Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Max Kolsen

Max Kolsen © OTFW
LOCATION
Hornstr. 19

DISTRICT
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg
STONE WAS LAID
05/17/2006

BORN
10/12/1861 in Schwerin a. d. Warthe (Posen) / Skwierzyna
FLIGHT INTO DEATH
01/10/1942 in Berlin

Max Kolsen, a merchant, was born Max Fritz Oskar Cohn on 12 October 1861 in Schwerin an der Warthe. His parents were Efraim and Rosalie Cohn.

He gained official authorisation to change his name to Kolsen from the Berlin Police President on 28 April 1891. Max Kolsen also converted to the Protestant faith.

In April 1897 Max Kolsen married Marie Mathilde Anna Bartosik, a sales assistant, whose parents lived in Fürbringer Strasse in Berlin-Kreuzberg.

After their marriage, the couple lived for some years in Bergmann Strasse in Kreuzberg before moving to Yorck Strasse in 1903. In June 1919 Max Kolsen’s wife died after a long illness in the Charité hospital. Henceforth Max Kolsen lived at Möckern Strasse 63, in the same neighbourhood as his previous homes, and only a few metres from his last address at Horn Strasse 19.

Max Kolsen’s biography is perhaps typical of many people of his era with Jewish roots. In the latter part of the 19th century, an assimilation process took place in Germany in parallel with a political process of conceding more civil rights to Jews. But to gain full social recognition and equal job opportunities, many Jews converted to Christianity and changed their names. The Nazis compiled a so-called Jew file from Protestant church documents. This source, officially labelled the “non-natives index”, showed how successful assimilation had been: while there were 500,000 members of the Jewish Community living in the German Empire, there were almost as many Christians of Jewish descent.

It must have been horrifying for people like Max Kolsen, then, when the Nazis turned them back into Jews. Max Kolsen, like many others, was forced to vacate his apartment and move into a so-called Jew house in Horn Strasse. Forced labour, the seizure of his possessions and the loss of all hope for a life in dignity left him so desolate that on 10 January 1942 he took his own life.


Biographical Compilation

Burkhard Hawemann

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmueller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Max Kolsen

Max Kolsen © OTFW
VERLEGEORT
Hornstr. 19

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg – Kreuzberg
VERLEGEDATUM
17.05.2006

GEBOREN
12.10.1861 in Schwerin a. d. Warthe (Posen) / Skwierzyna
FLUCHT IN DEN TOD
10.01.1942 in Berlin

Der Kaufmann Max Kolsen wurde am 12. Oktober 1861 in Schwerin an der Warthe unter dem Namen Max Fritz Oskar Cohn geboren. Seine Eltern waren Efraim Herz und Rosalie Cohn.

Die Berechtigung, statt des Geburtsnamens Cohn den Namen Kolsen zu tragen, wurde durch eine Verfügung des Königlichen Polizei-Präsidenten von Berlin am 28. April 1891 bestätigt. Auch war Max Kolsen zum evangelischen Glauben konvertiert.

Im April 1897 heiratete Max Kolsen die Verkäuferin Marie Mathilde Anna Bartosik, deren Eltern in der Fürbringerstraße in Berlin-Kreuzberg wohnten.

Nach der Heirat lebte das Paar einige Jahre in der Kreuzberger Bergmannstraße, bevor 1903 der Umzug in die Yorckstraße erfolgte. Im Juni des Jahres 1919 verstarb die Frau von Max Kolsen nach langer Krankheit in der Charité. Fortan wohnte Herr Kolsen wiederum im selben Kiez in der Möckernstraße 63, nur wenige Meter von seiner letzten Adresse in der Hornstraße 19 entfernt.

Vielleicht ist der Lebenslauf von Max Kolsen typisch für viele Menschen seiner Zeit mit jüdischen Wurzeln. Gerade im letzten Drittel des 19. Jahrhunderts fand ein Angleichungsprozess statt, der mit der Verleihung bürgerlicher Rechte an Juden einherging. Doch um vollständige soziale Anerkennung und Chancengleichheit im Beruf zu erlangen, konvertierten viele Juden zum Christentum und änderten ihre Namen. Aus Unterlagen der evangelischen Kirche erstellten die Nazis die sogenannte Judendatei. Durch diese offiziell als „Fremdstämmigenkartei“ bezeichnete Quelle wurde deutlich, wie erfolgreich die Assimilation war: neben den 500 000 Mitgliedern der Jüdischen Gemeinden lebten im Deutschen Reich fast ebenso viele Christen jüdischer Herkunft.

Umso größer muss für Menschen wie Max Kolsen das Entsetzen gewesen sein, als die Nationalsozialisten sie wieder zu Juden machten. Wie viele andere auch musste Max Kolsen seine Wohnung in der Möckernstraße räumen und ein Zimmer in einem sogenannten Judenhaus in der Hornstraße beziehen. Zwangsarbeit, der Verlust des Eigentums und vor allem jeglicher Hoffnung auf ein würdiges Leben ließen seine Verzweiflung so groß werden, dass er sich am 10. Januar 1942 das Leben nahm.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Burkhard Hawemann