Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Erich Waldbaum

Stolpersteine für Kurt, Hans und Erich Waldbaum sowie Siegfried Katzki. Copyright: MTS
LOCATION
Akazienstr. 3

DISTRICT
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Schöneberg
STONE WAS LAID
10/29/2010

BORN
11/02/1899 in Neumünster
OCCUPATION
Kaufmann
DEPORTATION
on the 3rd of March 1943 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Erich Waldbaum was born on 2 November 1899 in Neumünster, Schleswig-Holstein. He had two brothers: Kurt, born in 1891, and Hans, born in 1892. Around the turn of the century, the family moved to Berlin, where a daughter, Charlotte, was born in 1905. Erich Waldbaum became an extremely successful businessman. When his sister Charlotte divorced in 1937, he supported her and her son, born in 1933. In 1939 he shared a large apartment with them at Kleiststraße 36. Later he moved into an apartment with his older brothers Kurt and Hans at Akazienstraße 3, probably in around 1940-1. All three brothers were unmarried. In 1940 Erich was sent to perform forced labour for the company Rudolf & Pietsch at Lützowstraße 38. His last address before his deportation was Kleiststraße 36, c/o Hoffmann.
Erich Waldbaum, his mother Meta, and his brothers and sister were arrested on 27 February 1943 during the “factory campaign”. Erich Waldbaum was the first of the brothers to be deported to Auschwitz on a transport of 1750 Jewish people – 632 men and 1118 women and children – recorded as the “33rd transport to the East”. After the new arrivals from the transport were inspected in Birkenau, 517 men and 200 women were “selected” for work; the remaining 1033, probably including Erich Waldbaum, were immediately murdered in the gas chambers. The head of task force recruitment subsequently complained to the SS administration that future transports should include more people who were fit to work, as they were needed in the rubber factories in Buna. Erich Waldbaum’s brothers Hans and Kurt also died in Auschwitz. Their mother Meta, née Behrendt, survived Theresienstadt, and their sister survived 15 months in hiding and later internment in Ravensbrück concentration camp.
After the death of her mother in 1952, as sole heir, Charlotte Hoffmann successfully applied for compensation for the loss of her brothers’ assets. In 1965 and 1966 she gave evidence against Otto Bovensiepen, the head of the Berlin Gestapo in 1941-2, relating to the transports of Jews and assembly camps for Jews in Berlin.
The stumbling stone was sponsored by house residents and laid on 29 October 2010.


Biographical Compilation

Christl Wickert

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Erich Waldbaum

Stolpersteine für Kurt, Hans und Erich Waldbaum sowie Siegfried Katzki. Copyright: MTS
VERLEGEORT
Akazienstr. 3

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Tempelhof-Schöneberg – Schöneberg
VERLEGEDATUM
29.10.2010

GEBOREN
02.11.1899 in Neumünster
BERUF
Kaufmann
DEPORTATION
am 03.03.1943 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Erich Waldbaum wurde am 2. November 1899 im schleswig-holsteinischen Neumünster geboren. Seine Brüder kamen 1891 (Kurt) und 1892 (Hans) zur Welt. Die Familie zog um die Jahrhundertwende nach Berlin, wo 1905 noch die Schwester Charlotte geboren wurde. Erich Waldbaum war ein äußerst erfolgreicher Kaufmann. Deshalb unterstützte er auch seine Schwester Charlotte mit ihrem 1933 geborenen Sohn nach deren Scheidung 1937, 1939 lebte er mit ihnen in einer großen Wohnung in der Kleiststraße 36. Seit wann er mit den älteren Brüdern Kurt und Hans – wie er ledig – in der Akazienstraße 3 wohnte, ist nicht bekannt, wahrscheinlich seit 1940/41. Zum Zwangsarbeitseinsatz war er ab 1940 bei der Firma Rudolf & Pietsch in der Lützowstraße 38 verpflichtet. Die letzte Wohnadresse vor der Deportation war Kleiststraße 36 bei Hoffmann.

Im Rahmen der „Fabrik-Aktion“ wurden Erich Waldbaum, seine Mutter Meta und seine Geschwister am 27. Februar 1943 verhaftet. Mit einem Transport mit 1.750 jüdischen Menschen – 632 Männer, 1.118 Frauen und Kinder – wurde Erich Waldbaum als erster der Brüder am 3. März 1943 mit dem „33. Osttransport“ nach Auschwitz deportiert. Nach der Selektion in Birkenau wurden 517 Männer und 200 Frauen aus diesem Transport zum Arbeitseinsatz eingewiesen; 1.033 Menschen, unter ihnen wahrscheinlich auch Erich Waldbaum, wurden sofort in den Gaskammern ermordet. Der Leiter des Arbeitseinsatzes monierte daraufhin gegenüber der SS-Verwaltung, bei künftigen Transporten für mehr Arbeitsfähige zu sorgen, da diese in der Kautschuk-Produktion in Buna benötigt würden. Auch seine Brüder Hans und Kurt kamen in Auschwitz um. Die Mutter Meta, geb. Behrendt, überlebte Theresienstadt und die Schwester 15 Monate im Untergrund und dann das KZ Ravensbrück.

Nach dem Tod der Mutter 1952 im Jüdischen Krankenhaus stellte Charlotte Hoffmann als Alleinerbin erfolgreich Wiedergutmachungsanträge in Bezug auf das Eigentum ihrer Brüder. 1965 und 1966 sagte sie als Zeugin gegen Otto Bovensiepen, den Berliner Gestapoleiter 1941/42, zu den Judentransporten und den jüdischen Sammellagern in Berlin aus.

Der Stolperstein wurde auf Initiative der Hausgemeinschaft am 29. Oktober 2010 verlegt.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Christl Wickert