Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Hanns Kornblum

Foto: Initiative Stolpersteine Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf
LOCATION
Goethestr. 69

DISTRICT
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
STONE WAS LAID
04/19/2010

BORN
08/30/1908 in Dresden
FLIGHT INTO DEATH
11/05/1943 in Singen

Stumbling stones laid in the pavement at Goethestraße 69 commemorate the building’s previous Jewish residents. “Died fleeing deportation” are the words inscribed on the stone dedicated to Hanns Kornblum, and a date, 5 November 1943.
But what lies behind this brief information? Hanns Georg Kornblum’s story starts on 30 August 1908, when he was born in Dresden. In 1911, his parents, Eleonore Kornblum (née Kornblum, born in 1882 in Berlin) and Sally Kornblum (a merchant, born in 1878 in Leipzig), settled in the prosperous town of Charlottenburg, just outside Berlin. In around 1920, Sally Kornblum set up an import-export business here.
Hanns also completed a commercial apprenticeship, and possibly worked for his father later. Around 1935, Sally Kornblum was forced to give up his business at Schlüterstraße 17 due to the Nazis’ anti-Jewish measures.
Shortly before the outbreak of war, on 21 August 1939, Hanns Kornblum married Ottilie Schöner, a Jewish shorthand typist born in Bukovina, Romania, in 1914. Ottilie moved in with her husband and his parents at Goethestraße 69, where they had lived since about 1935.
Eventually Hanns Kornblum was recruited to perform forced labour as a machine worker. In late 1942, he faced the loss of both his parents. Sally Kornblum was deported to Auschwitz, where he died on 5 November 1942. Just one month later, on 28 December 1942, Eleonore Kornblum died of pneumonia. She was buried on New Year’s Day in the Jewish cemetery in Berlin-Weißensee. Hanns was the only one present to say the remembrance prayer “El malei rachamim” as his brother Helmut Kornblum had already emigrated to South Africa.
Hanns Kornblum, too, obviously sensed that his life was in grave danger. When a major raid of the armaments industry was conducted on 27 February 1943, aiming to round up Jewish forced labourers for deportation, he managed to go into hiding. Why he and his wife divorced in July 1943 must, like so much else, remain unexplained. Ottilie Kornblum fortunately survived the war; she died in 2004 in Frankfurt am Main.
After some six months “underground”, Hanns Kornblum tried to flee to Switzerland together with a girlfriend, 23-year-old Ilse Arendt, who was also living in hiding. Her cousin Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich had told her about Luise Meier, a widow and devout Catholic from Berlin, who helped others to flee. In the period 1943-44, Luise Meier worked with Josef Höfler, who lived at the German-Swiss border in Gottmadingen near Singen, to help some 28 Jews to escape, including Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich.
On 30 October 1943, Hanns and Ilse left Berlin on an evening train headed south. For security reasons, they travelled in separate carriages. But shortly before arriving in Singen, Hanns was arrested by police on the train who noticed an irregularity in his identity papers. While Ilse reached safety in Switzerland on 1 November 1943, her boyfriend was interrogated for days in the court prison. Finally, driven to utter desperation, he hung himself in his cell in the early hours of 5 November 1943. Three days later he was buried in the forest cemetery in Singen.
Probably around 1947, his body was transferred to the nearby Jewish cemetery in Gailingen. He was buried in a four-person grave, along with Othmar and Margarete Pollok from Berlin, who had taken their own lives in Singen in November 1942. They, too, had made escape attempts that had tragically failed.
In April 2010, a couple who had lived for several years in the house at Goethestraße 69 with the opulent art nouveau façade, and had researched its history, had stumbling stones laid for Hanns and Sally Kornblum, and for Esther Elise Weiss and Joachim Aronade.
The Silent Heroes memorial centre (Gedenkstätte Stille Helden) in Berlin-Mitte remembers the network of helpers around Luise Meier and Josef Höfler as well as the Jewish men and women who attempted to escape with their lives by going underground or fleeing abroad.


Biographical Compilation

Dr. Claudia Schoppmann - Gedenkstätte Stille Helden

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Hanns Kornblum

Foto: Initiative Stolpersteine Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf
VERLEGEORT
Goethestr. 69

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Charlottenburg-Wilmersdorf – Charlottenburg
VERLEGEDATUM
19.04.2010

GEBOREN
30.08.1908 in Dresden
FLUCHT IN DEN TOD
05.11.1943 in Singen

Vor der Goethestraße 69 erinnern Stolpersteine an frühere jüdische Bewohner des Hauses. „Vor Deportation Flucht in den Tod“, liest man auf dem Stein von Hanns Kornblum, und ein Datum: 5. November 1943.

Doch was verbirgt sich hinter diesen knappen Angaben? Ihren Anfang nimmt die Geschichte am 30. August 1908, als Hanns Georg in Dresden zur Welt kommt. Seine Eltern, Eleonore Kornblum (geb. Kornblum, *1882 in Berlin) und der Kaufmann Sally Kornblum (*1878 in Leipzig) ziehen um 1911 in die prosperierende Stadt Charlottenburg bei Berlin. Dort betreibt Sally Kornblum ab etwa 1920 eine Im- und Exportfirma.

Auch der Sohn absolviert eine kaufmännische Ausbildung. Möglicherweise arbeitet er später in der väterlichen Firma mit. Um 1935 muss Sally Kornblum aufgrund antijüdischer Repressionen sein Geschäft in der Schlüterstraße 17 aufgeben.

Kurz vor Kriegsbeginn, am 21. August 1939, heiratet Hanns Kornblum die jüdische Stenotypistin Ottilie Schöner, die 1914 in der Bukowina in Rumänien geboren wurde. Sie zieht zu ihrem Ehemann und den Schwiegereltern, die seit etwa 1935 in der Goethestraße 69 wohnen.

Schließlich wird Hanns Kornblum zur Zwangsarbeit als Maschinenarbeiter verpflichtet. Ende des Jahres 1942 muss er den Verlust seiner Eltern verkraften: Sally Kornblum wird nach Auschwitz deportiert, wo er am 5. November 1942 umkommt. Nur einen Monat später, am 28. Dezember 1942, stirbt Eleonore Kornblum an einer Lungenentzündung. Am Neujahrstag wird sie auf dem Jüdischen Friedhof in Berlin-Weißensee beerdigt. Das Gebet zum Gedenken an die Verstorbene, auf hebräisch „El mole rachamim“, muss ihr Sohn Hanns allein halten. Sein Bruder Helmut Kornblum hatte noch rechtzeitig nach Südafrika emigrieren können.

Hanns Kornblum ahnt wohl, dass sein Leben in höchster Gefahr ist. Als am 27. Februar 1943 bei einer Großrazzia alle in der Rüstungsindustrie beschäftigten jüdischen Zwangsarbeiter verhaftet werden sollen, gelingt es ihm „unterzutauchen“. Warum seine Ehe durch Urteil des Berliner Landgerichts im Juli 1943 geschieden wird, ist, wie so vieles, nicht mehr zu klären. Ottilie Kornblum gelingt es, den Krieg zu überleben; sie stirbt 2004 in Frankfurt am Main.

Nach etwa einem halben Jahr im „Untergrund“ wagt Hanns Kornblum, gemeinsam mit der 23-jährigen Ilse Arendt, die Flucht in die Schweiz. Die ebenfalls „illegal“ lebende Freundin hatte durch ihren Cousin Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich von einer Fluchthelferin, Luise Meier, erfahren. Die Berliner Witwe, eine gläubige Katholikin, und ihr Mitstreiter Josef Höfler, der in Gottmadingen bei Singen, in unmittelbarer Grenznähe lebt, verhelfen 1943/44 insgesamt etwa 28 Juden zur Flucht in die Schweiz, darunter auch Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich.

Am 30. Oktober 1943 verlassen die beiden Flüchtlinge mit dem Abendzug Berlin in Richtung Süden. Aus Sicherheitsgründen fahren sie in getrennten Abteilen. Doch kurz vor Singen fällt Hanns Kornblum bei einer Ausweiskontrolle der Polizei im Zug auf und wird verhaftet. Während Ilse Arendt am 1. November 1943 den rettenden Schweizer Boden erreicht, wird ihr Freund tagelang im Gerichtsgefängnis verhört. Schließlich sieht er keinen anderen Ausweg und erhängt sich in den frühen Morgenstunden des 5. November 1943 in seiner Zelle. Drei Tage später wird er auf dem Waldfriedhof in Singen beigesetzt.

Vermutlich um 1947 wird sein Leichnam auf den nahegelegenen jüdischen Friedhof in Gailingen umgebettet. In dem Vierergrab sind auch Othmar und Margarete Pollok aus Berlin beigesetzt, die sich im November 1942 in Singen das Leben nahmen. Ihr Fluchtversuch war ebenfalls tragischerweise gescheitert.

Im April 2010 lässt ein Ehepaar, das seit langem in der Goethestraße 69 wohnt und der Geschichte „ihres“ Hauses mit der prächtigen Jugendstilfassade nachgeht, Stolpersteine für Hanns und Sally Kornblum sowie Esther Elise Weiss und Joachim Aronade verlegen.

In der Gedenkstätte Stille Helden in Berlin-Mitte wird unter anderem an das Fluchthilfenetz um Luise Meier und Josef Höfler erinnert sowie an die jüdischen Männer und Frauen, die ihr Leben durch Flucht in den Untergrund bzw. ins Ausland zu retten versuchten.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Dr. Claudia Schoppmann - Gedenkstätte Stille Helden