Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Selma Latz (born Pander)

Stolperstein für Selma Latz Bild: OTFW
LOCATION
Yorckstraße 60

DISTRICT
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg
STONE WAS LAID
03/22/2014

BORN
02/25/1866 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
on the 31st of August 1942 to Theresienstadt
MURDERED
09/08/1942 in Theresienstadt

Selma Latz, née Pander, was born on 25 February 1866 in Berlin. In 1906 she moved into an apartment at Yorck Strasse 60 with her husband, Wilhelm Latz, born on 28 April 1859 in Posen (today Poznań, Poland), who owned the building. They did not have any children. Wilhelm Latz died on 1 April 1921 and was buried in the Jewish Cemetery at Weissensee. His gravestone, which had collapsed and was hidden by earth and leaves, was found by members of the Stolperstein initiative group and re-erected.

Selma Latz remained proprietor of the building until she sold it on 6 January 1923 to a Jewish community association from Innsbruck.

Due to the Nazis’ anti-Jewish measures, in particular the “Decree on the Use of Jewish Assets” of 3 December 1938, the new owners were forced to sell the building to an “Aryan” in 1938.

After the war, the property was placed under the trustee management of Victoria insurance company. Following restitution proceedings that lasted six years, it was transferred back to the Jewish owners on 11 June 1956, as ruled by the Berlin regional court.

Selma Latz lived in a 4-room ground floor apartment at Yorck Strasse 60 until her deportation to Theresienstadt on 31 August 1942. In her “declaration of assets”, which the Gestapo required all deportees to complete, she stated: “I have no tenancy agreement. If the house is sold, my life-long, non-cancellable tenancy arrangement is legally written into the sale agreement.”

In 1938 Selma Latz was evidently forced to take in Jewish subtenants who had been evicted from their previous homes. Margarete Meyer (see Meyer) and Richard and Reha Redelmeier (see Redelmeier) were registered as subtenants of Selma Latz.

Selma Latz was 76 years old when she was deported with one of the “transports of the elderly” to Theresienstadt. Some 100 people were transported in a separate carriage attached to a regular passenger train on 31 August 1942. Only one of those on board survived. Selma Latz died a few days after her arrival in Theresienstadt, on 8 September 1942. Her death notice was issued in Theresienstadt: The doctor in charge diagnosed “enteritis” (inflammation of the intestine).


Biographical Compilation

Projektgruppe Stolpersteine im Verein Möckernkiez e.V.

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmueller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Selma Latz (geb. Pander)

Stolperstein für Selma Latz Bild: OTFW
VERLEGEORT
Yorckstraße 60

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg
VERLEGEDATUM
22.03.2014

GEBOREN
25.02.1866 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
am 31.08.1942 nach Theresienstadt
ERMORDET
08.09.1942 in Theresienstadt

Selma Latz, geborene Pander, wurde am 25. Februar 1866 in Berlin geboren. Sie wohnte seit 1906 gemeinsam mit ihrem Ehemann, dem am 28. April 1859 in Posen (heute: Poznan / Polen) geborenen Wilhelm Latz, im Haus Yorckstraße 60, dessen Besitzer er war. Das Ehepaar hatte keine Kinder. Wilhelm Latz starb am 1. April 1921 und wurde auf dem Jüdischen Friedhof Weißensee beigesetzt. Der umgestürzte, von Laub und Erde verdeckte Grabstein wurde von Mitgliedern der Stolperstein-Initiative gefunden und wieder sichtbar gemacht.

Selma Latz blieb zunächst Eigentümerin des Hauses, verkaufte es dann aber am 6. Januar 1923 an eine jüdische Eigentümergemeinschaft aus Innsbruck.

Im Zuge der „Entjudungsmaßnahmen“ des NS-Regimes durch die „Verordnung über den Einsatz jüdischen Vermögens“ vom 3. Dezember 1938 musste diese das Haus 1939 an eine „Arierin“ verkaufen.

Nach Kriegsende befand sich das Grundstück in Treuhandverwaltung durch die Victoria Versicherung. Nach einem insgesamt sechs Jahre dauernden Rückübertragungsverfahren wurde der Besitz am 11. Juni 1956 durch Beschluss des Landgerichts Berlin den Nachkommen der jüdischen Besitzer zurückgegeben.

Selma Latz bewohnte im Haus Yorckstraße 60 bis zu ihrer Deportation nach Theresienstadt am 31. August 1942 eine 4-Zimmer-Wohnung im Hochparterre. In ihrer „Vermögensaufstellung“, die sie auf Anordnung der Gestapo vor ihrer Deportation anfertigen musste, heißt es: „Ich habe keinen Mietvertrag. Beim Verkauf des Hauses ist der Mietvertrag im Vertrag vom Amtsgericht mit eingeschrieben als unkündbar, solange ich lebe.“

Offensichtlich musste Selma Latz ab 1938 weitere Jüdinnen und Juden, die aus ihren bisherigen Wohnungen exmittiert worden waren, als Untermieter in ihrer Wohnung aufnehmen: Sowohl Margarete Meyer (siehe dort) als auch Richard und Reha Redelmeier (siehe dort) sind als Untermieter von Selma Latz aufgeführt.

Selma Latz war 76 Jahre alt, als sie mit einem der sogenannten „Alterstransporte“ nach Theresienstadt deportiert wurde. Etwa 100 Menschen wurden am 31. August 1942 in einem Wagon transportiert, der an einen regulären Zug angehängt war. Von den Insassen überlebte ein einziger. Selma Latz starb wenige Tage nach ihrer Ankunft in Theresienstadt, am 8. September 1942. Ihre Todesfallanzeige ist in Theresienstadt überliefert: Der behandelnde Arzt diagnostizierte „Enteritis“ (Darmentzündung).


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Projektgruppe Stolpersteine im Verein Möckernkiez e.V.