Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Bruno Weyl

LOCATION
Hiroshimastr. 19

DISTRICT
Mitte – Tiergarten
STONE WAS LAID
December 2006

BORN
07/10/1881 in Erlangen
DEPORTATION
on the 1st of March 1943 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Bruno Hermann Weyl was born on 10 July 1881 in Erlangen. His father, Prof. Dr. Theodor Weyl (1851-1913) was a renowned doctor and chemist from Berlin, who worked as a lecturer at Erlangen University. He was the editor of the first handbook for organic chemistry and a multi-volume standard reference work on hygiene. Bruno’s mother Elise Weyl (née Weinberg) came from Danzig and was a cousin of his father’s. In 1883 the family moved to Berlin where Bruno’s father worked at the technical college’s hygiene institute and, from 1888 on, at the Robert Koch Institute, before opening his own practice. On 20 December 1886, Bruno’s brother Erich was born in Berlin.
After gaining his Abitur school-leaving certificate, Bruno Weyl studied engineering at the Berlin technical college, graduating with a diploma. On 9 May 1913, he married Marie-Luise Fraentzel, a native of Berlin. Three years his junior, she was the granddaughter of the famous Jewish doctor Ludwig Traube (1818-1876) and a niece of the philologist of the same name. On 5 January 1915, the Weyls’ son Heinrich Theodor Max Horst (known as Heinz) was born; their daughter Sabine Käthe Elise was born on 4 March 1920. They lived at Hohenzollern Straße 19 (now Hiroshima Straße) in Tiergarten. In late 1933 the street was renamed Graf Spee Straße.
For almost 30 years, Bruno Weyl worked for Siemens-Schuckert as an electrical engineer. Holding the rank of an ‘Oberbeamter’ (senior public servant), he was entrusted with managerial and administrative tasks. On 1 October 1938, aged 57, he was forced to take early retirement due to his Jewish background. At around the same time, he moved with his wife and 18-year-old daughter into a 3½-room apartment at Dortmunder Straße 6. In 1941 or 1942 he was made to perform forced labour at the Petrix works in Schöneweide, making batteries for the Germany army.
In mid-1942, Richard Freudenberg, an employee of the Schenker haulage company and a Gestapo agent, approached the Weyls with a deal. He claimed he had the necessary contacts to protect Bruno Weyl and his wife, who was classified as a ‘half Jew’, from deportation, or at least to ensure they were ‘only’ sent to Theresienstadt ghetto, where living conditions were better, so the Nazi propaganda maintained. He also hinted that if they did not pay, they would be taken away very soon. He wanted 6000 Reichmarks for his services. For fear of imminent deportation, Bruno and Marie-Luise Weyl agreed to the deal – despite being warned against it by their lawyer. They gained a partial release on the mortgage of a house they owned in Skalitzer Straße and paid two instalments of 2000 Reichmarks to Richard Freudenberg. As it transpired, his promises had been false. In late February 1943, during the Nazis’ ‘factory campaign’, Bruno Weyl was arrested at his workplace. Richard Freudenberg then called on the Weyl family to say that everything was going to plan. He sent them Bruno Weyl’s regards, took a case of clothing for him, and reminded them that they owed him another 2000 Reichmarks. Following her husband’s arrest, Marie-Luise Weyl fled Berlin and lived illegally in Würzburg until Germany’s liberation by the Allies. Despite many misgivings, Bruno Weyl’s son eventually paid Richard Freudenberg the last instalment. It was not until much later that he found out that his father had already been deported to Auschwitz on 1 March 1943 and murdered there.


Biographical Compilation

Julia Chaker

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Additional Sources

Kauperts, Straßenführer durch Berlin;
Wikipedia, Art. Theodor Weyl

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Bruno Weyl

VERLEGEORT
Hiroshimastr. 19

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Mitte – Tiergarten
VERLEGEDATUM
Dezember 2006

GEBOREN
10.07.1881 in Erlangen
DEPORTATION
am 01.03.1943 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Bruno Hermann Weyl wurde am 10. Juli 1881 in Erlangen geboren. Sein Vater Prof. Dr. Theodor Weyl (1851–1913) war ein bekannter Arzt und Chemiker aus Berlin, der damals als Dozent an der Universität Erlangen lehrte. Er war Herausgeber des ersten Handbuchs der organischen Chemie sowie eines mehrbändigen Standardwerks der Hygiene. Brunos Mutter Elise Weyl (geb. Weinberg) stammte aus Danzig und war eine Cousine seines Vaters. Ab 1883 wuchs Bruno Weyl in Berlin auf, wo sein Vater am Hygieneinstitut der Technischen Hochschule und ab 1888 am Robert-Koch-Institut tätig war und später eine eigene Praxis eröffnete. In Berlin kam am 20. Dezember 1886 Bruno Weyls Bruder Erich zur Welt.

Nach dem Abitur absolvierte Bruno Weyl ein Ingenieursstudium an der Technischen Hochschule Berlin, das er als Diplom-Ingenieur abschloss. Am 9. Mai 1913 heiratete er die drei Jahre jüngere gebürtige Berlinerin Marie-Luise Fraentzel. Sie war eine Enkelin des berühmten jüdischen Arztes Ludwig Traube (1818–1876), ihr Onkel war der gleichnamige Philologe. Am 5. Januar 1915 wurde Bruno Weyls Sohn Heinrich Theodor Max Horst (genannt Heinz) geboren, am 4. März 1920 kam seine Tochter Sabine Käthe Elise zur Welt. Die Familie wohnte in der Hohenzollernstraße 19 (heute Hiroshimastraße) in Berlin-Tiergarten, die Ende 1933 in Graf-Spee-Straße umbenannt wurde.

Knapp 30 Jahre lang war Bruno Weyl als Elektroingenieur bei der Firma Siemens-Schuckert beschäftigt. Als sogenannter Oberbeamter war er mit Leitungs- und Verwaltungsfunktionen betraut. Am 1. Oktober 1938 wurde er aufgrund seiner jüdischen Abstammung mit nur 57 Jahren vorzeitig in den Ruhestand versetzt. Etwa zur gleichen Zeit zog er mit seiner Frau und seiner 18-jährigen Tochter in eine 3½-Zimmer-Wohnung in der Dortmunder Straße 6. Im Jahr 1941 oder 1942 wurde er zur Zwangsarbeit bei den Pertrix-Werken in Schöneweide verpflichtet, die Batterien für die Wehrmacht herstellten.

Mitte 1942 schlug Richard Freudenberg, ein Mitarbeiter der Speditionsfirma Schenker und Agent der Gestapo, dem Ehepaar Weyl ein Geschäft vor. Er behauptete, über die nötigen Beziehungen zu verfügen, um Bruno Weyl und dessen Frau, die eine sogenannte Geltungsjüdin war, vor einer Deportation schützen zu können bzw. dafür zu sorgen, dass sie „nur“ ins Ghetto Theresienstadt kämen, von dem die nationalsozialistische Propaganda behauptete, dort herrschten privilegierte Lebensbedingungen. Gleichzeitig deutete er an, dass sie, falls sie nicht zahlten, mit einer baldigen Verschleppung rechnen müssten. Als Gegenleistung verlangte er 6000 Reichsmark. Aus Angst vor einer drohenden Deportation ließen sich Bruno und Marie-Luise Weyl – trotz der Warnungen ihres Anwalts – auf das Geschäft ein. Sie veräußerten eine Teilhypothek, die sie auf ein Haus in der Skalitzer Straße besaßen, und zahlten zweimal 2000 Reichsmark an Richard Freudenberg. Wie sich herausstellen sollte, handelte es sich um leere Versprechungen. Ende Februar 1943 wurde Bruno Weyl während der sogenannten Fabrikaktion an seiner Arbeitsstelle verhaftet. Richard Freudenberg tauchte daraufhin bei dessen Familie auf und behauptete, es liefe alles wie geplant. Er richtete Grüße von Bruno Weyl aus und nahm einen Koffer mit Kleidung für ihn mit. Gleichzeitig erinnerte er an die noch ausstehenden 2000 Reichsmark. Marie-Luise Weyl floh nach der Verhaftung ihres Mannes aus Berlin und lebte bis zur Befreiung durch die Alliierten illegal in Würzburg. Trotz großer Bedenken zahlte Bruno Weyls Sohn nach einiger Zeit die geforderte Summe an Richard Freudenberg. Erst viel später erfuhr er, dass sein Vater bereits am 1. März 1943 nach Auschwitz deportiert und dort ermordet worden war.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Julia Chaker

Weitere Quellen

Kauperts, Straßenführer durch Berlin;
Wikipedia, Art. Theodor Weyl