Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Jakob Bergoffen

Stolpersteine für Felli und Jakob Bergoffen © David Yates
LOCATION
Sophienstraße 6

DISTRICT
Mitte – Mitte
STONE WAS LAID
July 2010

BORN
05/15/1892 in Oberwaldenburg / Podgórze
OCCUPATION
Inhaber Farbenhandlung
DEPORTATION
on the 20th of July 1942 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
08/31/1942 in Auschwitz

Jakob Bergoffen was born on May 15th, 1892 in West Prussia in a town called Podgorz in the province Thorn (today: Podgórze/Poland). He and his wife Felli, née Singer, had two sons: Max was born in 1921 and Leo was born in 1922. The family lived in a spacious apartment in the yard VIII, staircase H in the big building of the Hackesche-Hof complex in the Rosenthaler Street 40/41 in Berlin. Jakob Bergoffen had a paint and varnish store in the nearby Oranienburger Street 12, where his wife, too, worked.

As many others, the economic and social pressure hit the Bergoffen family after 1933 – customers stayed away, and the turnover and benefit figures sank continuously. Finally Jakob Bergoffen was forced to sell his enterprise. Due to the economic emergency the negotiated price was, as usual, far lower than the equity. But even the agreed minimum price should never be paid in total by the acquiring party.

Because of the increasing harassments and attacks against Jewish inhabitants, the couple decided to emigrate to an alleged safety abroad. In the summer of 1938 the family moved to Prague. When the Wehrmacht marched into the city in the wake of the Munich Agreement and the break-up of the rest of Czechoslovakia in the following March, the couple and their younger son Leo managed to reach one of the last trains to France. Their son Max remained in Sudetenland for some months and visited a school for the time being. He then managed to reach England with a refugee transport. There he enlisted voluntarily for the Air Force and fought on the British side.

The second flight of Jakob, Felli and Leo Bergoffen ended in the city of Angers (Loire), where the family settled down and was able to live a fairly undisturbed life for some years. But in the middle of July 1942, they were arrested by French gendarmes and were deported from the station Angers-St. Laud to Auschwitz on July 20th, 1942. In this “convoy Nr. 8” more than 800 people were carried off from the occupied zone in France to the East, amongst them 200 French citizens. For the moment 390 women and 411 men were registered in the labour camp; 26 people died immediately after their arrival in the gas chambers.

The elderly couple Bergoffen was also murdered in Auschwitz. Jakob Bergoffen died on August 31st, 1942, the date of death of his wife Felli remains unknown.
Their son Leo managed to survive till the liberation of the camp on January, 27th 1945. He returned to Angers after the end of the war.
Max Bergoffen and his wife emigrated to Canada after the war.


Biographical Compilation

Wilfried Burkard

English Translation

Sophia Schmitz

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Jakob Bergoffen

Stolpersteine für Felli und Jakob Bergoffen © David Yates
VERLEGEORT
Sophienstraße 6

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Mitte – Mitte
VERLEGEDATUM
Juli 2010

GEBOREN
15.05.1892 in Oberwaldenburg / Podgórze
BERUF
Inhaber Farbenhandlung
DEPORTATION
am 20.07.1942 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
31.08.1942 in Auschwitz

Jakob Bergoffen wurde am 15. Mai 1892 im westpreußischen Podgorz im Kreis Thorn (heute: Podgórze/Polen) geboren. Aus der Ehe mit seiner Frau Felli, geb. Singer, gingen zwei Söhne hervor: Max (geb. 1921) und Leo (geb. 1922). Die Familie lebte in einer geräumigen Wohnung im Hof VIII/Aufgang H des Gebäudekomplexes Hackescher Hof in der Rosenthaler Str. 40/41.

Jakob Bergoffen betrieb in der nahegelegenen Oranienburger Str. 12 eine bekannte Lack- und Farbenhandlung, in der auch seine Ehefrau mitarbeitete.

Nach 1933 nahm der wirtschaftliche und soziale Druck auch auf die Familie Bergoffen stetig zu – Kunden blieben weg, Umsatz und Verdienst sanken stetig. Schließlich sah sich Jakob Bergoffen gezwungen, den Betrieb zu verkaufen. Der in dieser wirtschaftlichen Notsituation ausgehandelte Preis lag – wie üblich – um ein Vielfaches unter dem tatsächlichen Marktwert, aber selbst diesen vereinbarten Minderbetrag sollte der Käufer nie vollständig bezahlen.

Aufgrund der zunehmenden Schikanen und Übergriffe gegen jüdische Einwohner entschloss sich das Ehepaar schließlich zur Emigration ins vermeintlich rettende Ausland. Im Sommer 1938 übersiedelte die Familie nach Prag. Als hier im März des Folgejahres – nach Abschluss des Münchner Abkommens und der folgenden Zerschlagung der Rest-Tschechoslowakei – die deutsche Wehrmacht einmarschierte, gelang es dem Ehepaar, mit dem jüngeren Sohn Leo mit einem der letzten Züge nach Frankreich auszureisen. Sohn Max besuchte zunächst noch einige Monate eine Schule im Sudetenland und gelangte dann mit einem Flüchtlingstransport nach England. Hier meldete er sich später freiwillig zur Air-Force und kämpfte auf britischer Seite.

Die zweite Flucht von Jakob, Felli und Leo Bergoffen endete schließlich in der Stadt Angers (Loire), wo sich die Familie ansiedelte und einige Jahre weitgehend unbehelligt lebte. Mitte Juli 1942 wurden sie von französischen Gendarmen festgenommen und am 20. Juli 1942 vom Bahnhof Angers-St. Laud nach Auschwitz deportiert. Mit diesem „Convoy Nr. 8“ verschleppte man über 800 Personen aus der besetzten Zone Frankreichs nach Osten, darunter 200 französische Staatsbürger. 390 Frauen und 411 Männer wurden zunächst in das Arbeitslager eingewiesen; 26 Menschen starben unmittelbar nach Ankunft in der Gaskammer.

In Auschwitz wurde auch das Ehepaar Bergoffen ermordet: Jakob Bergoffen starb am 31. August 1942, der Todestag seiner Frau Felli ist unbekannt.

Ihrem Sohn Leo gelang es, bis zur Befreiung des Lagers am 27. Januar 1945 zu überleben. Er kehrte nach Kriegende nach Angers zurück.

Max Bergoffen wanderte nach dem Krieg mit seiner Ehefrau nach Kanada aus.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Wilfried Burkard