Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Katharina Abrahamsohn (born Lubczynski)

Katharina Abrahamsohn © Familienbesitz
Stolperstein Katharina Abrahamsohn © Dr. Petra T. Fritsche
LOCATION
Heilbronner Str. 21

DISTRICT
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Schöneberg
STONE WAS LAID
11/29/2021

BORN
05/20/1889 in Berlin
OCCUPATION
Näherin
DEPORTATION
on the 25th of January 1942 from Heibronner Str.21 to Riga
MURDERED
in Riga

Katharina Lubczynski was born on May 20, 1889 in Berlin. She was the daughter of Siegfried Lubczynski and his wife Henriette.
Katharina had a younger sister, Charlotte Wally, born on May 8, 1895 and an older sister, Anna Irma, born in Posen, on February 27, 1888.

Katharina became a seamstress, and in 1919 married Dr. Wilhelm Abrahamsohn, a lawyer. Like many German Jews, he had fought in World War I and had been awarded a medal.
Their daughter Hortense Daisy Natalie was born on September 3, 1921, followed by their son Günther Gerd Siegfried on October 27, 1926.

Katharina's husband Wilhelm had his practice in Schellingstraße, privately the family lived in Martin-Luther-Straße 54 from 1930. Wilhelm went on excursions with the children and went swimming with them. The family also took vacations on the islands of Norderney and Föhr.

In 1932, Wilhelm Abrahamsohn committed suicide. After her husband's death, Katharina suffered a nervous breakdown and was depressed. She sought relief by traveling and seeking treatment at spas.
During this time, her children stayed with friendly neighbors, the couple Jacob and Bessy Ginsberger. While the Abrahamsohn family had professed Reform Judaism and were not very religious, the Ginsberger family belonged to Orthodox Judaism. Daisy adopted the Orthodox rites and attitudes, so when she returned to her mother's household, tensions arose. Daisy insisted on a kosher diet, while Katharina and Günther followed the religious rules more loosely.

Even after the death of her husband, Katharina Abrahamsohn was relatively wealthy: she owned an Opel limousine, which she did not drive herself, but hired a chauffeur. In 1933, she moved to Heilbronner Straße 21 into a 3 ½ room apartment with dignified furnishings. She also owned jewelry, a securities account and a life insurance policy, as well as shares in two properties in Berlin.

Günther didn’t remember being threatened anti-Semitically during his school years. He also felt protected by his mother, who never spoke to him about the danger posed by the Nazis. Daisy, the older sister, felt very much threatened by the Nazis. She once silently rebelled against the required Hitler salute in her school class by doing it with her left arm.

Katharina and her friend Georg Ehrenfried prepared for the departure of the children who had attended the private Kaliski forest school. Daisy attended Hachschara camps, where young people were prepared for life in Palestine, and emigrated to Palestine in November 1938. She was seventeen years old. Her mother paid the costs of emigration and financed a two-year education in Palestine.

Günther was still able to attend an Aliya school in 1939; in July, Katharina organized a children transport to England for him; he was twelve years old.

Katharina planned to emigrate as well and learned English. In her letters she asked Daisy about possibilities for herself to emigrate to Palestine as well. She also asked whether it would be possible to obtain an entry permit for America or France. Her credit balances at the bank had been confiscated, she had had to hand over all valuables. In her letters to the children, she did not write how she and other Jews in Berlin were harassed.

Georg Ehrenfried, Katharina's friend, had fled to Switzerland.

Until the end, Katharina hoped to be reunited with her children.

Katharina Abrahamsohn was deported to Riga on January 25, 1942 with the 10th Osttransport. She is on the transport list of the GESTAPO as "No.723" of 1,000 Berlin Jews on this transport.
The date of her death is unknown. It is very likely that Katharina Abrahamsohn was murdered immediately after her arrival during the mass shootings in the forests of Riga.
Katharina and Wilhelm Abrahamsohn share a gravestone in the Weißensee Cemetery in Berlin.

Charlotte Wally, the younger sister of Katharina, had fled to Shanghai with her husband, Siegmund Steilberg, a bank clerk. In 1947, they were able to leave for the USA. Charlotte died there in 1984.

In 1952, Katharina's children met again for the first time. Daisy had married Shlomo Denn in 1943, who was also from Germany. Their children are Ruthi, Rachel, Mati and Avi.
Daisy died in 2013, having added a testimony page for her mother in Yad Vashem in 1999.
Günther Abrahamsohn moved to Canada and married Inge Hamann, who was also from Berlin; he died in Canada in 2016.

Daisy had kept her mother's letters in a shoebox. After Daisy's oldest daughter Ruthi found documents about her mother Katharina's life in the Jewish Museum in Berlin, Daisy told her daughter about the letters. Ruthi translated them into Hebrew and showed them to the actors and director of the Heidelberg Theater, who had come to Tel Aviv to do research for a play about German Jews in Israel. Katharina's letters contributed to the content of the play. It is entitled: They Call Me Jecke. The documentary play was performed in Heidelberg in January 2010 and in Tel Aviv in September of the same year. One of the Israeli actors was Ruthi's son Shahar Gafni.


Biographical Compilation

Dr. Petra T. Fritsche

English Translation

Dr. Petra T. Fritsche

Additional Sources

Biografisches Album für Daisy und Günther Abrahamsohn in der Ausstellung "Wir waren Nachbarn"
Transportliste "Statistik des Holocaust"
Mapping the Lives, Ancestry
List of alien Passengers for the US, January 9,1947

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Katharina Abrahamsohn (geb. Lubczynski)

Katharina Abrahamsohn © Familienbesitz
Stolperstein Katharina Abrahamsohn © Dr. Petra T. Fritsche
VERLEGEORT
Heilbronner Str. 21

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Schöneberg
VERLEGEDATUM
29.11.2021

GEBOREN
20.05.1889 in Berlin
BERUF
Näherin
DEPORTATION
am 25.01.1942 von Heibronner Str.21 nach Riga
ERMORDET
in Riga

Katharina Lubczynski kam am 20. Mai 1889 in Berlin als Tochter des Siegfried Lubczynski und seiner Frau Henriette zur Welt.
Katharina hatte eine jüngere Schwester, Charlotte Wally, geboren am 8. Mai 1895 und eine ältere Schwester, Anna Irma, geboren am 27. Februar 1888 in Posen.

Katharina wurde Näherin und heiratete 1919 den Rechtsanwalt Dr. Wilhelm Abrahamsohn. Wie viele deutsche Juden hatte auch er im Ersten Weltkrieg gekämpft und war mit einem Orden ausgezeichnet worden.
Die Tochter Daisy Hortense Natalie kam am 3. September 1921 zur Welt, es folgte der Sohn Günther Gerd Siegfried am 27. Oktober 1926.

Katharinas Mann Wilhelm hatte seine Praxis in der Schellingstraße, privat wohnte die Familie ab 1930 in der Martin-Luther-Straße 54. Wilhelm unternahm Ausflüge mit den Kindern, ging mit ihnen schwimmen. Auch machte die Familie Urlaub auf den Inseln Norderney und Föhr.

1932 beging Wilhelm Abrahamsohn Suizid. Nach dem Tod ihres Mannes erlitt Katharina einen Nervenzusammenbruch und hatte Depressionen. Sie suchte Linderung, indem sie reiste und sich in Kurbädern behandeln ließ.
Während dieser Zeit befanden sich ihre Kinder bei befreundeten Nachbarn, dem Ehepaar Jacob und Bessy Ginsberger. Während sich die Familie Abrahamsohn zum reformierten Judentum bekannt hatte bzw. wenig religiös war, gehörte die Familie Ginsberger dem orthodoxen Judentum an. Daisy übernahm die orthodoxen Riten und Einstellungen, so dass es nach der Rückkehr in den mütterlichen Haushalt zu Spannungen kam. Daisy bestand auf koscherer Ernährung, während Katharina und Günther die religiösen Vorschriften lockerer befolgten.

Auch nach dem Tod ihres Mannes war Katharina Abrahamsohn verhältnismäßig wohlhabend: So besaß sie eine Limousine der Marke Opel, die sie allerdings nicht selbst lenkte, hierfür nahm sie sich einen Chauffeur. Sie zog 1933 in die Heilbronner Straße 21 in eine 3 ½ Zimmer Wohnung mit gediegener Einrichtung. Auch besaß sie Schmuck, ein Wertpapierdepot und eine Lebensversicherung, ferner gehörten ihr Anteile von zwei Grundstücken in Berlin.

Günther erinnerte sich nicht, während seiner Schulzeit antisemitisch bedroht worden zu sein. Auch fühlte er sich von seiner Mutter beschützt, die nie mit ihm über die Gefahr sprach, die von den Nazis drohte. Daisy, die ältere Schwester, fühlte sich sehr wohl bedroht von den Nazis. Einmal rebellierte sie still gegen den verlangten Hitlergruß in ihrer Schulklasse, indem sie ihn mit dem linken Arm machte.

Katharina und ihr Freund Georg Ehrenfried bereiteten die Ausreise der Kinder vor, die die private Waldschule Kaliski besucht hatten. Daisy besuchte Hachschara-Lager, in denen Jugendliche auf das Leben in Palästina vorbereitet wurden und emigrierte im November 1938 nach Palästina. Sie war siebzehn Jahre alt. Ihre Mutter bezahlte die Kosten der Auswanderung und finanzierte eine zweijährige Ausbildung in Palästina.

Günther konnte noch 1939 eine Aliya-Schule besuchen; im Juli organisierte Katharina für ihn einen Kindertransport nach England; er war zwölf Jahre alt.
Katharina plante, ebenfalls zu emigrieren und lernte Englisch. In ihren Briefen fragte sie Daisy nach Möglichkeiten für sich selbst, ebenfalls nach Palästina zu emigrieren. Auch fragte sie danach, ob es möglich wäre, eine Einreise-Genehmigung für Amerika oder Frankreich zu bekommen.
Ihre Guthaben bei der Bank waren eingezogen worden, alle Wertsachen hatte sie abgeben müssen. In ihren Briefen an die Kinder schrieb sie nicht, wie sie und andere Juden in Berlin drangsaliert wurden.

Georg Ehrenfried, der Freund von Katharina, war in die Schweiz geflohen.

Katharina hoffte bis zum Schluss, mit ihren Kindern wieder vereint zu werden.
Katharina Abrahamsohn wurde am 25. Januar 1942 mit dem 10. Osttransport nach Riga deportiert. Sie steht auf der Transportliste der GESTAPO als „Nr.723“ von 1.000 Berliner Juden und Jüdinnen dieses Transports.
Ihr Todesdatum ist unbekannt. Mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit ist Katharina Abrahamsohn unmittelbar nach ihrer Ankunft bei den Massenerschießungen in den Wäldern von Riga ermordet worden.
Katharina und Wilhelm Abrahamsohn haben einen gemeinsamen Grabstein auf dem Friedhof Weißensee in Berlin.

Charlotte Wally, die jüngere Schwester von Katharina, war mit ihrem Ehemann, dem Bankbeamten Siegmund Steilberg, nach Shanghai geflohen. 1947 konnten sie in die USA ausreisen. Charlotte starb dort 1984.

1952 trafen sich Katharinas Kinder erstmals wieder. Daisy hatte 1943 Shlomo Denn geheiratet, der ebenfalls aus Deutschland stammte. Ihre Kinder sind Ruthi, Rachel, Mati und Avi.
Daisy starb 2013. Im Jahr 1999 hatte sie ein Gedenkblatt für ihre Mutter in Yad Vashem hinterlegt.
Günther zog nach Kanada und heiratete Inge Hamann, die ebenfalls aus Berlin stammte; er starb 2016 in Kanada.

Daisy hatte die Briefe ihrer Mutter in einem Schuhkarton aufbewahrt. Nachdem Daisys älteste Tochter Ruthi im Jüdischen Museum Berlin Dokumente zum Leben ihrer Mutter Katharina gefunden hatte, erzählte Daisy ihrer Tochter von den Briefen. Ruthi übersetzte sie in Hebräisch und zeigte sie den Schauspielern und der Regisseurin des Heidelberger Theaters, die nach Tel Aviv gekommen waren, um für ein Stück über deutsche Juden in Israel zu recherchieren. Die Briefe von Katharina trugen zum Inhalt des Theaterstücks bei. Es hat den Titel: Sie nennen mich Jecke. Das dokumentarische Theaterstück wurde im Januar 2010 in Heidelberg und im gleichen Jahr im September in Tel Aviv gespielt. Einer der israelischen Schauspieler war Ruthis Sohn Shahar Gafni.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dr. Petra T. Fritsche

Weitere Quellen

Biografisches Album für Daisy und Günther Abrahamsohn in der Ausstellung "Wir waren Nachbarn"
Transportliste "Statistik des Holocaust"
Mapping the Lives, Ancestry
List of alien Passengers for the US, January 9,1947