Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dr. Hans Georg Wolff

Stolperstein für Hans Georg Wolff. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Bundesratufer 1

DISTRICT
Mitte – Moabit
STONE WAS LAID
May 2004

BORN
12/11/1879 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
on the 19th of October 1942 to Riga
MURDERED
in Ghetto Riga

Hans Georg Wolff was born on 11 December 1879 in Berlin. He and his wife Henriette had a daughter, Elisabeth, who was born in Berlin in 1926. A doctor of chemistry, Hans Georg Wolff worked as a sworn expert on paint and varnish for clients including the Chamber of Industry and Commerce.
The Wolff family lived initially at Philippstraße 3 in Berlin-Mitte. In 1926 they moved out to Waidmannslust but returned to central Berlin in 1930, taking an apartment at Luisenstraße 21. In 1934 they moved once again, this time to Bundesratufer 1 in Moabit. Hans Georg Wolff set up a laboratory at Luisenstraße for his work.
His daughter Elisabeth Wolff attended the private Jewish school Zickel, and later the Jewish school at Klopstockstraße 58, until all Jewish schools were closed in June 1942. Dr. Hans Georg Wolff was made to check rust-proofing paint for naval submarines in his laboratory from 1937 onwards. In 1942 he performed forced labour for the company Warnecke und Böhm in Weißensee.
The entire family was deported to Riga on the “21st transport to the east” on 19 October 1942 and has been classified missing ever since.


Biographical Compilation

Bürgerverein Luisenstadt e. V.

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dr. Hans Georg Wolff

Stolperstein für Hans Georg Wolff. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Bundesratufer 1

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Mitte – Moabit
VERLEGEDATUM
Mai 2004

GEBOREN
11.12.1879 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
am 19.10.1942 nach Riga
ERMORDET
im Ghetto Riga

Hans Georg Wolff wurde am 11. Dezember 1879 in Berlin geboren. Mit seiner Frau Henriette hatte er eine Tochter, Elisabeth, die 1926 in Berlin zur Welt kam. Der promovierte Chemiker war in Berlin als vereidigter Sachverständiger für Farben und Lacke tätig, u.a. für die Industrie- und Handelskammer.

Die Familie wohnte erst in der Philippstr. 3 in Berlin-Mitte, zog 1926 nach Waidmannslust um, doch 1930 wieder ins Zentrum Berlins zurück, in die Luisenstr. 21. Im Jahr 1934 zog die Familie wieder um, diesmal nach Moabit, Bundesratufer 1. In der Luisenstraße richtete Hans Georg Wolff sich ein Labor für seine Arbeit ein.

Die Tochter Elisabeth Wolff besuchte die jüdische Privatschule Zickel, später die jüdische Volksschule in der Klopstockstraße 58, bis im Juni 1942 alle jüdischen Schulen aufgelöst wurden. Dr. Hans Georg Wolff, der in seinem Labor ab 1937 für die Marine Rostschutzfarbe für U-Boote prüfen musste, wurde 1942 als Zwangsarbeiter eingesetzt, bei der Firma Warnecke und Böhm in Weißensee.

Die gesamte Familie wurde am 19. Oktober 1942 mit dem „21. Osttransport“ nach Riga deportiert und gilt seither als verschollen.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Bürgerverein Luisenstadt e. V.