „documenta“ in Kassel.

Am Haus Wielandstraße 15 brachte der Berliner Landesjugendring auf Initiative von Gerhard Schoenberner in den 1960er Jahren eine Gedenktafel für Charlotte Salomon an. 1991 wurde in Anwesenheit von Paula Salomon-Lindberg eine Grundschule in der Großbeerenstraße in Berlin-Kreuzberg nach Charlotte Salomon benannt


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dr. Christine Fischer-Defoy - Aktives Museum Faschismus und Widerstand in Berlin e.v.