Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Louise Levy

Stolperstein für Louise Levy © OTFW
LOCATION
Thomasiusstraße 26

DISTRICT
Mitte – Moabit
STONE WAS LAID
08/08/2014

BORN
06/27/1889 in Hohensalza (Posen) / Inowrocław
OCCUPATION
Tabakhändlerin
FORCED LABOUR
at
in der Schuhfabrik Reh & Praedel
DEPORTATION
on the 27th of November 1941 to Riga
MURDERED
11/30/1941 in Riga-Rumbula

Louise Levy had been living at Thomasiusstraße 26 since 1932. She was born in 1889 in in Hohensalza, in the former province of Posen in West Prussia. Louise Levy was single. In the 1936 Berlin address book the word “tobacco” is mentioned after her name, so presumably Louise Levy was self-employed. From 1940 onwards she is listed as a “buyer”.

Louise Levy was the first of ten Jewish residents to be deported from her building. In her declaration of assets, which she had to submit nine days before her deportation, she listed her occupation as 'worker'. She was working as a slave laborer at Reh & Praedel, and her weekly wage was 27 RM. The Aryanized Reh & Praedel shoe factory was located in Berlin-Britz and was now being used as a POW camp.

According to Louise Levy's assets declaration, she was now only occupying two of the six rooms, because she had been forced to rent out the other partly-furnished rooms of her apartment to Jews.

On November 27, 1941 Louise Levy was deported to Riga and, upon arrival, taken to the forest at Rumbula, where she was murdered. Louise was 52. According to documentation on this massacre, the victims were forced to strip naked, despite the cold weather. They were then shot in the back of the head at close range, in mass pits which had already been dug.


Biographical Compilation

Ursula Schwarz & Oliver Geiger, Übersetzung Judith Elam

English Translation

Judith Elam

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Louise Levy

Stolperstein für Louise Levy © OTFW
VERLEGEORT
Thomasiusstraße 26

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Mitte – Moabit
VERLEGEDATUM
08.08.2014

GEBOREN
27.06.1889 in Hohensalza (Posen) / Inowrocław
BERUF
Tabakhändlerin
ZWANGSARBEIT
bei
in der Schuhfabrik Reh & Praedel
DEPORTATION
am 27.11.1941 nach Riga
ERMORDET
30.11.1941 in Riga-Rumbula

Louise Levy lebte seit 1932 im Haus Thomasiusstraße 26. Sie wurde 1889 im westpreußischen Hohensalza in der damaligen Provinz Posen geboren. Louise Levy war unverheieratet. Im Berliner Adressbuch von 1936 findet sich hinter ihrem Namen der Zusatz 'Tabake'; vermutlich war Louise Levy selbständige Kauffrau. Ab 1940 hieß der Zusatz 'Einkäuferin'.

Louise Levy war die erste von zehn jüdischen Bewohnern und Bewohnerinnen, die aus diesem Haus deportiert wurde. In der Vermögenserklärung, die sie neun Tage vor ihrer Deportation ausfüllen musste, gab sie als Beruf 'Arbeiterin' an, da sie zu diesem Zeitpunkt für einen Wochenlohn von 27 RM Zwangsarbeit bei Reh & Praedel leistete; die arisierte Schuhfabrik Reh & Praedel in Berlin-Britz wurde zu dieser Zeit in ein Kriegsgefangenenlager umgebaut.

Aus Louise Levys Vermögenserklärung geht auch hervor, dass sie zuletzt nur noch zwei der ehemals sechs Zimmer bewohnte, da sie mehrere Zimmer ihrer Wohnung teilmöbliert an Juden vermieten musste.

Am 27. November 1941 wurde Louise Levy im Alter von 52 Jahren nach Riga deportiert und dort direkt nach ihrer Ankunft im Wald von Rumbula ermordet. Bei diesem dokumentierten Massaker wurden alle Opfer gezwungen, sich trotz des eiskalten Wetters zu entkleiden. Dann wurden die Opfer in ausgehobenen Gruben durch Schüsse in den Hinterkopf aus kurzer Distanz hingerichtet.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Ursula Schwarz & Oliver Geiger, Übersetzung Judith Elam