Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Erich Stargardt

Stolperstein für Erich Stargardt. Foto: OTFW.
LOCATION
Alt-Moabit 85a

DISTRICT
Mitte – Moabit

BORN
08/12/1898 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
on the 1st of March 1943 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Erich Stargardt was born on 12 August 1898 in Berlin, the son of Jacob and Clara Stargardt, née Lindenfeld. He had a sister, Dorothea, who was two years older than him. In the 1930s he and his family lived at Alt-Moabit 85a. From 1935 to 1938, Erich Stargardt earned a living as a sales representative.
The family’s declaration of assets shows that Erich’s parents’ last place of residence was the old people’s home at Iranische Strasse 2, where they probably moved in 1941. Jacob and Clara Stargardt were forced to conclude a ‘home purchasing contract’ for their resettlement in Theresienstadt, involving payment of 6250 Reichmarks, supposedly to cover all their board and lodging until they turned 85. On 29 January 1943 Jacob and Clara Stargardt were deported to the Theresienstadt ghetto on the “84th transport of the elderly”. Jacob Stargardt died just 16 days later, on 14 February 1943; his wife Clara died a few days later.
After Jacob and Clara Stargardt had moved into the old people’s home on Iranische Strasse, their children, Erich and Dorothea, were probably forced to move out of their former home and rent accommodation as subtenants. Erich Stargardt worked – most likely as a forced labourer – for the Kurt Seydel company in Bülow Strasse in Berlin. He and his sister Dorothea were deported during the Nazis’ March 1943 “factory campaign” to Auschwitz, on the “31st transport to the East”, and murdered.


Biographical Compilation

Bürgerverein Luisenstadt e. V.

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Erich Stargardt

Stolperstein für Erich Stargardt. Foto: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Alt-Moabit 85a

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Mitte – Moabit

GEBOREN
12.08.1898 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
am 01.03.1943 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Erich Stargardt kam am 12. August 1898 als Sohn von Jacob Stargardt und seiner Frau Clara, geb. Lindenfeld, in Berlin zur Welt. Er hatte eine Schwester, Dorothea, die zwei Jahre älter war als er. Die Familie lebte in den 1930er Jahren in der Straße Alt-Moabit 85a. Erich Stargardt verdiente seinen Lebensunterhalt in den Jahren 1935 bis 1938 als Vertreter.

Aus den Vermögenserklärungen der Familie geht hervor, dass letzter Wohnort der Eheleute Stargardt das Altenheim in der Iranischen Straße 2 war, das sie vermutlich 1941 bezogen. Für einen Betrag über 6250,– RM mussten Jacob und Clara Stargardt schließlich einen sogenannten Heimeinkaufsvertrag für Theresienstadt abschließen, mit dem angeblich ihre Unterbringung und Verpflegung bis zum 85. Lebensjahr gesichert war. Am 29. Januar 1943 wurden Jacob und Clara Stargardt mit dem „84. Alterstransport“ in das Ghetto Theresienstadt deportiert. Nach 16 Tagen, am 14. Februar 1943, starb Jacob Stargardt, sein Frau Clara nur wenige Tage später.

Nachdem die Eltern in das Altenheim in der Iranischen Straße gezogen waren, mussten ihre Kinder Erich und Dorothea vermutlich aus der alten Wohnung ausziehen und zur Untermiete wohnen. Erich Stargardt war – vermutlich als Zwangsarbeiter – bei Kurt Seydel in Berlin in der Bülowstraße beschäftigt. Im Rahmen der „Fabrik-Aktion“ wurden die Geschwister Dorothea und Erich Stargard mit dem „31. Osttransport“ im März 1943 nach Auschwitz deportiert und dort ermordet.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Bürgerverein Luisenstadt e. V.