Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Erna Edelstein

Stolperstein für Erna Edelstein. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Oranienstr. 198

DISTRICT
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg

BORN
03/07/1935 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
on the 3rd of March 1943 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Erna Edelstein was born on 7 March 1935, the youngest of four children born to Abraham and Bertha Edelstein in Berlin. Her parents, both devout Jews, had emigrated to the German Reich from Poland shortly after the end of the First World War.

When Erna Edelstein was born, the Nazis had been in power for two years. Erna possibly never knew her two eldest siblings, Rosa and Benno Edelstein (born 1919 and 1921 respectively). They managed to emigrate from the German Reich and so save their lives. Erna’s parents, Abraham and Bertha Edelstein, her older brother by eight years, Günther, and Erna herself stayed in Berlin. In 1938 the four remaining Edelsteins moved into a 1½ room apartment on the 3rd floor of the courtyard building at Oranien Strasse 198, Kreuzberg. Abraham Edelstein and his son Günther performed forced labour.

During the “factory campaign”, Erna was deported to Auschwitz on 3 March 1943, on the 33rd “transport to the East” along with her parents Abraham and Bertha. Erna Edelstein, still only seven years old, was probably murdered on arrival in the extermination camp’s gas chamber. None of the deported members of the Edelstein family survived the camp.


Biographical Compilation

Lorraine Bluche

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Erna Edelstein

Stolperstein für Erna Edelstein. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Oranienstr. 198

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg

GEBOREN
07.03.1935 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
am 03.03.1943 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Erna Edelstein wurde am 7. März 1935 als das jüngste von vier Kindern des Ehepaars Abraham und Bertha Edelstein in Berlin geboren. Ihre Eltern – beide gläubige Juden – waren kurz nach Ende des Ersten Weltkriegs aus Polen ins Deutsche Reich eingewandert.

Als Erna Edelstein zur Welt kam, waren die Nationalsozialisten bereits zwei Jahre an der Macht. Womöglich hat Erna ihre beiden ältesten Geschwister nie kennengelernt. Rosa und Benno Edelstein (geb. 1919 und 1921) gelang die Emigration aus dem Deutschen Reich. Dies rettete ihnen das Leben. Ernas Eltern Abraham und Bertha Edelstein, ihr acht Jahre älterer Bruder Günther und Erna selbst verblieben in Berlin. 1938 bezogen die vier Edelsteins eine 1 ½ Zimmer-Wohnung in der Kreuzberger Oranienstraße 198 im 3. Stock des Hinterhauses. Abraham Edelstein und sein Sohn Günther mussten Zwangsarbeit leisten.

Erna Edelstein wurde im Zuge der „Fabrikation“ gemeinsam mit ihren Eltern Abraham und Bertha am 3. März 1943 mit dem 33. „Osttransport“ nach Auschwitz verschleppt. Ihr Bruder Günther war bereits einen Tag zuvor mit dem 32. „Osttransport“ dorthin deportiert worden. Vermutlich wurde die erst siebenjährige Erna Edelstein direkt bei der Ankunft im Vernichtungslager in der Gaskammer ermordet. Keines der deportierten Mitglieder der Familie Edelstein überlebte das Vernichtungslager.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Lorraine Bluche