Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Samuel Silberstein

Stolpertein Samuel Silberstein Bild: Stolpersteine-Initiative Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf
LOCATION
Fritschestr. 54

DISTRICT
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
STONE WAS LAID
02/25/2020

BORN
1868 in Löbau in Westpreußen / Lubawa
OCCUPATION
Textilkaufmann
DEPORTATION
on the 16th of December 1942 to Theresienstadt
MURDERED
May 1944 in Theresienstadt

Samuel Silberstein was born in 1868 with the given name Schmul in Löbau/West Prussia. His parents were Wolf and Minna Silberstein. In 1896, at the age of 28, he married Ernestine Feibel. She was three years younger and came from a town nearby.
Their first son died soon after birth. Their daughter Meta was born 1898, followed by Hermann in 1899 and then Walter in 1901.
Löbau boasted an active Jewish community, but from the 1880s many Jewish families left the town in hope of a better life in a bigger city. This was also the reason why the Silbersteins left Löbau behind in the early 1900s and settled down 550 km further west in Berlin. The twins Bianka and Martin were born in Berlin in 1909.
The Silbersteins were liberal Jews; the children attended public schools and grew up in upper middle class prosperity. After changing homes several times within Berlin, the Silbersteins moved into a comfortable four-room apartment in Fritschestr. 54 in Charlottenburg. Samuel was self-employed as a textile merchant and had a shop on Fritzstraße in Charlottenburg. He was traveling a lot due to his profession, but he was passionate when it came to the education and career choices of his children. Back then, "Schmuhl" was used as a derogatory term and curse word against Jews; this is probably why Samuel took on this adaptation of his given name soon after arriving in Berlin.
The children described family life as harmonious and their childhood as happy and carefree. It is not known whether it was primarily due to the close family ties why Hermann and the twins continued to live in their family home even as adults.
At the beginning of 1933, the first big cloud cast over the family. Martin, who within a few years had built an impressive career with his own clothing company in Berlin's fashion district, became unemployed as a direct result of the Nazi boycott of Jewish businesses. After that and the years that followed, as a Jew, he was unable to find a permanent position. Documents hint that it was likely also the reason why his father's business declined significantly during the course of the 1930s.
On November 10, 1938, Samuel and his son Hermann experienced first hand the brutal terror against Jews during the formerly so-called “Reichskristallnacht”. They were attacked by a mob in Hermann's shop on Kronenstr. 56. Miraculously, Samuel got away unharmed, but Hermann barely survived. He suffered significant injuries to his head and, due to internal bleeding, lost his hearing permanently. The little that Samuel had been able to save from the inventories in the aftermath, whilst his son Hermann was recovering in hospital, was lost shortly afterwards. Hermann was forced to shut down his business, thereby also losing his livelihood.
This was probably the most decisive event in the history of the Silberstein family, which not only marked the transition from systematic discrimination and disenfranchisement to systematic annihilation; it also marked the beginning of a drastic social decline and the disruption of the Silberstein family. Hermann, Martin and Bianka managed to escape abroad in 1939/1940; Bianka found refuge in London, while Hermann and Martin escaped to the USA; Hermann via Shanghai. The lives of all three siblings remained difficult until the end, marked by the loss of the family, a lack of professional prospects and precarious financial situations also caused by considerable persecution related health problems.
Samuel and Ernestine remained in Germany – were they indecisive about fleeing, or were they lacking the financial means? The family's former wealth had presumably shrunk considerably by that time, especially since Jews were increasingly deprived of funds through "Jewish property levies" etc. In the meantime, it had become almost impossible, especially for older people, to get an entry permit to another country. It is also unclear why Meta stayed in Berlin, but as the oldest of the children, she certainly felt responsible for her parents.
In 1941, Samuel and Ernestine were forced to move out of their home in Fritschestraße and to leave behind almost all of their remaining possessions. They were taken to the old people's home on Grosse Hamburger Straße. With the start of the deportations to Theresienstadt in early June 1942, the building was converted into a collection point; the furniture was removed to accommodate as many people as possible. Instead of beds, there was only straw on the bare floor; the windows were barred.
It is unknown whether, and if so under what circumstances, there could have still been encounters between the parents and their daughter Meta. At the end of October 1942, Meta and her husband Bruno Pohle (see the stumbling stones at Bismarckstraße 108 in Charlottenburg) were deported to Riga. Samuel and Ernestine were to never see any of their children again. Almost two months later, on December 16, 1942, they were deported to Theresienstadt in one of the so-called “old age transports”. Ernestine died in August 1943; Samuel somehow managed to survive until May 1944.


Biographical Compilation

Kerstin Pohle

English Translation

Kerstin Pohle, Berlin

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Samuel Silberstein

Stolpertein Samuel Silberstein Bild: Stolpersteine-Initiative Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf
VERLEGEORT
Fritschestr. 54

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
VERLEGEDATUM
25.02.2020

GEBOREN
1868 in Löbau in Westpreußen / Lubawa
BERUF
Textilkaufmann
DEPORTATION
am 16.12.1942 nach Theresienstadt
ERMORDET
Mai 1944 in Theresienstadt

Samuel Silberstein wurde 1868 als Schmul Silberstein in Löbau/Westpreußen geboren. Seine Eltern waren Wolf und Minna Silberstein. Im Alter von 28 Jahren heiratete er 1896 die drei Jahre jüngere Ernestine Feibel. Sie kam aus einer Nachbargemeinde.
Der erste Sohn starb bald nach der Geburt. Töchterchen Meta wurde 1898 geboren, Sohn Hermann im Dezember 1899. Der 1901 ebenfalls in Löbau geborene Sohn Walter starb als junger Mann an einer Lungenentzündung.
Löbau hatte einst eine lebendige jüdische Gemeinde, aber ab den 1880er-Jahren verließen viele jüdische Familien die Stadt, weil sie in größeren Städten eine bessere Zukunft sahen. So siedelten auch die Silbersteins Anfang des neuen Jahrhunderts in das rund 550 km entfernte Berlin um. Dort kamen 1909 noch die Nachzügler Bianka und Martin, ein Zwillingspärchen, zur Welt.
Die Silbersteins waren liberale Juden. Die Kinder besuchten öffentliche Schulen und wuchsen in großbürgerlichem Wohlstand auf. Nach mehreren Umzügen innerhalb Berlins bezogen die Silbersteins eine komfortable 4-Zimmer-Wohnung in der Fritschestr. 54 in Charlottenburg. Samuel Silberstein war als Textilkaufmann selbstständig und hatte ein Geschäft in der Fritzstraße in Charlottenburg. Er war beruflich viel unterwegs, begleitete seine Sprösslinge aber eng bei der Ausbildung und Berufswahl. „Schmuhl“ wurde schon damals als Spott- und Schimpfwort gegen Juden gebraucht; vermutlich nannte sich der Familienvater deshalb bald nach der Ankunft in Berlin nur noch Samuel.
Das Familienleben wurde von den Kindern als harmonisch, ihre Kindheit als glücklich und unbeschwert beschrieben. Ob es primär am engen familiären Zusammenhalt lag, dass Hermann und die Zwillinge auch im Erwachsenenalter noch in der elterlichen Wohnung wohnten, ist nicht überliefert.
Anfang 1933 fiel der erste große Schatten auf die Familie. Martin, der eine beeindruckende Karriere in einem Konfektionsbetrieb in Berlins Konfektionsviertel um den Hausvogteiplatz gemacht hatte, wurde infolge der Judenboykotte arbeitslos und konnte auch in den Jahren danach keine Festanstellung mehr finden. Die gefundenen Unterlagen deuten darauf hin, dass auch die Geschäftstätigkeit des Vaters in Laufe der 1930er-Jahre deutlich zurückging.
Am 10. November 1938 erlebten Samuel und Sohn Hermann in dessen Ladengeschäft in der Kronenstr. 56 die Gewaltexzesse des Novemberterrors. Wie durch ein Wunder überlebte der Vater unverletzt; Hermann aber kam nur knapp mit dem Leben davon und verlor kurz später mit seiner Firma seine wirtschaftliche Existenz.
Dies dürfte das einschneidendste Ereignis in der Familiengeschichte der Silbersteins gewesen sein, das nicht nur den Übergang von systematischer Diskriminierung und Entrechtung zur systematischen Vernichtung markierte; es bedeutete auch den Beginn eines drastischen sozialen Abstiegs und den Zerfall der Familie Silberstein. Hermann, Martin und Bianka gelang 1939/1940 die Flucht ins Ausland; Bianka lebte fortan in London, während Hermann und Martin auf Umwegen in die USA gelangten. Aller dreier Weg blieb aber bis zum Ende sehr steinig, geprägt vom Verlust der Familie, fehlenden beruflichen Perspektiven und wirtschaftlichen Notlagen, auch aufgrund erheblicher verfolgungsbedingter gesundheitlicher Probleme.
Die Eltern blieben in Deutschland. Sie hatten sich, aus welchen Gründen auch immer, nicht zur Flucht entschließen können. Oder fehlte es an den finanziellen Mitteln für eine Flucht? Der einstige Wohlstand der Familie dürfte zu dieser Zeit schon erheblich geschrumpft sein, zumal Juden immer mehr finanzielle Mittel über „Judenvermögensabgaben“ etc. entzogen wurden. Auch war es inzwischen insbesondere für ältere Menschen fast unmöglich geworden, eine Einreisegenehmigung in ein anderes Land zu bekommen. Ebenso ungeklärt ist, warum Meta in Berlin blieb, aber als Älteste der Kinder fühlte sie sich sicher besonders für die Eltern verantwortlich.
1941 wurden Samuel und Ernestine Silberstein gezwungen, ihr Zuhause in der Fritschestr. zu verlassen und fast ihren gesamten restlichen Besitz zurückzulassen. Sie wurden in das Altersheim in der Großen Hamburger Straße gebracht. Mit Beginn der Deportationen nach Theresienstadt Anfang Juni 1942 wurde das Gebäude zu einem Sammellager umfunktioniert; die Möbel wurden entfernt, um möglichst viele Menschen unterzubringen. Statt Betten gab es nur noch Stroh auf nacktem Boden; die Fenster wurden vergittert.
Ob und, falls ja, unter welchen Umständen es noch Begegnungen zwischen den Eltern und ihrer Tochter Meta geben konnte, ist nicht bekannt. Ende Oktober 1942 wurden Meta und ihr Mann Bruno Pohle (siehe die Stolpersteine in der Bismarckstr. 108 in Charlottenburg) nach Riga deportiert. Samuel und Ernestine Silberstein sollten keines ihrer Kinder je wiedersehen. Knapp zwei Monate später, am 16. Dezember 1942, wurden sie in einem der sogenannten Alterstransporte nach Theresienstadt deportiert. Ernestine starb im August 1943; Samuel schaffte es noch irgendwie, bis Mai 1944 zu überleben.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Kerstin Pohle