Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dr. Max Oppenheimer

Passbild von Dr. Max Oppenheimer - Foto: Familie Carmi, Israel
Stolperstein für Dr. Max Oppenheimer - Foto: Stolpersteingruppe Pankow
LOCATION
Breite Straße 29b

DISTRICT
Pankow – Pankow
STONE WAS LAID
08/07/2014

BORN
12/22/1860 in Berlin
OCCUPATION
Bankier (Privatier)
DEAD
09/14/1941 in Berlin

Max Oppenheimer was born on 22 December 1860 in Berlin. His father was the merchant and leather dealer Moritz Oppenheimer (1821-1897); his mother was Eva Oppenheimer, née Jacobi (1822-1901). Moritz and Eva Oppenheimer’s last place of residence was at Möckernstraße 65.
Max attended the grammar school Friedrichwerdersche Gymnasium and enrolled to study at Berlin’s Friedrich Wilhelm University in 1885. In April 1888, he moved to Heidelberg, where he studied English and French Literature, History and National Economy at the faculty of arts until May 1892. His course record book contains the following note from 1890: “For the purpose of registering for a PhD”. In the same year, Max Oppenheimer co-founded one of the first Jewish student fraternities in Heidelberg, “Badenia”. In the fraternity’s semester report of 1895, he heads the list of those named as the “old fellows”: Dr. phil. Max Oppenheimer, Berlin, Krausnickstraße 17 (followed in second place by Dr. Magnus Hirschfeld, who was later to rise to prominence as a pioneering sexologist).
Dr. phil. Max Oppenheimer is first listed in the Berlin directory as resident at the address “Krausnickstraße 17” in 1896; a “Max Oppenheimer banking business” appears located at Unter den Linden 62/63 in 1898, at his parents’ house at Möckernstraße 65 in 1900, and at Neue Bayreutherstraße 7 in 1907. Later he seems to have retired from banking and invested his fortune in real estate, including large residential properties in Schöneberg (Feurigstraße 55 and Ebersstraße 11) and Weißensee (Streustraße 74). He was registered as the owner of these in 1905 and 1908, respectively.
In 1906 Max Oppenheimer bought a villa at Breite Straße 31 in Pankow. He and his wife Therese (born on 18 April 1881 in Berlin, the daughter of the Jewish art dealer Karfunkel; their date of marriage is not known) and their only daughter Eva (born in April 1902) moved into the first-floor apartment. The ground floor was occupied by the violinist Ernst Böhmert, whose conservatory was the site of several outstanding concerts.
Ever since his student days in Heidelberg, Max Oppenheimer had been an adherent of Jewish nationalism and the Zionist movement in Germany. In 1894, he and Max Bodenheimer co-founded the Jewish humanitarianism society (Jüdische Humanitätsgesellschaft) in Berlin, from which the Jewish students’ association (Vereinigung jüdischer Studierender) evolved. In a letter to Oppenheimer’s daughter after his death, Artur Hantke, who like Bodenheimer was a close associate of Theodor Herzl, wrote: “At least 48 years have passed since I met your father, and we worked together quite modestly at the beginning, almost without hope, when the Zionist movement started. Your father was the more advanced in years among us; for this reason, we learned a lot from him, and profited greatly from it.”
Eva Oppenheimer obviously shared her father’s convictions. She joined the Zionist youth league (“Blau-Weiß”) and emigrated to Palestine when she was only 20 years old. There she met and married Walter Grünberger, also from Germany, in 1928. With him and their eldest daughter Yachida, she returned to Germany in 1930 to campaign for German-Jewish emigration to Palestine on behalf of the Jewish Agency. The young family lived with the child’s grandparents in Pankow. On 28 December 1931, Eva’s and Walter’s son Amnon Menachem Grünberger was born. In August 1933, the family returned to Palestine. Eva and Walter gave up their German names and were now known as Chava and Yehuda Carmi. In 1935, Max and Therese Oppenheimer visited them in Haifa but did not stay. Emigration from Germany was not an option for Max Oppenheim; he hoped to “survive Hitler”.
In early 1936 Max Oppenheimer was forced to vacate and sell the house at Breite Straße well below value to the municipal savings bank Berliner Sparkasse. It was torn down the same year and new premises for the savings bank built (which were destroyed in a bomb raid in 1944). Max and Therese Oppenheimer went to live in Tiergarten (Großadmiral-von-Koester-Ufer 67a, now Schöneberger Ufer 67a) with Therese’s sister, where they were confined to two rooms. Dr. Max Oppenheimer died here on 5 December 1941, after he had been forced to also alienate his properties in Weißensee and Schöneberg. He was buried in the Jewish cemetery in Weißensee.
His wife was driven out of the apartment in Tiergarten and made to share a room with several others in a “Jew house” at Ludendorffstraße 97 (now Pohlstraße, site of the furniture store Möbelhaus Hübner). She was taken from here on 3 October 1942 and deported to Theresienstadt, where she died on 2 July 1944.


Biographical Compilation

Stolpersteingruppe Pankow

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dr. Max Oppenheimer

Passbild von Dr. Max Oppenheimer - Foto: Familie Carmi, Israel
Stolperstein für Dr. Max Oppenheimer - Foto: Stolpersteingruppe Pankow
VERLEGEORT
Breite Straße 29b

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Pankow – Pankow
VERLEGEDATUM
07.08.2014

GEBOREN
22.12.1860 in Berlin
BERUF
Bankier (Privatier)
TOT
14.09.1941 in Berlin

Max Oppenheimer wurde am 22. Dezember 1860 in Berlin geboren. Sein Vater war der Kaufmann und Lederhändler Moritz Oppenheimer (1821–1897), seine Mutter Eva Oppenheimer, geb. Jacobi (1822–-1901). Die Eltern wohnten zuletzt in der Möckernstraße 65.

Max besuchte das Friedrichwerdersche Gymnasium und begann an der Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität 1885 sein Studium. Im April 1888 wechselte er nach Heidelberg und studierte dort an der philosophischen Fakultät bis Mai 1892 englische und französische Literatur, Geschichte und Nationalökonomie. 1890 enthält sein Studienbuch den Hinweis „behufs Anmeldung zum Doktorexamen“. Im gleichen Jahr gehört Max Oppenheimer zu den Gründern der ersten jüdischen Studentenverbindung in Heidelberg „Badenia“, in deren Semesterbericht von 1895 er bei den „Alten Herren“ an erster Stelle genannt wird: Dr. phil. Max Oppenheimer, Berlin, Krausnickstraße 17 (an zweiter Stelle folgt der später berühmte Sexualforscher Dr. Magnus Hirschfeld).

Unter der Adresse „Krausnickstraße 17“ ist Dr. phil. Max Oppenheimer 1896 erstmals im Berliner Adressbuch verzeichnet; ein „Bankgeschäft Max Oppenheimer“ erscheint 1898 Unter den Linden 62/63, 1900 im Elternhaus Möckernstraße 65 und 1902 Neue Bayreutherstraße 7. Danach scheint er sich aus dem Bankgeschäft zurückgezogen und sein Vermögen in Immobilien angelegt zu haben, z.B. in großen Wohnobjekten in Schöneberg (Feurigstraße 55 und Ebersstraße 11) und in Weißensee (Streustraße 74), für die er seit 1905 bzw. seit 1908 als Eigentümer eingetragen ist.

Am 18. Juni 1901 heiratete Max Oppenheimer Therese Karfunkel (geboren am 18. April 1881 in Berlin; ein Jahr später, im April 1902 wurde (die einzige) Tochter Eva geboren.

1906 kaufte er eine Villa in der Breiten Straße 31 in Pankow und bezog mit seiner Familie die Beletage. Im Erdgeschoss wohnte und wirkte der Geiger Ernst Böhmert, dessen Konservatorium Schauplatz herausragender Konzerte war.

Schon seit seiner Studienzeit in Heidelberg gehörte Max Oppenheimer zu den Anhängern der nationaljüdischen Idee und der zionistischen Bewegung in Deutschland. Zusammen mit Max Bodenheimer gründete er 1894 in Berlin die „Jüdische Humanitätsgesellschaft“, aus deren Mitte ein Jahr später die „Vereinigung jüdischer Studierender“ entstand. So schrieb Artur Hantke, wie Bodenheimer ein enger Mitarbeiter von Theodor Herzl, nach dem Tode Oppenheimers an seine Tochter: „Mindestens 48 Jahre sind vergangen, seit ich Ihren Vater traf, und wir arbeiteten zusammen ganz bescheiden am Anfang, fast hoffnungslos, als die zionistische Bewegung begann. Ihr Vater war bei uns der Ältere an Jahren; aus diesem Grunde haben wir eine Menge von ihm gelernt, und wir haben viel davon profitiert.“

Eva Oppenheimer war offensichtlich von diesen Ideen ihres Vaters so begeistert, dass sie als Mitglied des zionistischen Jugendbundes „Blau-Weiß“ schon als 20-Jährige nach Palästina auswanderte. Dort traf und heiratete sie 1928 den ebenfalls aus Deutschland stammenden Walter Grünberger. Mit ihm und ihrer ältesten Tochter Yachida kam sie 1930 zurück nach Deutschland, um im Auftrag der Jewish Agency für die Auswanderung von deutschen Juden nach Palästina zu werben. Die junge Familie wohnte bei den Großeltern in Pankow. Am 28. Dezember 1931 wurde ihr Sohn Amnon Menachem Grünberger geboren. Im August 1933 kehrten sie nach Palästina zurück. Sie legten ihren deutschen Namen ab und hießen nun Chava und Yehuda Carmi. 1935 besuchten Max und Therese Oppenheimer die junge Familie in Haifa, kehrten aber nach Deutschland zurück. Auswanderung kam für Max Oppenheimer nicht in Betracht; er hoffte, „Hitler zu überleben“.

Anfang 1936 wurde Max Oppenheimer gezwungen, das Haus in der Breiten Straße weit unter Wert an die Berliner Sparkasse zu verkaufen und zu räumen. Es wurde noch im gleichen Jahr abgerissen, und dort wurde ein neues Sparkassengebäude errichtet (das dann 1944 bei einem Bombenangriff völlig zerstört wurde). Das Ehepaar zog zu einer Schwester von Therese nach Tiergarten (Großadmiral-von-Koester-Ufer 67a; heute: Schöneberger Ufer 67a), wo sie sich auf zwei Zimmer beschränken mussten. Dort starb Dr. Max Oppenheimer am 5. Dezember 1941, nachdem er zuvor auch seinen Immobilienbesitz in Weißensee und Schöneberg hatte veräußern müssen. Er wurde auf dem Jüdischen Friedhof in Weißensee beerdigt.

Seine Frau wurde aus der Wohnung vertrieben; in einem „Judenhaus“ in der Ludendorffstraße 97 (heute Pohlstraße, Möbelhaus Hübner) musste sie sich ein Zimmer mit mehreren Personen teilen. Von dort aus wurde sie am 3. Oktober 1942 nach Theresienstadt deportiert, wo sie am 2. Juli 1944 zu Tode kam.

Einen Film zur Verlegung in acht Sprachen finden Sie hier.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Stolpersteingruppe Pankow