Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Edgar Lax

1936, Berlin: Edgar Lax als 13-Jähriger mit seinen Eltern Jacob und Amalie auf dem Balkon ihrer Wohnung in der Zimmerstraße 48. Foto privat/Familie Lax
Stolperstein Edgar Lax © Hans-Wilhelm-Saure
Stolpersteine Familie Lax © Hans-Wilhelm Saure
LOCATION
Zimmerstr. 48b

DISTRICT
Mitte – Mitte
STONE WAS LAID
02/26/2020

BORN
11/17/1923 in Berlin
ESCAPE
1939 Niederlande, England (Kindertransport)
SURVIVED

Edgar Lax was born in Berlin on 17 November 1923. He was the only child of Jacob Lax and his wife Amalie Lax, née Keins. Edgar had three half-siblings from his father’s first marriage to Esther Lax, who died in 1918. His half-brothers Paul and Edie died as children, and his brother Alois, 17 years Edgar’s senior, fled to Amsterdam in 1933, where he died of cancer in 1941. His father ran a wholesale womenswear shop in Berlin. The Jewish address book from 1931 says that the family initially lived at Markgrafenstraße 18, in Kreuzberg. Later, Amalie and Jacob Lax and their son Edgar moved a few hundred meters away, into a six-bedroom apartment with a balcony at Zimmerstraße 48b.
From Easter 1934 on, Edgar Lax attended the secondary school of the Jewish community in Berlin on Große Hamburger Straße. He witnessed the 1938 Kristallnacht in his parents’ apartment on Zimmerstraße, a few days before his fifteenth birthday.
In an interview with the Imperial War Museum in London in 2008, Edgar Lax described how his family had fearfully hidden in the apartment that night. They were afraid the Nazi mob on the street would read their name on the doorbell and storm the apartment. They slid a wardrobe in front of the door and survived the November Pogrom unharmed.
Edgar Lax left Berlin on 4 January 1939 with a children’s transport to Holland from Schlesischer Bahnhof. The train, carrying approximately one hundred girls and boys, left at 8:45 a.m. “Even on the platforms that were further away, one could still see people waving at us”, Edgar – who was also called Eddie – later wrote in his diary.
Edgar Lax and other Jewish children from Germany were accommodated in the so-called Dommelhuis in Eindhoven, Holland. After four months, out of concern, the helpers from the Jewish refugee organization sent him and half a dozen other children to England, because there was uncertainty about their citizenship. As Edgar Lax recounted in the interview with the British War Museum, he and these other children were the only ones in the group to avoid being deported to a concentration camp by the Germans later. On 17 April 1939, the children’s transport brought Edgar Lax to Hoek van Holland and then, on the ship “Vienna”, to Harwich, England. At first, he lived in Ipswich and was then taken in by a childless married couple in Northampton. Almost every day, he wrote letters to his parents in Berlin. They fled to Amsterdam in April 1940.
After the beginning of the Second World War, Edgar Lax and other Jewish refugees from Germany were temporarily detained as so-called “enemy aliens” at Prees Heath Camp.
It was only in August 1946 that Edgar Lax learned, in a letter from the Jewish refugee organization in Great Britain, that his parents had been deported to Auschwitz. He worked in England as a jeweler. On 12 June 1962, Edgar/Eddie Lax married his wife, Evelyn. Their sons, Daryl and Bobby, were born in 1965 and 1967. In 1989, Edgar Lax visited his hometown of Berlin for the first time since he had fled 50 years prior, for a school reunion. He died on 9 February 2013 in London, aged 89.
After his death, his sons discovered a suitcase belonging to their father in a garage. It contained photographs of the Lax family in Berlin, letters from Edgar’s parents, and documents. The sons and the widow are certain that the suitcase is the same one that Edgar Lax took with him when he left Berlin in 1939. On the occasion of the Stolperstein installation on 26 February 2020, his son Bobby brought the suitcase back from London to Berlin, on the same route that Edgar had taken when fleeing the Nazis, only in reverse. The family donated the suitcase to the Jewish Museum Berlin.


Biographical Compilation

Hans-Wilhelm Saure

English Translation

Michael Weh

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Edgar Lax

1936, Berlin: Edgar Lax als 13-Jähriger mit seinen Eltern Jacob und Amalie auf dem Balkon ihrer Wohnung in der Zimmerstraße 48. Foto privat/Familie Lax
Stolperstein Edgar Lax © Hans-Wilhelm-Saure
Stolpersteine Familie Lax © Hans-Wilhelm Saure
VERLEGEORT
Zimmerstr. 48b

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Mitte – Mitte
VERLEGEDATUM
26.02.2020

GEBOREN
17.11.1923 in Berlin
FLUCHT
1939 Niederlande, England (Kindertransport)
ÜBERLEBT

Edgar Lax wurde am 17. November 1923 in Berlin geboren. Er war das einzige gemeinsame Kind von Jacob Lax und seiner Frau Amalie Lax, geborene Keins. Edgar hatte drei Halbgeschwister aus der ersten Ehe seines Vaters mit der 1918 gestorbenen Esther Lax. Seine Halbbrüder Paul und Edie starben bereits als Kinder, sein 17 Jahre älterer Bruder Alois flüchtete 1933 nach Amsterdam und starb dort 1941 an Krebs. Sein Vater betrieb ein „Engros-Geschäft für Damenkonfektion“ in Berlin. Dem jüdischen Adressbuch von 1931 ist zu entnehmen, dass die Familie zunächst in der Markgrafenstraße 18 in Kreuzberg wohnte. Danach zogen Amalie und Jacob Lax mit ihrem Sohn Edgar wenige Hundert Meter weiter in eine 6-Zimmer-Wohnung mit Balkon in die Zimmerstrasse 48b.

Edgar Lax besuchte ab Ostern 1934 die Mittelschule für die jüdische Gemeinde zu Berlin in der Großen Hamburger Straße. Er erlebte die Reichspogromnacht 1938 wenige Tage vor seinem 15. Geburtstag in der elterlichen Wohnung in der Zimmerstraße.

In einem Interview mit dem Imperial War Museum in London beschrieb Edgar Lax 2008, wie seine Familie in dieser Nacht angstvoll in der Wohnung ausharrte. Sie fürchteten, dass der Nazi-Mob auf der Straße ihren Namen auf dem Klingenschild lesen und die Wohnung stürmen würde. Sie schoben einen Kleiderschrank vor ihre Wohnungstür, blieben in der Pogromnacht von Übergriffen verschont.

Edgar Lax verließ Berlin am 4. Januar 1939 vom Schlesischen Bahnhof mit einem Kindertransport nach Holland. Um 8.45 Uhr fuhr der Zug mit etwa 100 Jungen und Mädchen ab. „Selbst auf den weiter draußen liegenden Bahnsteigen sah man noch winkende Leute“, schrieb Edgar – genannt Eddie – später in ein Notizbuch.

Im sogenannten Dommelhuis in Eindhoven in Holland wurde Edgar Lax mit anderen jüdischen Kindern aus Deutschland untergebracht. Die Helfer der jüdischen Flüchtlingsorganisation schickten ihn und ein halbes Dutzend anderer Kinder aus dem Dommelhuis nach vier Monaten aus Sorge weiter nach England Der Grund: Es gab Unklarheiten mit der Staatsbürgerschaft. Wie Edgar Lax in dem Interview mit dem British War Museum berichtete, waren er und diese anderen Kinder die einzigen aus der Gruppe, die später von den Deutschen nicht in Konzentrationslager deportiert wurden. Am 17. April 1939 fuhr Edgar Lax mit dem Kindertransport weiter nach Hoek von Holland, setzte mit dem Schiff „Vienna“ nach Harwich in England über. Er lebte zunächst in Ipswich, danach bei einem kinderlosen Ehepaar in Northampton. Fast täglich schrieb er sich Briefe mit seinen Eltern in Berlin, die im April 1940 nach Amsterdam flüchteten.

Edgar Lax wird einige Zeit nach Ausbruch des Zweiten Weltkrieges als sogenannter „Enemy Alien“ mit anderen jüdischen Flüchtlingen aus Deutschland im Camp Prees Heath interniert.

Erst im August 1946 erfährt Edgar Lax durch ein Schreiben der jüdischen Flüchtlingsorganisation Großbritanniens, dass seine Eltern nach Auschwitz deportiert wurden. Er arbeitete in England als Schmuckhändler. Am 12. Juni 1962 heiratete Edgar/Eddie Lax seine Frau Evelyn. Die Söhne Daryl und Bobby kamen 1965 und 1967 zur Welt. 50 Jahre nach seiner Flucht besuchte Edgar Lax zu einem Klassentreffen 1989 erstmals wieder seine Geburtsstadt Berlin. Er starb am 9. Februar 2013 im Alter von 89 Jahren in London.

Nach seinem Tod entdeckten die Söhne in einer Garage einen Koffer ihres Vaters. Darin waren Bilder der Familie Lax aus Berlin, Briefe der Eltern an Edgar Lax und Dokumente. Die Söhne und die Witwe sind überzeugt, dass es sich bei dem Koffer um das Gepäckstück handelt, mit dem Edgar Lax 1939 Berlin verließ. Zur Stolpersteinverlegung am 26. Februar 2020 brachte sein Sohn Bobby den Koffer von London auf dem gleichen Weg zurück nach Berlin, über den Edgar in umgekehrter Richtung vor den Nazis geflohen war. Die Familie übergab den Koffer dem Jüdischen Museum Berlin.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Hans-Wilhelm Saure