Skip to main content
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Lina Simon (born Schwarz)

Stolperstein für die Bewohner der Solinger Str. 10. Fotorechte: OTFW.
Stolperstein zum Schicksal der Bewohner Solinger Str. 10. Fotorechte: OTFW.
LOCATION
Solinger Straße 10

DISTRICT
Mitte – Moabit
STONE WAS LAID
September 2003

BORN
05/31/1882 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
on the 26th of February 1943 to Auschwitz
MURDERED
in Auschwitz

Lina Simon was born on 31 May 1882 in Berlin. In 1911, in her late twenties, she married Benno Simon, a tradesman from East Prussia who was Jewish like her and half a year younger. Lina Simon was not employed. The year after their marriage, her husband took a job as a manager of a laundry service. They lived at Raumerstraße 35 in Prenzlauer Berg, where Lina Simon gave birth to her first son Julius on 16 August 1912. By the time their second son, Rolf Samuel, was born on 2 May 1921, almost nine years had passed – years in which Imperial Germany had started and lost the First World War.
For many years, Lina Simon and her family lived in Prenzlauer Allee, at number 49 for a long time and then at number 41. In around 1934, they moved into a 4-room apartment at Grellstraße 62. Their elder son Julius emigrated to Argentina in the mid-1930s. He lived by the name Julio Simon in Buenos Aires, where he worked as a chauffeur. In 1939 they lost contact and Lina Simon never heard about the birth of her first grandchild in the early 1940s.
In March 1939 Lina’s husband lost his job after the Jewish proprietors were forced to sell the business. The same spring, the family were deprived of their valuables under a new law requiring Jews to submit any jewellery or precious metals they owned to the municipal pawnshops. At about the same time – and probably in direct connection with Benno Simon’s redundancy – the family moved into a ground-floor, backyard apartment at Solinger Straße 10. Benno Simon’s unmarried sisters Ella and Gertrud also moved in here. In October the same year, their second son Rolf Samuel emigrated to Palestine. Later he moved to Kiryat Haim, a suburb of Haifa, where he assusmed Israeli nationality and worked at the docks.
Lina Simon was made to perform forced labour in the Osram lightbulb factory at Rotherstraße 23. Her husband also performed forced labour. In late August 1942 her sisters-in-law were deported to Riga and murdered. Rolf Samuel Simon received one last message from his parents, sent on 28 January 1943, via the Red Cross. A short time later, on 26 February 1943, Lina Simon was deported with her husband on the “30th transport to the East” to Auschwitz. Both were murdered; their dates of death are not known.


Biographical Compilation

Julia Chaker

English Translation

Charlotte Kreutzmüller

Additional Sources

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin/Christoph Kreutzmüller, Datenbank Jüdische Gewerbebetriebe in Berlin 1930–1945;
www.statistik-des-holocaust.de

Direkt zum Inhalt
Skip to content Skip to navigation

Lina Simon (geb. Schwarz)

Stolperstein für die Bewohner der Solinger Str. 10. Fotorechte: OTFW.
Stolperstein zum Schicksal der Bewohner Solinger Str. 10. Fotorechte: OTFW.
VERLEGEORT
Solinger Straße 10

BEZIRK/ORTSTEIL
Mitte – Moabit
VERLEGEDATUM
September 2003

GEBOREN
31.05.1882 in Berlin
DEPORTATION
am 26.02.1943 nach Auschwitz
ERMORDET
in Auschwitz

Lina Simon wurde als Lina Schwarz am 31. Mai 1882 in Berlin geboren. Mit Ende 20 heiratete sie im Jahr 1911 den ebenfalls jüdischen Kaufmann Benno Simon, der aus Ostpreußen stammte und ein halbes Jahr jünger war als sie. Lina Simon war nicht berufstätig. Ihr Mann begann im Jahr nach der Heirat als Betriebsleiter einer Großwäscherei zu arbeiten. Die Eheleute wohnten in der Raumerstraße 35 im Prenzlauer Berg, wo Lina Simon am 16. August 1912 ihren ältesten Sohn Julius zur Welt brachte. Bis ihr zweiter Sohn Rolf Samuel am 2. Mai 1921 geboren wurde, vergingen knapp neun Jahre – in der Zwischenzeit hatte das Deutsche Kaiserreich den Ersten Weltkrieg begonnen und verloren.

Viele Jahre lebten Lina Simon und ihre Familie in der Prenzlauer Allee, lange in der Nummer 49, dann in der 41. Etwa 1934 zogen sie in eine 4-Zimmer-Wohnung in der Grellstraße 62 um. Der ältere Sohn Julius wanderte Mitte der 1930er Jahre nach Argentinien aus. Er lebte als Julio Simon in Buenos Aires und war dort als Chauffeur tätig. 1939 brach der Kontakt zu ihm ab, sodass Lina Simon nie von der Geburt ihres ältesten Enkelkinds Anfang der 1940er Jahre erfuhr.

Im März 1939 wurde ihr Mann entlassen, nachdem der jüdische Inhaber gezwungen worden war, den Betrieb zu verkaufen. Ebenfalls im Frühjahr 1939 musste die Familie aufgrund der reichsweit erlassenen Verordnung zur Zwangsabgabe von Schmuck- und Edelmetallwaren aus jüdischem Besitz ihre Wertsachen in der städtischen Pfandleihanstalt abgeben. Etwa zur gleichen Zeit – und vermutlich in direktem Zusammenhang mit Benno Simons Entlassung – zog die Familie in die Solinger Straße 10 in eine Parterrewohnung im Hof. Dort zogen auch Benno Simons unverheiratete Schwestern Ella und Gertrud mit ein. Im Oktober des gleichen Jahres emigrierte der zweite Sohn Rolf Samuel nach Palästina. Er lebte später als Hafenarbeiter in Kiryat Haim, einem Vorort von Haifa, und nahm die israelische Staatsangehörigkeit an.

Lina Simon wurde zur Zwangsarbeit im Osram-Glühlampenwerk in der Rotherstraße 23 verpflichtet. Ihr Mann musste ebenfalls Zwangsarbeit leisten. Ende August 1942 wurden ihre Schwägerinnen nach Riga deportiert und ermordet. Eine letzte Nachricht seiner Eltern vom 28. Januar 1943 erreichte Rolf Samuel Simon über das Rote Kreuz. Kurze Zeit später, am 26. Februar 1943, wurde Lina Simon zusammen mit ihrem Mann mit dem „30. Osttransport“ nach Auschwitz deportiert. Beide wurden ermordet, ihre Todesdaten sind nicht bekannt.


Biografische Zusammenstellung

Julia Chaker

Weitere Quellen

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin/Christoph Kreutzmüller, Datenbank Jüdische Gewerbebetriebe in Berlin 1930–1945;
www.statistik-des-holocaust.de