Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Moritz David

Stolperstein für Moritz David - Foto: Stolpersteingruppe Pankow
LOCATION
Schulzestraße 15

DISTRICT
Pankow – Pankow
STONE WAS LAID
10/24/2012

BORN
05/26/1859 in Exin (Posen) / Kcynia (Polen)
OCCUPATION
Spediteur
DEPORTATION
on the 14th of July 1942 from Iranische Straße 2 to Theresienstadt
MURDERED
10/15/1942 in Theresienstadt

Moritz David was born on 26 May 1859 in Exin (today Kcynia, Poland) and was a freight forwarder by profession. His wife, Berta David, née Jacoby, was also born in Exin in 1864. Moritz and Berta married in 1885. They had eight children, all born in Exin. Moritz David is listed in the Berlin directory from 1924 as a “tradesman” resident at Florastrasse 14, Pankow. His wife died in 1935.

For the family’s restitution file, Moritz David’s youngest son, Georg Gershon David, a commercial dock worker in Tel Aviv, stated that: “After my emigration to Palestine in 1934, I was in constant written contact with my father until the letters suddenly stopped.”

In the years 1938 and 1939, Moritz David is listed as a sexton of a synagogue resident at Schulze Strasse 15. It is possible that he worked at the synagogue at Mühlen Strasse 77, Pankow.

His daughter Minna Hirsch and her husband Bernhard Hirsch lived with him in Schulze Strasse. Both were transported to the Riga ghetto on 13 January 1942 where they were murdered.

Probably in 1939, Moritz David was forced to move to the Jewish old people’s home in Schönhauser Allee and, finally, the old people’s home at Iranische Strasse 2. He was transported on 14 July 1942 on the 21st “transport of the elderly” to the Theresienstadt ghetto, where he died on 15 October 1942. There is a death notice from the Theresienstadt ghetto similar to one sent to many family members: “Cause of death: old age; date and time of death: 15.10.42, 3 am”. Moritz David was 83 years old.

Of the David family’s eight children, only two survived the holocaust: Paula Anhang, née David, who was interned in Ferramonti, Italy and died in 1956 in Australia, and Georg Gershon David, who immigrated to Palestine in 1934. Their sisters Jettchen, Clara, Lotte, Minna and Agathe and brother Leo were all deported from Berlin.


Biographical Compilation

Stolpersteingruppe Pankow

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Moritz David

Stolperstein für Moritz David - Foto: Stolpersteingruppe Pankow
VERLEGEORT
Schulzestraße 15

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Pankow – Pankow
VERLEGEDATUM
24.10.2012

GEBOREN
26.05.1859 in Exin (Posen) / Kcynia (Polen)
BERUF
Spediteur
DEPORTATION
am 14.07.1942 von Iranische Straße 2 nach Theresienstadt
ERMORDET
15.10.1942 in Theresienstadt

Moritz David wurde am 26. Mai 1859 in Exin (heute: Kcynia/Polen) geboren und war von Beruf Spediteur. Seine Frau, Berta David, geb. Jacoby, kam 1864 ebenfalls in Exin zur Welt. Moritz und Berta heirateten im Jahr 1885. Sie bekamen acht Kinder, die alle in Exin geboren wurden.

Im Berliner Adressbuch wird Moritz David seit 1924 als „Handelsmann“ in Pankow, Florastraße 14, geführt. Im Jahr 1935 starb seine Frau.

Der jüngste Sohn von Moritz David, Georg Gershon David, kaufmännischer Hafenarbeiter in Tel Aviv, gab laut Entschädigungsakte an: „Nach meiner Einwanderung in Palästina im Jahr 1934 stand ich mit meinem Vater in ständiger brieflicher Verbindung, bis dann diese plötzlich aufhörte.“

Für die Jahre 1938 und 39 gibt es im Berliner Adressbuch Eintragungen für die Schulzestraße 15: „Moritz David, Synagogendiener“. Möglicherweise war er in der Synagoge in Pankow, Mühlenstraße 77, tätig.

Mit ihm zusammen wohnten in der Schulzestraße seine Tochter Minna Hirsch und ihr Mann, Bernhard Hirsch. Beide wurden am 13. Januar 1942 in das Ghetto Riga transportiert und dort ermordet.

Vermutlich 1939 erfolgte die Zwangseinweisung von Moritz David in das Jüdische Altenheim Schönhauser Allee und zuletzt in das Altenheim in der Iranischen Straße 2. Mit dem „21. Alterstransport“ wurde er am 14. Juli 1942 in das Ghetto Theresienstadt deportiert und starb dort am 15. Oktober 1942. Aus dem Ghetto Theresienstadt gibt es eine Todesfallanzeige, wie sie in ähnlicher Form vielen Angehörigen zugesandt wurde: „Todesursache: Altersschwäche, Todestag und -stunde: 15.10.42, 3.00 Uhr.“ Moritz David war 83 Jahre alt geworden.

Von den acht Kindern der Familie David überlebten den Holocaust nur zwei: Paula Anhang, geb. David, die in Ferramonti/ Italien interniert war und 1956 in Australien gestorben ist, und Georg Gershon David, der 1934 nach Palästina ausgewandert war. Die Töchter Jettchen, Clara, Lotte, Minna, Agathe und der Sohn Leo wurden alle von Berlin aus deportiert.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Stolpersteingruppe Pankow