Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dr. Julius Rothholz

Julius Rothholz © OTFW
LOCATION
Friedbergstr. 7

DISTRICT
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
STONE WAS LAID
11/10/2013

BORN
12/06/1864 in Schwersenz / Swarzędz
FLIGHT INTO DEATH
02/02/1939 in Berlin

Dr. Julius Rothholz was from Schwersenz, near Posen, and was born on December 6, 1864. His father was a tradesman.

Julius Rothholz studied mathematics, statistics, and economics at university and earned a doctorate for his study on Fermat’s theorem (Giessen, 1892). He worked as a teacher until being hired as a statistician in Berlin’s state insurance agency in 1898, where he eventually became the head of the statistics department. He published many different articles on statistics (e.g., “Die deutschen Juden in Zahl und Bild” (German Jews in Numbers and Images, Berlin, 1925). He was awarded the Red Cross Medal and the Merit Cross for his work as a member of the city council and the guardianship council and as one of the founders of an organization that helped people find employment.

On October 16, 1898, he married Martha Bloch. In 1901, the two of them bought the house at Friedbergstrasse 7 with Martha’s dowry. The couple had three children – Bertha (1900–1993), Alfred (1903–1994), and Therese (1906–1943) – and four grandchildren. In 1939, Alfred managed to escape to New York with his wife Käthe and daughter Luisa, where he – although he had been an engineer in Germany – was only able to work as a mechanic.

Therese, her husband Franz Joseph Unger, and their son Heinz Joachim were murdered in 1943 in Auschwitz and Sobibor. Bertha’s husband Max Platschek, the owner of a garment factory, was supposed to have been arrested and sent to a concentration camp in connection with the “Night of Broken Glass” in November 1938, but Julius Rothholz was warned in advance by friends, and he helped his daughter Bertha, her husband, and their two sons, Hans and Karl, to escape.

Dr. Julius Rothholz committed suicide on February 2, 1939, in order to avoid being arrested by the Gestapo.

Bertha Platschek and her family were able to start a new life in Montevideo, Uruguay. Her son Karl became a successful engineer in Venezuela and the United States, while her son Hans returned to Germany in 1953 and made a name for himself as a painter and a writer.


Biographical Compilation

Gregor Strick

English Translation

Research and text: Gregor Strick

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Dr. Julius Rothholz

VERLEGEORT
Friedbergstr. 7

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
VERLEGEDATUM
10.11.2013

GEBOREN
06.12.1864 in Schwersenz / Swarzędz
FLUCHT IN DEN TOD
02.02.1939 in Berlin

Dr. Julius Rothholz stammte aus Schwersenz bei Posen (heute: Swarzędz / Polen). Er war am 6. Dezember 1864 geboren worden. Sein Vater war Kaufmann.

Julius Rothholz studierte Mathematik, Statistik und Nationalökonomie und promovierte sich mit einer Studie zum Fermat’schen Lehrsatz (Gießen 1892). Bis er 1898 als Statistiker in die Berliner Landesversicherungsanstalt eintrat, arbeitete er als Lehrer. In der Versicherung stieg er zum Leiter der statistischen Abteilung auf. Er veröffentlichte zahlreiche Beiträge zu statistischen Themen (z.B. „Die deutschen Juden in Zahl und Bild“, Berlin 1925). Für sein Engagement als Stadtverordneter, Waisenrat und Mitgründer des Berliner Arbeitsvermittlungs-Vereins verlieh man ihm die Rote Kreuz-Medaille und das Verdienstkreuz.

Am 16. Oktober 1898 heiratete er Martha Bloch. Im Jahr 1901 erwarben die beiden mit Marthas Mitgift das Haus Friedbergstraße 7. Das Ehepaar hatte drei Kinder – Bertha (1900–1993), Alfred (1903–1994) und Therese (1906–1943) – und vier Enkel. Dem Sohn Alfred gelang 1939 mit Ehefrau Käthe und Tochter Luisa die Flucht nach New York, wo er, der in Deutschland Ingenieur gewesen war, als Mechaniker arbeiten musste.

Therese, ihr Mann Franz Joseph Unger und ihr Sohn Heinz Joachim wurden im Jahr 1943 in Auschwitz und Sobibor ermordet. Berthas Ehemann Max Platschek, Inhaber einer Bekleidungsfabrik, hätte anlässlich der „Reichspogromnacht“ im November 1938 in ein KZ verschleppt werden sollen. Julius Rothholz wurde jedoch von Freunden vorher gewarnt. Daraufhin verhalf er seiner Tochter Bertha, ihrem Mann und ihren beiden Söhnen Hans und Karl zur Flucht.

Um seiner Verhaftung durch die Gestapo zu entgehen, floh Dr. Julius Rothholz am 2. Februar 1939 in den Tod. Seine Frau Martha wurde im November 1941 nach Riga deportiert und dort erschossen.

Bertha Platschek und ihre Familie indes konnten sich in Montevideo (Uruguay) ein neues Leben aufbauen. Ihr Sohn Karl machte in Venezuela und den USA Karriere als Ingenieur. Ihr Sohn Hans kehrte 1953 nach Deutschland zurück und erwarb sich einen Namen als Maler und Autor.


Gregor Strick