Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Therese Oppenheimer (born Karfunkel)

Passbild von Therese Oppenheimer - Foto: Familie Carmi, Israel
Stolperstein für Therese Oppenheimer - Foto: Stolpersteingruppe Pankow
LOCATION
Breite Straße 29b

DISTRICT
Pankow – Pankow
STONE WAS LAID
08/07/2014

BORN
04/08/1881 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
on the 3rd of October 1942 from Ludendorffstraße 97 W 35 to Theresienstadt
MURDERED
07/02/1944 in Theresienstadt

Therese Oppenheimer was born Therese Karfunkel on 18 April 1881 in Berlin. On the paternal side, she came from a widely extended Jewish family, with traceable roots stretching back to the 16th century. One of her ancestors, Aron Loebel Karfunkel (1716-1816), had been the chief rabbi of Silesia. Her father Aaron Karfunkel (1824-1892) was an art dealer. He mounted a “key exhibition of new masterpieces in the fine arts” at Schloßfreiheit 3 which later moved to Unter den Linden 25, which Theoder Fontane visited and wrote about in 1869. Unfortunately, nothing is known about Therese’s mother or siblings, her life after her father’s death when she was eleven, or her marriage to a man twenty years her senior, Dr. phil. Max Oppenheimer.
With her husband and only daughter Eva (born in April 1902) she lived in the first-floor apartment of a villa at Breite Straße 31 in Pankow, which her husband had bought in 1906. The ground-floor apartment was occupied by the violinist Ernst Böhmert whose conservatory was the site of some notable concerts.
Ever since his student days in Heidelberg, Max Oppenheimer had been an adherent of Jewish nationalism and the Zionist movement in Germany. Eva Oppenheimer obviously shared her father’s convictions. She joined the Zionist youth league (“Blau-Weiß”) and emigrated to Palestine when she was only 20 years old. There she met and married Walter Grünberger, also from Germany, in 1928. With him and their eldest daughter Yachida, she returned to Germany in 1930 to campaign for German-Jewish emigration to Palestine on behalf of the Jewish Agency. The young family lived with the child’s grandparents in Pankow. On 28 December 1931, Eva’s and Walter’s son Amnon Menachem Grünberger was born. In August 1933 they returned to Palestine, where they gave up their German names and were now known as Chava and Yehuda Carmi. In 1935 their third child, a son, Eran, was born. That year, Max and Therese Oppenheimer visited them in Haifa but returned to Germany.
In early 1936 Max Oppenheimer was forced to vacate and sell the house at Breite Straße well below value to the municipal savings bank Berliner Sparkasse. It was torn down the same year and new premises for the savings bank were built (which were destroyed in a bomb raid in 1944). Therese Oppenheimer and her husband went to live in Tiergarten (Großadmiral-von-Koester-Ufer 67a, now Schöneberger Ufer 67a) with her sister, where they were confined to two rooms. Dr. Max Oppenheimer died here on 5 December 1941.
Therese Oppenheimer was driven out of the apartment in Tiergarten and made to share a room with several others in a “Jew house” at Ludendorffstraße 97 (now Pohlstraße, site of the furniture store Möbelhaus Hübner). She was taken from here on 3 October 1942 and deported to Theresienstadt, where she died on 2 July 1944.


Biographical Compilation

Stolpersteingruppe Pankow

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Therese Oppenheimer (geb. Karfunkel)

Passbild von Therese Oppenheimer - Foto: Familie Carmi, Israel
Stolperstein für Therese Oppenheimer - Foto: Stolpersteingruppe Pankow
VERLEGEORT
Breite Straße 29b

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Pankow – Pankow
VERLEGEDATUM
07.08.2014

GEBOREN
08.04.1881 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
am 03.10.1942 von Ludendorffstraße 97 W 35 nach Theresienstadt
ERMORDET
02.07.1944 in Theresienstadt

Therese Oppenheimer wurde am 18. April 1881 mit dem Mädchennamen Karfunkel in Berlin geboren. Sie stammte väterlicherseits aus einer weit verzweigten jüdischen Familie, deren Wurzeln sich bis ins 16. Jahrhundert zurückverfolgen lassen. Einer ihrer Vorfahren, Aron Loebel Karfunkel (1762–1816) war Oberrabbiner von Schlesien. Ihr Vater war Adolf Karfunkel (1836-1890), die Mutter Philippine, geb. Rosenzweig (1845-1912); sie hatte eine Schwester und zwei Brüder.

Am 18. Juni 1901 heiratete sie den 20 Jahre älteren Dr. phil. Max Oppenheimer. Zusammen mit ihm und der einzigen Tochter Eva (geboren im April 1902) bezog sie die Beletage einer Villa in der Breiten Straße 31 in Pankow, die ihr Mann 1906 gekauft hatte. Im Erdgeschoss wohnte und wirkte der Geiger Ernst Böhmert, dessen Konservatorium Schauplatz herausragender Konzerte war.

Schon seit seiner Studienzeit in Heidelberg gehörte Max Oppenheimer zu den Anhängern der nationaljüdischen Idee und der zionistischen Bewegung in Deutschland. Tochter Eva war offensichtlich von diesen Ideen ihres Vaters so begeistert, dass sie als Mitglied des zionistischen Jugendbundes „Blau-Weiß“ schon als 20-Jährige nach Palästina auswanderte. Dort traf und heiratete sie 1928 den ebenfalls aus Deutschland stammenden Walter Grünberger. Mit ihm und ihrer ältesten Tochter Yachida kam sie 1930 zurück nach Deutschland, um im Auftrag der Jewish Agency für die Auswanderung von deutschen Juden nach Palästina zu werben. Die junge Familie wohnte bei den Großeltern in Pankow. Am 28. Dezember 1931 wurde ihr Sohn Amnon Menachem Grünberger geboren. Im August 1933 kehrten sie nach Palästina zurück. Sie legten ihren deutschen Namen ab und hießen nun Chava und Yehuda Carmi. Als drittes Kind wurde 1935 Sohn Eran geboren. Im gleichen Jahr besuchten Therese und Max Oppenheimer die junge Familie in Haifa, kehrten aber nach Deutschland zurück.

Anfang 1936 wurde Max Oppenheimer gezwungen, das Haus in der Breiten Straße weit unter Wert an die Berliner Sparkasse zu verkaufen und zu räumen. Es wurde noch im gleichen Jahr abgerissen, und dort wurde ein neues Sparkassengebäude errichtet (das dann 1944 bei einem Bombenangriff völlig zerstört wurde). Therese Oppenheimer zog mit ihrem Mann zu ihrer Schwester nach Tiergarten (Großadmiral-von-Koester-Ufer 67a; heute: Schöneberger Ufer 67a), wo sie sich auf zwei Zimmer beschränken mussten. Dort starb Dr. Max Oppenheimer am 5. Dezember 1941.

Therese Oppenheimer wurde aus der Wohnung vertrieben; in einem „Judenhaus“ in der Ludendorffstraße 97 (heute Pohlstraße, Möbelhaus Hübner) musste sie sich ein Zimmer mit mehreren Personen teilen. Von dort aus wurde sie am 3. Oktober 1942 nach Theresienstadt deportiert, wo sie am 2. Juli 1944 zu Tode kam.

Einen Film zur Verlegung in acht Sprachen finden Sie hier.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Stolpersteingruppe Pankow