Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Bernhard Hirsch

Stolperstein für Bernhard Hirsch - Foto: Stolpersteingruppe Pankow
LOCATION
Schulzestraße 15

DISTRICT
Pankow – Pankow
STONE WAS LAID
10/24/2012

BORN
01/15/1880 in Kaschmin (Posen) / Koźmin (Polen)
OCCUPATION
Kaufmann
DEPORTATION
on the 13th of January 1942 to Riga
MURDERED
in Riga

Bernhard Hirsch was born on 15 January 1880 in Koźmin (German: Koschmin) in Poland. He was a merchant by profession. Unfortunately, very little is known of Bernhard Hirsch’s life. He married Minna Hirsch, née David, who was born on 14 January 1897 in Kycynia (German: Exin) in Poland.

It is not known when the couple moved to Berlin. We only know that in the last years of their lives, Bernhard and Minna lived at Schulze Strasse 15. They lived here with Minna’s father, Moritz David, who is listed in the Berlin directory of 1938 and 1939 as a sexton of a synagogue. Moritz David was deported to the Theresienstadt ghetto where he died on 15 October 1942.

Bernhard and Minna Hirsch probably lived at Schulze Strasse 15 until they were taken away. This address is entered on the transport list as their last place of residence. On 13 January 1942 Minna and Bernhard Hirsch were deported to the Riga ghetto and murdered. This “VIII transport” left Grunewald station with 1034 people, only 15 of whom survived the Holocaust. The average age of those on board was 59. Bernhard Hirsch lived to be 62.


Biographical Compilation

Stolpersteingruppe Pankow

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmueller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Bernhard Hirsch

Stolperstein für Bernhard Hirsch - Foto: Stolpersteingruppe Pankow
VERLEGEORT
Schulzestraße 15

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Pankow – Pankow
VERLEGEDATUM
24.10.2012

GEBOREN
15.01.1880 in Kaschmin (Posen) / Koźmin (Polen)
BERUF
Kaufmann
DEPORTATION
am 13.01.1942 nach Riga
ERMORDET
in Riga

Bernhard Hirsch wurde am 15. Januar 1880 in Koźmin (Koschmin) in Polen geboren. Er war von Beruf Kaufmann. Über das Leben von Bernhard Hirsch ist uns leider fast nichts bekannt. Er heiratete Minna Hirsch, geb. David, die am 14. Januar 1897 in Kycynia (Exin) in Polen geboren wurde.

Wann die Familie nach Berlin übersiedelte, wissen wir nicht. Wir wissen nur, dass Bernhard und Minna Hirsch in ihren letzten Lebensjahren in der Schulzestraße 15 gewohnt haben. Dort lebten sie zusammen mit Minnas Vater, Moritz David, der im Berliner Adressbuch von 1938 und 1939 als Synagogendiener verzeichnet ist. Moritz David wurde in das Ghetto Theresienstadt deportiert und starb dort am 15. Oktober 1942.

Vermutlich wohnten Bernhard und Minna Hirsch in der Schulzestraße 15, bis sie abgeholt wurden. Denn auf der Transportliste ist als letzte Wohnung die Schulzestraße 15 angegeben. Am 13. Januar 1942 sind Minna und Bernhard Hirsch in das Ghetto Riga deportiert und dort ermordet worden. Dieser „VIII. Transport“ startete am Bahnhof Grunewald mit 1 034 Personen, von denen nur 15 den Holocaust überlebten. Das Durchschnittsalter der Personen dieses Transportes betrug 59 Jahre. Bernhard Hirsch wurde 62 Jahre alt.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Stolpersteingruppe Pankow